This is the "Black History Month" page of the "Booklists (and lists of other selected library materials)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Princeton Theological Seminary logo

Booklists (and lists of other selected library materials)   Tags: black history month, carols, christmas, easter, holy week, martin luther king, mlk, women's history month  

Last Updated: Aug 10, 2016 URL: http://ptsem.libguides.com/booklists Print Guide RSS Updates

Black History Month Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended Research Database (login required)

  • Oxford African American Studies Center
    Includes more than 8,000 articles on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Among the Oxford reference sources included are Black Women in America, The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, and Africana. Subjects include arts, leisure, business, economics, education, politics, history, religion, science, and medicine. This resource also includes primary sources, images, maps, charts, tables, and thematic timelines

Reconstructing the Black Narrative

  • A Reading List for America
    by Maira Liriano, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference Division, July 12, 2016. The Princeton Theological Seminary Library holds all of the books in this list.
  • 2016 Black History Month at Princeton Seminary
    Read about some African American members of the Princeton Seminary community past and present, who, in the tradition of Martin Luther King Jr., Maya Angelou, and Rosa Parks, have offered their gifts in service to the church and the world.
  • Rosa Parks Papers | Library of Congress
    The papers of Rosa Parks (1913-2005) span the years 1866-2006, with the bulk of the material dating from 1955 to 2000. The collection contains approximately 7,500 items in the Manuscript Division, as well as 2,500 photographs in the Prints and Photographs Division. The collection documents many aspects of Parks's private life and public activism on behalf of civil rights for African Americans.
  • How did enslaved African and African American women experience slavery?
    How did enslaved African and African American women experience slavery? What were their daily lives like? And how do historians know as much as they do about enslaved women? Explore the answers to these questions with Jennifer L. Morgan, a Professor of History and Social and Cultural Analysis at New York University
 

Selected Black History Month Titles (Stacks)

Cover Art
AIDS, Sexuality, and the Black Church: making the wounded whole - Angelique Harris
Call Number: BR563.N4 H363 2010
ISBN: 9781433109430
Publication Date: 2010-06-30

Cover Art
Becoming an anti-racist church : journeying toward wholeness - Joseph Barndt
Call Number: BT734.2 .B33 2011
ISBN: 9780800664602
Publication Date: 2011-03-01

Cover Art
Black Practical Theology - Dale P. Andrews (Editor); Robert London Smith (Editor)
Call Number: BT82.7 .B53 2015
ISBN: 9781602584358
Publication Date: 2015-08-01




Cover Art
Cross and the Lynching Tree, The - James H. Cone
Call Number: BR563.N4 C648 2011
ISBN: 9781570759376
Publication Date: 2011-10-01

Cover Art
Democracy in black : how race still enslaves the American soul - Eddie S., Eddie S Glaude, Jr.
Call Number: E185.615 .G548 2016
ISBN: 9780804137416
Publication Date: 2016-01-12

Cover Art
Executed God, The: the way of the cross in lockdown America - Mark Lewis Taylor
Call Number: HV8687 .T39 2015
ISBN: 9781451492675
Publication Date: 2015-11-01

Faces at the bottom of the well : the permanence of racism - Derrick A. Bell
Call Number: E185.615 .B395 1992
ISBN: 0465068170
Publication Date: 1992-10-13

Cover Art
God Has a Dream: a vision of hope for our time - Desmond Tutu
Call Number: BX5700.6.Z8 T8749 2004
ISBN: 0385477848
Publication Date: 2004-03-16


Cover Art
I Believe I'll Testify: the art of African American preaching - Cleophus J LaRue
Call Number: REIGNER BV4221 .L37 2011
ISBN: 9780664236779
Publication Date: 2011-04-04
BV4221 .L37 2011

Is it nation time? : contemporary essays on black power and black nationalism - Eddie S. Glaude (Editor)
Call Number: E185.615 .I78 2002
ISBN: 0226298213
Publication Date: 2002-04-15

