Languages in the CatalogDisability and Inclusion
This is the "Women's History Month" page of the "Book (and other selected materials) Lists" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Princeton Theological Seminary logo
Last Updated: May 10, 2017 URL: http://ptsem.libguides.com/booklists Print Guide RSS Updates

Women's History Month Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected Women's History Month Titles

Selected titles listed by call number — Click on the title to determine current shelving location; some of them are temporarily shelved in an open display on the first floor Concourse during the month of March. Floor Plans

Cover Art
The Continuing Legacy of Simone Weil - David Pollard
Call Number: B2430.W474 P65 2015
ISBN: 9780761865742
Publication Date: 2015-05-05


Cover Art
Canadian Women Shaping Diasporic Religious Identities - Becky R. Lee (Editor); Terry Tak-ling Woo (Editor)
Call Number: BL625 .7 C36 2016
ISBN: 9781771121538
Publication Date: 2016-01-01


Cover Art
West Africa's Women of God: Alinesitoué and the Diola prophetic tradition - Robert M. Baum
Call Number: BL2480.D53 B383 2016
ISBN: 025301767X
Publication Date: 2015-11-09

Cover Art
Converties - Virginie Riva
Call Number: BP170.5.A1 R58 2015
ISBN: 2021180670

Cover Art
Other Dreams of Freedom: religion, sex, and human trafficking - Yvonne C. Zimmerman
Call Number: BR517 .Z56 2013
ISBN: 9780199942190
Publication Date: 2012-12-18

Cover Art
Black Women's Christian Activism: seeking social justice in a northern suburb - Betty Livingston Adams
Call Number: BR563.N4 A33 2016
ISBN: 9780814745465
Publication Date: 2016-02-16

Cover Art
Extraordinary Women of Christian History: what we can learn from their struggles and triumphs - Ruth A. Tucker
Call Number: BR1713 .T828 2016
ISBN: 9780801016721
Publication Date: 2016-02-16


Cover Art
An Introduction to Womanist Biblical Interpretation - Nyasha Junior
Call Number: BS521.2 .J86 2015
ISBN: 9780664259877
Publication Date: 2015-11-06

Cover Art
Preaching the Women of the Old Testament: who they were and why they matter - Lynn Japinga
Call Number: BS575 .J38 2017
ISBN: 9780664259693
Publication Date: 2017-02-16

Cover Art
A new gospel for women : Katharine Bushnell and the challenge of Christian feminism - Kristin Kobes Du Mez
Call Number: BS680.W7 D86 2015
ISBN: 9780190205645
Publication Date: 2015-05-01



Cover Art
Feminist Theory and the Bible: interrogating the sources - Esther Fuchs
Call Number: BS1181.8 .F83 2016
ISBN: 9781498527811
Publication Date: 2016-02-23

Cover Art
Fragmented women : feminist (sub)versions of biblical narratives - J. Cheryl Exum
Call Number: BS1199.W7 E88 2016
ISBN: 9780567662934
Publication Date: 2015-12-17

Cover Art
A Case for Female Deacons - Jamin Hubner; D. Clair Davis (Foreword by)
Call Number: BS2545.P45 H83 2015
ISBN: 9781625648846
Publication Date: 2014-11-06

Cover Art
Women and Worship at Corinth - Lucy Peppiatt; Douglas Campbell (Foreword by)
Call Number: BS2675.55 .P362 2015
ISBN: 9781498201469
Publication Date: 2015-03-25



Cover Art
Embracing the other : the transformative spirit of love - Grace Ji-Sun Kim
Call Number: BT704 .K471255 2015
ISBN: 9780802872999
Publication Date: 2015-10-21

Cover Art
Christian goddess spirituality : enchanting Christianity - Mary Ann Beavis
Call Number: BV639.W7 B38 2016
ISBN: 9781138936881
Publication Date: 2015-11-02

Cover Art
Christian Doctrines for Global Gender Justice - Jenny Daggers (Editor); Grace Ji-Sun Kim (Editor)
Call Number: BV639.W7 C447 2015
ISBN: 9781137475459
Publication Date: 2015-06-04

Cover Art
Searching for Sunday : loving, leaving, and finding the church - Rachel Held Evans
Call Number: BV639.W7 E93 2015
ISBN: 9780718022129
Publication Date: 2015-04-14

Cover Art
Women's bodies as battlefield : Christian theology and the global war on women - Susan Brooks Thistlethwaite
Call Number: BV639.W7 T45 2015
ISBN: 9781137468147
Publication Date: 2015-07-23

Cover Art
Prayer Shawl Ministries and Women's Theological Imagination - Donna Bowman
Call Number: BV4527 .B6815 2016
ISBN: 9780739179710
Publication Date: 2015-10-30

