Biblical Studies: E-Resources
Church History: E-resources
Church in the World: E-resources
Theology: E-resources
This is the "Home" page of the "Reference Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Princeton Theological Seminary Home Princeton Theological Seminary Home
Last Updated: Nov 5, 2014 URL: http://ptsem.libguides.com/referenceguides Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The literature of theology

BR118 .B69 2003 

This text, though slightly dated, is very worth perusing.

Cover Art
The Literature of Theology - David R. Stewart; John A. Bollier
ISBN: 9780664223427
Publication Date: 2003-07-31

More about...

  • The Reference Collection
    Overview of the extensive collection of reference materials in Princeton Theological Seminary Library
  • The Reigner Collection
    Overview of the Reigner Collection of Christian formation materials in Princeton Theological Seminary Library.
  • Special Collections
    Overview of Special Collections in Princeton Theological Seminary Library, including archives and research collections.
  • Digital Initiatives
    Overview of Digital Initiatives at Princeton Theological Seminary Library, including the Theological Commons.

Subject guides for the reference collection

Reference Reading Room

 Use these subject guides to discover introductory tools for your research.

Note that titles with *** are also available in an electronic version. Access to these particular resources is password protected.

      

    Library of Congress Classification System

    The Seminary Library uses the Library of Congress call number system to organize the collection by subject.Catalogers assign specific call numbers to books and journals. Call numbers are printed on the spine or front cover of every book and journal in the main collection. The bibliographic records in the online catalog (OPAC) provide the call number for items in the collection. The call number indicates both the general subject and the location of the item.

    Anatomy of a call number:

      Sakenfeld, Katharine Doob,
     Ruth 
            Louisville, Ky. : John Knox Press, c1999.
            THIRD FLOOR (CIRCULATING)
     BS1315.3 .S25 1999  

     

    BS-letter line, describes general subject area (Bible)

    1315.3-number line, narrows subject area (Book of Ruth)

    .S25-"cutter" line, further narrows subject area or specifies author (Sakenfeld)

    1999-year of publication

    Tutorial for doing online research

    Internet for Religious Studies is a free online tutorial to help students and other researchers develop their Internet research skills.

     

    Library Mission Statement

    The Library's mission is to strengthen teaching, inspire learning, broaden access, foster research, embrace change, and advance knowledge.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip