Freely Available Online Resources

This classified bibliography of works about Abraham Kuyper currently contains over 1,400 records compiled by the staff of the Princeton Theological Seminary (now Theodore Sedgwick Wright) Library and the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, assisted by Kuyper scholars worldwide.

"The primary focus of the project is notice and comment on open access material relating to the ancient world, but I will also include other kinds of networked information as it comes available." Project of Charles E. Jones, Tombros Librarian for Classics and Humanities at the Pattee Library, Penn State University.

A list of educational resources (books, articles, podcasts, webinars, and videos) is available on this microsite and will continue to be updated as new resources are made available.

The Boston College Jesuit Bibliography
The New Sommervogel Online (NSO)
Edited by: Robert A. Maryks, Boston College
This comprehensive online bibliography covers books, book chapters, journal articles and book reviews pertaining to the exponentially growing field of Jesuit Studies. In addition to basic bibliographic information, entries include (English) abstracts, detailed subject headings, direct links to items available in electronic format where available, and a link to an item’s WorldCat entry.

Includes Biblical Studies Faculty Recommended Commentaries & Monographs; plus recorded lectures and suggested reading from the book/e-book collection on topics including Lent, Holy Week and Easter; Food Justice; Self-care; Antiracism and more.

A comprehensive, open access database of reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages.

A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

HLSI dentifies sermons contained in books owned by the Hekman Library, and sermons from the CRC periodical, The Living Word. At present the database includes sermons published in books since 1995, and published in The Living Word from 1990-2001. From Calvin College

A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.

An index of published literature from journals and Festschriften in Theology and Religious Studies from around the world. It uses as its base the literature which the Tübingen University Library acquires within the scope of its special collection in Theology and General and Comparative Religious Studies, as part of its commission and with support from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).

Published November 9, 2021. Provided by the Center for Barth Studies at Princeton Theological Seminary

A reference library in Oxford, England specializing in Church History, Patristics and Anglo-Catholic theology. The Library began adding records for new acquisitions to the University of Oxford’s combined printed books catalogue in 2015 (Search Oxford Libraries Online - http://solo.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/). While the old card catalogue is being converted to a fully online database, images of the cards are currently available in this interim online resource.

A comprehensive annotated bibliography of open-access resources related to the study of Syriac. Editorial work on this site was carried out by Jack Tannous (Princeton University), Scott Johnson (University of Oklahoma), and Morgan Reed (Catholic University of America). The site is hosted by the University of Oklahoma, Department of Classics and Letters.

Beth Mardutho: The Syriac Institute seeks to promote the study and preservation of the Syriac heritage and language, and to facilitate opportunities for people to pursue the study of this ancient legacy globally. We aim to serve the academic community and the heirs of the heritage.

Baylor University PhD student in history Paul Putz is "interested...in two things: first, what books or articles, if any, have been framed distinctively as a study of religion (or of a specific religion, religious group, or religious leader) in the Midwest. And second, among the many books or articles that are set in the Midwest but that do not purport to be studying the Midwest as a region, which would be helpful to any attempt to offer a synthesis of the history of religious life in the Midwest". This is a growing list with contributed additions from other students and scholars.

A featured collection in the Theological Commons, The Payne Theological Seminary and A.M.E. Church Archive includes two subcollections organized into twenty-one thematic categories of images and textual materials for the study of the history of the African Methodist Episcopal (A.M.E.) denomination and Black Church tradition while chronicling the leadership and legacy of Payne Theological Seminary. Some materials are cross-referenced in multiple subcollections.

James W.C. Pennington (1807-1870) emphasized the need to educate and help find employment for the increasing numbers of free African Americans. He also spoke out against racism in the north, including in the white churches that often segregated white and black worshipers and shut out black clergymen. Pennington also helped many fugitive slaves and supported efforts to desegregate public transportation in New York City. Pennington did tours in the United Kingdom to speak out against slavery and to garner British support for American abolitionist efforts. BKBB is a growing partnership between the Presbyterian Historical Society and Community College of Philadelphia.

Absalom Jones, James Pennington, and Henry Highland Garnet were highly respected Protestant ministers who condemned chattel slavery both from the pulpit and through their work as church leaders, teachers, community organizers, and activists. BKBB is a growing partnership between the Presbyterian Historical Society and Community College of Philadelphia.

An open access collection in CORE. Learn more about CORE, Commons Open Repository Exchange, a library-quality repository for sharing, discovering, retrieving, and archiving digital work. https://hcommons.org/core/what-is-core/

February 26, 2023. The National Black Presbyterian Caucus, Philadelphia Chapter, and the Presbytery of Philadelphia's 2023 African American Presbyterian Heritage Service of Worship, Sunday, February 26, 2023, at Oxford Presbyterian Church, Philadelphia. The Rev. Dr. Jerry L. Cannon, Vice President, Ministry Innovation at the Board of Pensions PC(U.S.A), preaching.

by Neely Tucker for the Library of Congress Blog, June 19, 2020

FEBRUARY 13, 2016 Brandon Byrd's bibliography. The "books all pertain to the origins, evolution, professionalization, and expansion of the field of black history. The authors of these books examine the concerns of early black historians, find an enduring tradition of black race histories, and address the key role that black women have played in the writing of black history. They also recover the process by which Woodson and others helped define the modern field of black history and they make a case for the significance of writings about black history today."