Cover Art
I've got the light of freedom : the organizing tradition and the Mississippi freedom struggle - Charles M. Payne
Call Number: E185.93.M6 P39 2007
ISBN: 9780520251762
Publication Date: 2007-03-16

Jesus and the Disinherited - Howard Thurman
Call Number: BS2417.S7 T5 1984
ISBN: 0913408778
Publication Date: 1981-01-01

Cover Art
Malcolm X : a life of reinvention - Manning Marable
Call Number: BP223.Z8 L57636 2012
ISBN: 9780143120322
Publication Date: 2011-12-28


On the road to Damascus: the African-American conversion experience - Yolanda Nicole Pierce
Call Number: BR563.N4 P54 1999a
Publication Date: 1999
Thesis (Ph.D.)--Cornell University, August, 1999.

Cover Art
Passionately Human, No Less Divine -Religion and Culture in Black Chicago, 1915-1952 - Wallace Best
Call Number: BR563.N4 B47 2005
ISBN: 0691115788
Publication Date: 2005-07-25

Cover Art
Post-Black and post-White church : becoming the beloved community in a multi-ethnic world, The - Efrem Smith
Call Number: BV639.M56 S65 2012
ISBN: 9781118036587
Publication Date: 2012-08-14

Cover Art
Race Matters - Cornel West
Call Number: E185.615 .W43 1994
ISBN: 0679749861
Publication Date: 1994-03-29, 2001
E185.615 .W43 2001b


Cover Art
Sin of racism : how to be set free, The - Selena Johnson
Call Number: BT734.2 .J64 2006
ISBN: 0761835091
Publication Date: 2006-08-19






Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

 

#BlackChurchSyllabus recommendations from Prof. Yolanda Pierce

Cover Art
David Walker's Appeal - David Walker; James Turner (Introduction by)
Call Number: E446 .W179 1993
ISBN: 0933121385
Publication Date: 1997-01-15

Cover Art
The Fire Next Time - James Baldwin
Call Number: E185.61 .B195 1993
ISBN: 067974472X
Publication Date: 1992-12-01

God's trombones [videorecording] : a trilogy of African-American poems - James Weldon Johnson
Call Number: VIDEO PS3519.O37 G63 1994
Publication Date: 1994
MEDIA AREA - LOWER LEVEL (CIRCULATING)

Jesus and the Disinherited - Howard Thurman
Call Number: BS2417.S7 T5 1984
ISBN: 0913408778
Publication Date: 1981-01-01

Cover Art
Jonah's Gourd Vine - Zora Neale Hurston; Rita Dove (Foreword by)
Call Number: PS3515.U789 J66 1990
ISBN: 0060916516
Publication Date: 1990-01-22


Cover Art
Parable of the Sower - Octavia E. Butler
Call Number: PS3552.U827 P37 2000
ISBN: 0446675504
Publication Date: 2000-01-01

Religious experience and journal of Mrs. Jarena Lee [microform] : giving an account of her call to preach the gospel - Jarena Lee
Call Number: Microfiche 2007-1553
ISBN: 9780837014708
Publication Date: 1849
MICROFORM AREA - 2ND FLOOR (NON-CIRCULATING)
1 fiche

Cover Art
Song of Solomon - Toni Morrison
Call Number: PS3563.O8749 S6 2004
ISBN: 140003342X
Publication Date: 2004-06-08

#CharlestonSyllabus #BlackHistory

"As educators, when we teach about the history of racial violence, the history of the black church, the history of the Confederate flag, the history of the Obama presidency, or any number of other themes related to the centrality of race in American history, we will have to teach about Charleston."  

Chad Williams
Associate Professor of African and African-American Studies
Brandeis University
June 23, 2015

  • Charleston Syllabus, African American Intellectual History Society  
      
    "a list of readings that educators can use to broach conversations in the classroom about the horrendous events that unfolded in Charleston, South Carolina on the evening of June 17, 2015. These readings provide valuable information about the history of racial violence in this country and contextualize the history of race relations in South Carolina and the United States in general. They also offer insights on race, racial identities, global white supremacy and black resistance. All readings are arranged by date of publication. This list is not meant to be exhaustive–you will find omissions. Please check out #Charlestonsyllabus and the Goodreads List for additional reading suggestions."
  • "A Theology for a Grieving People" by Rev. Dr. Yolanda Pierce, Princeton Theological Seminary
    August 10, 2015 - Associate Professor of Religion and Literature and Director of the Center for Black Church Studies at Princeton Seminary, Rev. Dr. Yolanda Pierce's contribution to the "How #BlackLivesMatter Changed My Theology" series from Sojourners: https://sojo.net/articles/series/how-blacklivesmatter-changed-my-theology
  • "On the Night After Charleston" by Dr. Efrain Agosto, New York Theological Seminary
    Blog post from the Wabash Center's Race Matters in the Classroom blog. June 23, 2015
  • Payne Theological Seminary and A.M.E. Church Archive
    The Payne Theological Seminary and A.M.E. Church Archive includes two subcollections organized into twenty-one thematic categories of images and textual materials for the study of the history of the African Methodist Episcopal (A.M.E.) denomination and Black Church tradition while chronicling the leadership and legacy of Payne Theological Seminary. Some materials are cross-referenced in multiple subcollections.
  • "They Met to Read the Bible" a new hymn for Charleston  
      
    June 24, 2015 - The New Yorker magazine's Joshua Rothman profiles Princeton Theological Seminary alumna Pastor Carolyn Winfrey Gillette (Class of 1985), and the hymn she wrote in response to the killing of 9 African American worshipers gathered for Bible study at Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Charleston, South Carolina on June 17, 2015.
  • The Freedmen's Bureau Project  
      
    The Freedmen’s Bureau Project — a new initiative spearheaded by the Smithsonian, the National Archives, the Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society, and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints — will make available online 1.5 million historical documents, finally allowing descendants of former African-American slaves to learn more about their family roots.
  • Unpublished Black History | New York Times
    "Revealing moments in black history, with unpublished photos from The New York Times’s archives. We’ll add images daily in February." - NY Times
  • Black History Month Bibliography | African American Intellectual History Society
    FEBRUARY 13, 2016 Brandon Byrd's bibliography. The "books all pertain to the origins, evolution, professionalization, and expansion of the field of black history. The authors of these books examine the concerns of early black historians, find an enduring tradition of black race histories, and address the key role that black women have played in the writing of black history. They also recover the process by which Woodson and others helped define the modern field of black history and they make a case for the significance of writings about black history today."
  • Readings On Black Women’s Internationalism | African American Intellectual History Society
    FEBRUARY 17, 2016 - Keisha N. Blain's list of readings. "Representing a variety of academic fields—including History, English, and Political Science—these works highlight the writings, speeches, performances, activism, and overseas travel of a diverse group of black women activists and intellectuals, thereby moving women from the margins to the center of historical narratives on black internationalism."
  • 6th Annual Lift Every Voice Lecture Series  
      
    Includes "Beyond Charleston: American Terrorism Against African Americans" by Rev. Dr. Yolanda Pierce, Associate Professor of African American Religion and Literature at Princeton Theological Seminary.

Unrelenting Voices Read-In: A Celebration of Freedom, Justice, Mandela, and More

Excerpts of the works in this bibliography - including Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s "Letter from Birmingham Jail" (1963) -  were used for a public "read-in" held on January 8, 2015 at the Princeton Public Library, Trenton Free Public Library, and New Brunswick Free Public Library. The event was presented by those libraries in partnership with McCarter Theatre Center in Princeton, NJ. Members of Princeton Seminary's faculty and staff participated as readers.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip