Freely Available Online Resources
Princeton Seminary Alumni/ae
Alumni/ae of Princeton Seminary may access a number of research databases in addition to the freely available resources mentioned above.
Use the search box in the upper right.
It searches the contents of the guide, e.g. resource names and descriptions. For example, if you search for "Calvin" there, you'll get a link to the "P" page of the guide, because the Past Masters database has Calvin's works and correspondence.
Click the "A to Z" tab above.
You can browse the full list of databases on that page.
Trial and Recently Added Databases
The library is dedicated to supporting the Seminary community's study, research, and teaching work while practicing good stewardship of Seminary resources. Toward that goal, the trials and pilot projects listed here are designed to assist in library resource appraisal and purchasing decisions.
Luther's Works database trial (ends March 4, 2017)
Looking for a specific full-text journal online?
Searching specific fields:
- All: Searches all the fields available
- Keyword: All Fields (the default)
- Title: Searches the title field
- Author: Searches the author field
- Abstract: Searches the abstract field
- Subject: Searches the subject field
- Use AND to connect separate concepts. AND will narrow a search.
Example: barth AND dogmatics
- Use OR to connect similar terms. OR will broaden your search.
Example: muslim OR moslem
- Use NOT to eliminate separate terms. NOT will narrow your search.
Example: barth NOT karl
Searching exact phrases:
There is no perfect method for searching for exact phrases in Serials Solutions since databases may perform exact phrase searching differently. Using "quotation marks" around your search term may be effective in some searches. For advanced searching, it is recommended that you use the "native interface" of the database.
Searching for full text only:
Each database is unique. If the "native interface" provides a "Full Text Only" limit Serials Solutions can interpret, then the search of that database will offer full-text articles. Some databases do not offer a full-text only limit (and not all databases provide full-text articles).
Additional search strategies:
Use * to find all words that begin with the same root: theolog* finds theology, theologian, theological