"a list of readings that educators can use to broach conversations in the classroom about the horrendous events that unfolded in Charleston, South Carolina on the evening of June 17, 2015. These readings provide valuable information about the history of racial violence in this country and contextualize the history of race relations in South Carolina and the United States in general. They also offer insights on race, racial identities, global white supremacy and black resistance. All readings are arranged by date of publication. This list is not meant to be exhaustive–you will find omissions. Please check out #Charlestonsyllabus and the Goodreads List for additional reading suggestions."

August 10, 2015 - Associate Professor of Religion and Literature and Director of the Center for Black Church Studies at Princeton Seminary, Rev. Dr. Yolanda Pierce's contribution to the "How #BlackLivesMatter Changed My Theology" series from Sojourners: https://sojo.net/articles/series/how-blacklivesmatter-changed-my-theology

Blog post from the Wabash Center's Race Matters in the Classroom blog. June 23, 2015

June 24, 2015 - The New Yorker magazine's Joshua Rothman profiles Princeton Theological Seminary alumna Pastor Carolyn Winfrey Gillette (Class of 1985), and the hymn she wrote in response to the killing of 9 African American worshipers gathered for Bible study at Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Charleston, South Carolina on June 17, 2015.

January 25, 2022, Princeton Theological Seminary

Login required

October 5, 2019 lecture by Rev. Dr. Brian K. Blount, Princeton Seminary alumnus, and President and Professor of New Testament in the Walter W. Moore and Charles E.S. Kraemer Presidential Chairs of Union Presbyterian Seminary in Richmond, Virginia
Video recording and transcript posted January 15, 2020 by The Presbyterian Outlook

Selected reading from the Wright Library collection, as well as related links

Attempts to gain voting rights for African Americans began long before the Civil War and the passage of the 15th Amendment to the Constitution in 1870. Free black people were able to vote in a few northern states including Pennsylvania until 1838, and some exercised that right, though they were often met with hostility at the polls. BKBB is a growing partnership between the Presbyterian Historical Society and Community College of Philadelphia.

The Freedmen’s Bureau Project — a new initiative spearheaded by the Smithsonian, the National Archives, the Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society, and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints — will make available online 1.5 million historical documents, finally allowing descendants of former African-American slaves to learn more about their family roots.

Protestant Council of the City of New York panel discussion with James Baldwin, Reinhold Niebuhr, and Dr. Thomas C. Kilgore, Jr. From the Pearl Digital Collection at the Presbyterian Historical Society: https://digital.history.pcusa.org/

Princeton Theological Seminary Professor Lisa Bowens participates in service marking 7th anniversary of deaths at SC church bible study

This report begins to trace the complicated story of Princeton Seminary and its relationship to slavery.

by James Moorhead. Princeton Theological Seminary’s 19th century faculty and students encountered enslaved people as a familiar part of life. Though early leaders of the seminary owned slaves and largely failed to condemn the institution of slavery, some notable alumni—including the first African American man to graduate from a theological seminary in the United States—became prominent antislavery activists.

by Omar Farah, The Daily Princetonian, October 20, 2019. "...the [Association of Black Seminarians] will pursue formal negotiations with the Seminary to express its thoughts on how to move forward."

March 4, 2019 - Association of Black Seminarians' (ABS) response to the Princeton Theological Seminary Slavery Audit

FEBRUARY 17, 2016 - Keisha N. Blain's list of readings. "Representing a variety of academic fields—including History, English, and Political Science—these works highlight the writings, speeches, performances, activism, and overseas travel of a diverse group of black women activists and intellectuals, thereby moving women from the margins to the center of historical narratives on black internationalism."

Press release, action plan, timeline approved unanimously by the Princeton Theological Seminary Board of Trustees, October 2019

Includes an in-depth journey through the history of slavery and freedom, based on the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture's permanent exhibition

by Gilbert Haven, 694 pages

ePub, Kindle, plain text

This portal "provides digital tools, online exercises, video instructions, scholarly articles and more than 100 multi-media resources tailored for educators, parents and caregivers—and individuals committed to racial equality."

"Revealing moments in black history, with unpublished photos from The New York Times’s archives. We’ll add images daily in February." - NY Times

At Special Collections and University Archives, University of Massachusetts Amherst Libraries

Features primary sources from the Presbyterian Historical Society collection along with secondary sources. In addition, contains contextual information on the topic, full citations, information about the author, and reading questions. BKBB is a growing partnership between the Presbyterian Historical Society and Community College of Philadelphia.