Cover Art
Discovering the Spirit of Ubuntu Leadership - Priscilla Mtungwa Ndlovu
Call Number: BV4597.53.L43 N39 2016
ISBN: 9781137526847
Publication Date: 2016-04-13

Cover Art
Catholic women speak : bringing our gifts to the table - Catholic Women Speak Network (Editor)
Call Number: BX2347.8.W6 C37 2015
ISBN: 9780809149742
Publication Date: 2015-09-29


Cover Art
Jean Gerson and gender : rhetoric and politics in fifteenth-century France - Nancy McLoughlin
Call Number: BX4705.G45 M35 2015
ISBN: 9781137488824
Publication Date: 2015-06-29

Cover Art
The Development of the Seventh-Day Adventist Understanding of Ellen G. White's Prophetic Gift - Theodore N. Levterov
Call Number: BX6193.W5 L48 2015
ISBN: 9781433128103
Publication Date: 2015-02-13

Cover Art
Baptist Women's Writings in Revolutionary Culture 1640-1680 - Rachel Adcock
Call Number: BX6276 .A33 2015
ISBN: 9781472457066
Publication Date: 2015-06-28

Cover Art
Button Reflections - Patricia Budd Kepler
Call Number: BX8931.3 .K47 2015
ISBN: 9781503588004
Publication Date: 2015-08-11

Cover Art
Daughters of God, subordinates of men : women and the roots of patriarchy in the New Testament - Lesly F. Massey
Call Number: HQ1127 .M37 2015
ISBN: 9780786495313
Publication Date: 2015-10-09

Cover Art
Women's Life in Greece and Rome: a source book in translation - Mary R. Lefkowitz; Maureen B. Fant
Call Number: HQ1127 .W653 2016
ISBN: 9781472578471
Publication Date: 2016-06-02


Cover Art
El alma de las mujeres : ámbitos de espiritualidad femenina en la modernidad (siglos XVI-XVIII) - Gobierno de España, Ministerio de Economia y Competitividad, Secretaría de Estado de Investigación, Desarrollo e Innovación : Ediciones Universidad de Valladolid
Call Number: HQ1692 .C663 2015
ISBN: 8484488144
Serie Historia y sociedad ; no 182
Congreso Internacional "El Alma de las Mujeres: Ámbitos de Espiritualidad Femenina en la Modernidad" (2013 : Universidad de Valladolid)

Cover Art
At the doors of paradise : discourses of female self-sacrifice, martyrdom and resistance in Palestine - Lisa Maria Franke
Call Number: HQ1728.7 .F73 2015
ISBN: 3956500695
Publication Date: 2015
Ex oriente lux (Würzburg, Germany), Bd. 15


Cover Art
Caritatis scripta : mélanges de littérature et de patristique offerts à Patrick Laurence - textes réunes et préparés par Aline Canellis, Élisabeth Gavoille et Benoît Jeanjean
Call Number: PA3003 .C375 2015
ISBN: 2851212753
Publication Date: 2015
The first part is devoted to the role of women in Antiquity, with studies encompassing both mythical and literary characters from Homer, Cicero, Virgil, Ovid, St Jerome, and historical data (family institutions in Cassiodorus).

Links to Women's History

Find more books and journals about women

Recommended Research Databases (login required off-campus)

  • ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 (1894 to 1922)
    ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 contains over five million pages of content from over 14,880 monographs dating from 1894 through 1922. This collection provides a broad view of the changing landscape of religion in America at the end of a century of dramatic cultural and political change. It offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions. It presents a comprehensive picture of American life at the time with the rise of missionary activity and evangelical Christianity and the emergence of the historical critical method – the foundation for all twentieth century biblical scholarship. The collection includes: Biographies of 19th century theologians, providing perspective on how and why these leaders were valued in the 19th century; Books by and about women and the church; Books about Native Americans and their religion.
  • Oxford African American Studies Center
    Includes more than 8,000 articles on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Among the Oxford reference sources included are Black Women in America, The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, and Africana. Subjects include arts, leisure, business, economics, education, politics, history, religion, science, and medicine. This resource also includes primary sources, images, maps, charts, tables, and thematic timelines
 

Selected Recent Faculty Publications


Cover Art
Bearing the Unbearable: trauma, gospel, and pastoral care - Deborah van Deusen Hunsinger
Call Number: BV4012 .H85 2015
ISBN: 9780802871039
Publication Date: 2015-07-01

Cover Art
How youth ministry can change theological education-if we let it : reflections from the Lilly Endowment's High School Theology Program Seminar - edited by Kenda Creasy Dean and Christy Lang Hearlson
Call Number: BV4163 .H69 2016
ISBN: 9780802871930
Publication Date: 2016-03-29
with Andrew Brubacher Kaethler, Elizabeth Corrie, Katherine M. Douglass, Fred Edie, David Horn, Jeffrey Kaster, Anabel Proffitt, Judy Steers, Brent A. Strawn, Anne Streaty Wimberly, Jacquie Church You

Cover Art
Pastoral ministry and worship in Calvin's Geneva, The - Elsie Anne McKee
Call Number: BX9418 .M353 2016
ISBN: 9782600019620
Publication Date: 2016

Cover Art
Psalms 1-50: sighs and songs of Israel - Ellen T. Charry
Call Number: BS1430.53 .C43 2015
ISBN: 9781587431579
Publication Date: 2015-10-13
Other contributors include: William Brown (Foreword by); R. Reno (General Editor); Robert Jenson (Contribution by); Ephraim Radner (Contribution by); Michael Root (Contribution by); George Sumner (Contribution by).
Second copy: REF BS1430.53 .C43 2015.

Cover Art
Ways of the word : learning to preach for your time and place - Sally A. Brown and Luke A. Powery
Call Number: BV4211.3 .S768 2016
ISBN: 9780800699222
Publication Date: 2016

Cover Art
What Did Jesus Ask?: Christian leaders reflect on his questions of faith - Editors of Time Magazine; Elizabeth de Mattos Dias (Editor); Nancy Gibbs (Foreword by)
Call Number: BS2555.54 .W53 2015
ISBN: 9781618930583
Publication Date: 2015-10-27
Authors include Ellen T. Charry and Yolanda Nicole Pierce

Related Links

 

Reference


Cover Art
Handbook of Women Biblical Interpreters - Agnes Choi (Editor); Marion Ann Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: REF BS501.A1 H36 2012
ISBN: 9780801033568
Publication Date: 2012-10-01

Cover Art
Women's Bible Commentary - Carol A. Newsom (Editor); Sharon H. Ringe (Editor); Jacqueline E. Lapsley (Editor)
Call Number: REF BS491.2 .W66 2012
ISBN: 9780664237073
Publication Date: 2012-09-28
Reference books do not circulate; however, a circulating copy is shelved on the 3rd floor: BS491.2 .W66 2012

 

Theses

Difference and power in feminist theologies : God's fierce whimsy as dialogic challenge to theological method - Christina Marie Busman
Call Number: FOLIO BT83.55 .B876 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Princeton Theological Seminary--Theses--Ph.D.

From true woman to new woman : Mary Kelly Edwards, single woman missionary to Natal, South Africa, 1868-1927 - Debra L. Duke
Call Number: FOLIO BV2610 .D85 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Princeton Theological Seminary--Theses--Ph.D.


Woman, women, and the priesthood in the thought of Elisabeth Behr-Sigel - Sarah Hinlicky Wilson
Call Number: FOLIO BV676 .W56 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Princeton Theological Seminary--Theses--Ph.D.

A woman's place is in the house : Royal women of Judah and their involvement in the House of David - Elna K. Solvang
Call Number: FOLIO BS575 .S645 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Princeton Theological Seminary--Theses--Ph. D.

Women and the cross : atonement in Rosemary Radford Ruether and Dorothee Soelle - Thelma Megill-Cobbler
Call Number: BT262 .M43 1992
Publication Date: 1992
Princeton Theological Seminary--Theses--Ph.D.

Women and the Jesuits in the Christian century (1549-1650) in Japan - Haruko Nawata Ward
Call Number: BX3746.J3 W37 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Princeton Theological Seminary--Theses--Ph.D.

 

Novels and Periodicals

Cover Art
The Anchoress - Robyn Cadwallader
Call Number: PR9619.4.C27 A85 2015
ISBN: 9780374104252
Publication Date: 2015-05-12

Cover Art
Teología desde las mujeres - Facultad Evangélica de Estudios Teológicos
Call Number: PER BV639.W7 T463
Latin American periodical

 

More Women's History Month Titles

Selected titles listed by call number — Click on the title to determine current shelving location. Floor Plans

Cover Art
Breaking Through the Stained Glass Ceiling - Maureen Fiedler (Editor)
Call Number: BL458 .B74 2010
ISBN: 9781596271203
Publication Date: 2010-05-01

Cover Art
Woman, religion & spirituality in Asia - Mary John Mananzan
Call Number: BL625.7 .M36 2004
ISBN: 9712714950
Publication Date: 2004

Cover Art
Daughters of Thunder : Black women preachers and their sermons, 1850-1979 - Bettye Collier-Thomas
Call Number: BR563.N4 C64 1998
ISBN: 0787909181
Publication Date: 1997-10-10



Cover Art
Women of Bible Lands: a pilgrimage to compassion and wisdom - Martha Ann Kirk
Call Number: BS575 .K575 2004
ISBN: 0814651569
Publication Date: 2004-03-01

Cover Art
Lady Parts : biblical women and The Vagina Monologues - Kathryn D. Blanchard (Editor); Jane S. Webster (Editor)
Call Number: BS575 .L339 2012
ISBN: 9781620323113
Publication Date: 2012-11-13

Cover Art
Comedy and Feminist Interpretation of the Hebrew Bible : a subversive collaboration - Melissa Jackson
Call Number: BS680.W63 J33 2012
ISBN: 9780199656776
Publication Date: 2012-09-29

Cover Art
God's word to women : one hundred Bible studies on woman's place in the divine economy - Katharine C. Bushnell
Call Number: BS680.W7 B97
Publication Date: [1976?]
Reprint of the 2d ed., 1923.

Cover Art
The View of Women Found in the Deuteronomic Family Laws - Carolyn Pressler
Call Number: BS1275.6 .W7 1993
ISBN: 3110137437
Publication Date: 1993-09-01

Cover Art
Las mujeres en la vida de San Pablo - Remedios Falaguera Sillas
Call Number: BS2655.W5 F35 2009
ISBN: 8492520205
Publication Date: 2009-01-01

Cover Art
In Justice: women and global economics - Ann-Cathrin Jarl
Call Number: BT83.55 .J37 2003
ISBN: 080063568X
Publication Date: 2003-10-13


Cover Art
Deviating Voices: women and orthodox religious tradition - S. W. Jackman
Call Number: BT704 .J33 2002
ISBN: 0718830245
Publication Date: 2003-01-23



Cover Art
WomanPrayer, WomanSong: resources for ritual - Miriam T. Winter; Meinrad Craighead (Illustrator)
Call Number: BV199.W6 W56 1987
ISBN: 094098900X
Publication Date: 1987-04-01

Cover Art
Las mujeres en los orígenes del cristianismo - Elisa Estévez Lopez
Call Number: BV639.W7 E88 2012
ISBN: 849945271X
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Qué se sabe de...

Cover Art
Mujer y cristianismo : historia de ayer y de hoy - Acción Educativa (Organization)
Call Number: BV639.W7 M85 1900
Serie Mujer (Santa Fe, Argenina)

Cover Art
Call for Women Bishops, The - Harriet Harris; Jane Shaw; with an afterword by Marilyn McCord Adams
Call Number: BV670.3 .C34 2004
ISBN: 0281056218
Publication Date: 2005-12-01

Cover Art
All That Fits a Woman: training Southern Baptist women for charity and mission, 1907-1926 - T. Laine Scales
Call Number: BV2093.W66 S33 2000
ISBN: 0865546681
Publication Date: 2000-06-01

Cover Art
Women Preaching : theology and practice through the ages - Eunjoo Mary Kim
Call Number: BV4207 .K56 2004
ISBN: 0829815279
Publication Date: 2004-08-01



Cover Art
Holy Women of Byzantium: ten saints' lives in English translation - Alice-Mary M. Talbot (Editor)
Call Number: BX393 .H65 1996
ISBN: 0884022412
Publication Date: 1996-06-01


Cover Art
Sophie Ajayi : a woman like no other : the untold story of Nigeria's first prophetess - Moses Oludele Idowu
Call Number: BX5700.57.Z8 A335 2016
ISBN: 9784993430
Publication Date: 2016

Cover Art
And Your Daughters Shall Prophesy : sermons by women in Baptist life - Karen Massey (Editor)
Call Number: BX6333.A1 A6 2012
ISBN: 9780881462852
Publication Date: 2012-05-30

Cover Art
A Costly Obedience: sermons by women of steadfast spirit - Elizabeth Smith Bellinger (Editor)
Call Number: BX6333.A1 C67 1994
ISBN: 0817012052
Publication Date: 1994-07-01

Cover Art
Rediscovering Eve : ancient Israelite women in context - Carol L. Meyers
Call Number: HQ1172 .M49 2013
ISBN: 9780199734559
Publication Date: 2012-12-27

Cover Art
Woman, Church and State - Matilda Joslyn Gage
Call Number: HQ1394 .G33 1985
ISBN: 0405044585
Publication Date: [1985 reprint]
Reprint of the 1978 2nd ed. Originally published: New York : The Truth Seeker Co., 1893.


Cover Art
Women in Russia, 1700-2000 - Barbara Alpern Engel
Call Number: HQ1662 .E54 2004
ISBN: 0521003180
Publication Date: 2003-10-13

Women in Theology (Twitter)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip