This is the "A to Z" page of the "A-Z Resource List" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Princeton Theological Seminary logo

A-Z Resource List   Tags: databases articles resources  

This guide contains a full list of resources (databases) organized by name.
Last Updated: May 23, 2017 URL: http://ptsem.libguides.com/databases-a-to-z Print Guide RSS Updates

A to Z Print Page
  Search: 
 

A

  • Academic Search Premier
    Provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
  • ACLS Humanities E-Book
    ACLS Humanities E-Book is a digital, fully searchable collection of over 4,000 high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. A title list is available at http://humanitiesebook.org/the-collection/default.html
  • Acta Sanctorum  
      
    Contains the complete Acta sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. It comprises the works published over a period of three hundred years by the societe de Bollandistes and includes materials on the lives of the saints from the beginning of the Christian era to the end of the sixteenth century.
  • America: History & Life
    Provides abstracts of articles published in over 1,800 scholarly history journals. The database covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Materials that have been published from 1964 to the present are included in America: History and Life. In addition to providing abstracts for journal articles the database also contains citations for book reviews, articles in collections, dissertations, and media reviews.
  • American Doctoral Dissertations (EBSCO Open Access)  
      
    A free resource, accessible to all researchers, that includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 70,000 citations for theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.
  • American Religion: Denominational Newspapers  
      
    Contains more than 320 rare newspapers from over 30 states published between 1799 and 1900. It supports research of early American history, religious history, ethnic studies, abolitionism, Civil War, and gender studies.
  • Analecta carminum  
      
    Latin songs and poems of the high and late Middle Ages as well as secular poetry.
  • Analecta Hymnica Medii Aevi  
      
    Full-text version of the 55-volume edition of 1886-1922, providing a very comprehensive collection of the texts of medieval Latin hymns and other sacred songs, with historical and bibliographical notes. Detailed electronic indexing allows for a variety of complex searches across the volumes.
  • Archives of the Presbyterian Church of Cuba Online
    This collection makes available for research the records of the Iglesia Presbiteriana-Reformada en Cuba (IPRC) and predecessor Presbyterian churches and missions in Cuba, including a complete run of Heraldo Cristiano, the church’s newsletter, 1919 – 2010, which provides a framework for the history of the church. Also included are the periodicals Juprecu and Su Voz, early mission records, originally maintained in English and then in Spanish as the congregations took over management of their churches and schools from the mission workers. These include session minutes and membership/baptism/marriage/death records, as well as minutes of men’s, women’s, and youth groups, including their mission work in their communities.
  • ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 (13th Century to 1893)
    ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 contains over five million pages of content, and consists of titles from the late 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions, with the majority of titles from the 19th century. Because religion was such an integral part of the social, political and economic fabric of life during this time period, historians researching a wide range of areas, not just religion, will find invaluable material relevant to their work. It covers diverse topics such as philosophy, the evolutionary debate, the Reformation, spiritualism, prayer, ancient linguistics, archeology, devotionals, ethics, and more in a variety of languages.
  • ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 (1894 to 1922)
    ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 contains over five million pages of content from over 14,880 monographs dating from 1894 through 1922. This collection provides a broad view of the changing landscape of religion in America at the end of a century of dramatic cultural and political change. It offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions. It presents a comprehensive picture of American life at the time with the rise of missionary activity and evangelical Christianity and the emergence of the historical critical method – the foundation for all twentieth century biblical scholarship. The collection includes: Biographies of 19th century theologians, providing perspective on how and why these leaders were valued in the 19th century; Books by and about women and the church; Books about Native Americans and their religion.
  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials  
      
    Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
  • Augustinian studies (Philosophy Documentation Center Collection)
    Augustinian Studies is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal devoted to the study of the life, teachings, and influence of Augustine of Hippo. Since 1970 it has published articles from a variety of disciplines and perspectives including philosophy, theology, and history, as well as article-length reviews of appropriate publications. Each volume includes the annual Saint Augustine Lecture delivered at Villanova University. Although the primary focus of the journal is the study of Augustine himself, articles illuminating aspects of Augustinian studies more broadly conceived are also included when they contribute to the understanding of Augustine's life or thought.
  • Australasian Religion Index
    Covers over eighty religious and theological serials published in Australia or New Zealand and representing all religious traditions. Related areas of study such as history and sociology are also covered.

B

  • Bible in English
    "The Bible in English contains twenty versions of the Bible. In addition to the twelve complete Bibles, there are five New Testament works, two Gospel works and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah translations."
  • Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive  
      
    "Written to be understood, Biblical Archaeology Review (BAR) magazine delivers the excitement of archaeology and the latest in Bible scholarship. Explore the current issue along with web-only features and Scholar’s Study, where scholarly debates from the pages of BAR continue online."
  • Bibliotheca scriptorum Latinorum  
      
    Catalog of names of medieval and renaissance authors, including variant forms of name.
  • Brill Dictionary of Religion  
      
    Brill Dictionary of Religion (BDR) Online addresses religion as an element of daily life and public discourse, is richly illustrated and with more than 500 entries, the Brill Dictionary of Religion Online is a multi-media reference source on the many and various forms of religious commitment.
  • British Online Archives
    "Home to over sixty digitised primary source collections, BOA remains at the forefront of teaching and research within the Humanities and Social Sciences. Our globally-related collections, ranging from colonial, missionary and transatlantic relations to twentieth century political and social development, cover four-hundred years of world history."

C

  • Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture
    The almost 200 Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, and Culture offer specially-commissioned collections of essays which are intended to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience of students and non-specialists. Addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism.
  • Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology
    “The Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology is the first attempt in more than one hundred years to produce a replacement for John Julian’s A Dictionary of Hymnology. That massive and remarkable work was first published by John Murray in 1892…This is (like Julian’s Dictionary) an English-language book. We have tried to be as global as possible, but a reference work has to be written from somewhere, and there will no doubt be evidence of this in the finished work…The present dictionary is closer to an Encyclopaedia than to a database.”
  • Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
    Citations and abstracts to books, articles, and other material about Roman Catholicism published by Catholics or in Catholic publications.
  • Chevalier : Repertorium hymnologicum  
      
    Full-text version of Ulysses Chevalier's 6-volume exhaustive catalog (published 1892-1920) of the chants, hymns, proses, sequences, and tropes used in the Latin church from the earliest times through the early 20th century. Limited digital indexing at this time enables searching only by initial and head words across vols. 1-5 and by saints, feast days, authors, liturgical books, and saints in vol. 6.
  • Chicago Manual of Style Online  
      
    Style guide that deals with aspects of editorial practice, from American English grammar and usage to document preparation.
  • Christian Periodical Index  
      
    Published by the Association of Christian Librarians, CPI provides access to English language articles and reviews from an evangelical perspective.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education
    Leading weekly newspaper in higher education. Full-text plus a database of academic jobs (those published in print in the past month) and the Almanac of Higher Education, (basic statistical information on higher education, e.g., enrollment information or executive compensation).
  • Church Missionary Society Periodicals  
      
    Sourced from the Crowther Mission Studies Library in Oxford, Church Missionary Society Periodicals digitises publications from the CMS and the South American Missionary Society from the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries. It includes the Church Missionary Gleaner, CMS Outlook, CMS Intelligencer, Ruanda Notes (MAM News) and the South American Missionary Magazine, encompassing issues from 1804-2009.
  • Context of Scripture Online
    The Context of Scripture Online illuminatingly presents the multi-faceted world of ancient writing that forms the colorful background to the literature of the Hebrew Bible. Designed as a thorough and enduring reference work for all engaged in the study of the Bible and the ancient Near East, the Context of Scripture Online provides reliable access to a broad, balanced, and representative collection of Ancient Near Eastern texts that have an impact on the interpretation of the Bible. Each entry includes an introduction to the text, an authoritative translation, commentary, and bibliographic references.
  • COPAC
    Search over 70 UK and Irish academic national and specialist library catalogs
  • Coptic Gnostic Library Online -- A Complete Edition of the Nag Hammadi Codices  
      
    The Coptic Gnostic Library Online continues where the Dead Sea Scrolls left off. Our main sources of information for the Gnostic religion are the so-called Nag Hammadi codices, written in Coptic.

D

  • Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library Biblical Texts
    The Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library presents a complete Hebrew transcription and English translation of the Biblical texts, together with high-resolution images. The contents of this online publication is identical to that of the Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library Biblical Texts CD-ROM, published by Brill and Brigham Young University but its interface is adapted to Brill's online platform for reference works.
  • Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library Non-Biblical Texts
    A comprehensive tool for the study of the non-biblical texts from the Judean Desert (the "Dead Sea Scrolls"). You can find high resolution images of the Non-Biblical Dead Sea Scroll fragments and all the texts, in the original languages and in translation, mainly reproducing the editions from the prestigious Discoveries in the Judaean Desert Series, often updated, with morphological analysis and search programs. You will be able to search content using a sophisticated inventory, and examine finer details of the original texts through search options and zoom possibilities for the images. Never before has such comprehensive information been available in one place.
  • Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques (DHGE)
    Coverage of the Byzantine period, medieval theology, Catholic biography, and ecclesiastical data
  • Digital Collections at Princeton Theological Seminary
    The Princeton Theological Seminary Library's Digital Collections Teamprovides free public access to digitized historical material. It also provides online access to guides to the library's manuscript collections, even though these collections are themselves not yet digitized. Bibliographies for selected Special Collections are also presented through the Digital Collections site. Digital Initiatives will expand over time as more of the library's holdings are digitized and as relevant copyright-free materials digitized elsewhere are aggregated through the site.
  • Digital Exhibits, Princeton Theological Seminary Library  
      
    Digital exhibitions of curated resources in the Princeton Theological Seminary Library, developed and curated by Digital Archivist, Jackie Rider.
  • Digital Karl Barth Library
    Features the first 36 volumes of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, originally published under the TVZ imprint. Among the works included in the Gesamtausgabe are hundreds of letters, sermons, lectures, conversations, and academic writings. New content, including Barth's monumental Kirchliche Dogmatik, will be added on a quarterly basis.
  • Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
    Provides access to an extensive range of works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras.
  • Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation
    Provides access to documents, including papal and synodal decrees, catechisms and inquisitorial manuals, biblical commentaries, theological treatises, liturgical writings, saints' lives and devotional works.
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I (Dissertation Abstracts Online)
    Dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe. Selectively covers masters theses and dissertations including dissertations from Canada, Great Britain, and Europe.
  • Dissertations & Theses @ Princeton Theological Seminary
    This ProQuest database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at Princeton Theological Seminary.

E

  • Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800  
      
    Contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. Digitized from one of the most important collections ever produced on microform, Early American Imprints, Series I is based on Charles Evans? renowned ?American Bibliography? and Roger Bristol?s supplement. Including more than 36,000 printed works and 2.3 million pages, Series I also offers new imprints not available in microform editions.
  • Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819  
      
    Provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted ?American Bibliography, 1801-1819? by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. With more than four million pages from over 36,000 items?including 1,000 catalogued new items unavailable in previous microform editions
  • Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876  
      
    Offers fully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of tens of thousands of issues from more than 650 historical American newspapers, totaling more than one million pages. Focusing largely on the 18th century, this digital edition is based on Clarence S. Brigham?s ?History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820? and other authoritative bibliographies. A comprehensive resource that provides unprecedented access into the nation?s past, Early American Newspapers, Series I enables users to easily view, magnify, print and save items.
  • The Early Modern Pamphlets Online
    There are 3 collections in this resource: (1) Dutch Pamphlets 1486-1853: The Knuttel Collection. The Knuttel Collection at the Koninklijke Bibliotheek, the National Library of the Netherlands, is the most extensive pamphlet collection in the Netherlands; (2) Dutch Pamphlets, 1542-1853: The Van Alphen Collection. The Van Alphen collection supplements the Knuttel collection; (3) Flugschriften des 16. Jahrhunderts. The Sixteenth-Century Pamhlets collection contains well over 10,000 German and Latin pamphlets printed in the Holy Roman Empire.
  • Elenchus Bibliographicus
    An extensive bibliography which covers the field of theology and canon law. One of 3 Peeters Online Bibliographies. The other two are International philosophical bibliography and Répertoire bibliographique de la philosophie.
  • Encyclopaedia Judaica
    "Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students."
  • Encyclopaedia of Islam THREE  
      
    Edited by: Kate Fleet, Gudrun Krmer; Denis Matringe; John Nawas; Everett Rowson with: Roger Allen, Edith Ambros, Oliver Bast, Thomas Bauer, Jonathan Berkey, Sheila Blair, Jonathan Bloom, Lon Buskens, Stephen Dale, Eve Feuillebois-Pierunek, Maribel Fierro, Edmund Herzig, Alexander Knysh, Roman Loimeier, Marie Miran-Guyon, David Powers, Merle Ricklefs, Ayman Shihadeh and Gotthard Strohmaier
  • Encyclopaedia of Judaism  
      
    The Encyclopaedia of Judaism Online offers than 200 entries comprising more than 1,000,000 words and offers an authoritative, comprehensive, and systematic presentation of the current state of scholarship on fundamental issues of Judaism, both past and present.
  • Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
    The Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an Online is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies. It is the first comprehensive, multivolume reference work on the Qur'an to appear in a Western language.
  • Encyclopedia of Christianity Online
    The Encyclopedia of Christianity Online describes modern-day Christian beliefs and communities in the context of 2000 years of apostolic tradition and Christian history. Based on the third, revised edition of the critically acclaimed German work Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon.
  • Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception  
      
    Pursues the twofold task of 1) comprehensively recording the current knowledge of the origins and development of the Bible in its Jewish and Christian canonical forms and 2) documenting the history of the Bible's reception in Judaism and Christianity as evident in exegetical literature, theological and philosophical writings of various genres, literature, liturgy, music, the visual arts, dance, and film, as well as in Islam and other religious traditions and contemporary movements.
  • ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center)  
      
    Provides access to education literature and resources.
  • The European Library
    An online portal which provides access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.

F

  • Flavius Josephus Online
    Flavius Josephus, the first-century Jewish historian, is unquestionably among the most important writers from classical antiquity. The significance of the works of Josephus as sources for our understanding of biblical history and of the political history of Palestine under Roman rule, can scarcely be overestimated. This is the first comprehensive literary-historical online commentary on the works of Flavius Josephus in English including the Greek text by Niese from the late 19th century.

G

  • Gifford Lecture Series
    One of the foremost lecture series dealing with religion, science and philosophy. The online Gifford Lectures database presents a comprehensive collection of books derived from the Gifford Lectures. In addition to the books, the Web site contains a biography of each lecturer and a summary of the lecture or book.

H

  • Handbook of Latin American Studies Online (HLAS)
    A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
  • Hermeneia: A Critical and Historical Commentary on the Bible
    The Hermeneia commentary series seeks to offer authoritative interpretation of the earliest texts of the biblical books and other literature closely related to the Bible. Hermeneia is designed for the serious student of the Bible. It makes full use of ancient Semitic and classical languages; at the same time, English translations of all comparative materials—Greek, Latin, Canaanite, or Akkadian—are supplied alongside the citation of the source in its original language. The aim is to provide the scholar with full critical discussion of each problem of interpretation and with the primary data upon which the discussion is based. Download/print chapters and search within the books.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
  • Humanities Source Ultimate  
      
    Offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It also includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes to round out student research.

I


Index to Theses in Great Britain and Ireland is now ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - UK and Ireland.

  • Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (RAMBI)
    A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.
  • Index of Christian Art  
      
    Largest database of medieval art in existence with full-text records for over 23,000 works of art dating from early apostolic times to A.D. 1400. Each work, depending on the medium can have up to fifty different classification fields, including data such as location/ownership, date, school, style, etc. The subject matter of each work is classified under one or more of the 27,165 subject terms developed over eighty-five years by the Index and a full-text description accompanies each work.
  • Index Religiosus
    The new reference bibliography for academic publications in Theology, Religious Studies and Church History. More than 590,000 bibliographic records. Produced by Brepolis in partnership with the Catholic University of Louvain and the KU Leuven
  • International philosophical bibliography
    One of 3 Peeters Online Bibliographies. The other two are Elenchus Bibliographicus and Répertoire bibliographique de la philosophie.
  • Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance  
      
    A bibliography of books and articles about philosophy and history of philosophy including: Antiquity, Middle Ages, Renaissance to Enlightenment, 19th and 20th Centuries, and Non-Western Traditions. Language scope: Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Spanish and Catalan.

J

  • Jersey Clicks
    New Jersey's statewide portal that features federated searching of the statewide full-text databases offered by the New Jersey State Library and the New Jersey Network. JerseyClicks offers keyword and custom searching of databases through a federated search, which means the databases can be searched simultaneously. These high quality databases cover subjects such as health, history, business, education, science, current events, literature, and popular fiction. The suite also includes Informe, our Spanish language full-text database.
  • JSTOR
    Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Includes the JSTOR Religion and Theology Collection. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

K

L

  • Lexikon zur byzantinischen Gräzität
    The Online LBG (Lexikon zur byzantinischen Gräzität) is the result of the collaboration between the Lexikon zur byzantinischen Gräzität published by the Austrian Academy of Sciences (Die Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften) and the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) at the University of California, Irvine. The LBG is the foremost lexicographical resource in Byzantine Studies mainly covering the period from the 4th to the 15th century A.D. taken from more than 3,000 texts. Seven fascicles have appeared to date, with one more scheduled to appear in 2016. When completed the dictionary will consist of more than 2,000 printed pages, containing approximately 80,000 lemmata.
  • Library of Congress Online Catalog
    Contains 15 million catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections.
  • Library of Latin Texts - A
    CLCLT is the world's leading database for Latin texts. In total, the present version of the Library of Latin Texts contains over 53 million Latin words, drawn from more than 2800 works that are attributed to approximately 860 authors. The texts which are incorporated are selected by virtue of their having been edited according to best contemporary scholarly practice. Independent research is undertaken to verify facts relating to the text, such as the veracity of the authorial attribution or the dating. In addition, errors in word-forms from the printed version are corrected.
  • Library of Latin Texts - B
    CLCLT is the world's leading database for Latin texts. In total, the present version of the Library of Latin Texts contains over 53 million Latin words, drawn from more than 2800 works that are attributed to approximately 860 authors. The texts which are incorporated are selected by virtue of their having been edited according to best contemporary scholarly practice. Independent research is undertaken to verify facts relating to the text, such as the veracity of the authorial attribution or the dating. In addition, errors in word-forms from the printed version are corrected.
  • Loeb Classical Library
    "The digital Loeb Classical Library extends this mission into the twenty-first century. Harvard University Press is honored to renew James Loeb's vision of accessibility and presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease."
  • Luthers Werke  
      
    Luthers Werke on the World Wide Web reproduces the Weimar Edition in electronic form. The Weimar Edition, which is regarded as a monumental work in the field of theology and the German language, was first published in 1883 and includes 127 volumes.
  • Luther's Works (The Works of Martin Luther)  
      
    The 55-volume set of Luther's Works, a monumental translation project published jointly by Fortress Press and Concordia Publishing House in 1957, is singular in its value to church historians, Luther scholars, and Christians. This truly exquisite offering will put the entire Luther corpus at the command of a few keystrokes and provide the reader with a Luther resource unrivaled in accessibility and convenience. Luther's Works in digital format is indispensable for studies of Luther and invaluable to theologians.

M

  • Ministry Matters (Library)
    Developed by the United Methodist Publishing House of Nashville, TN and launched in 2011, Ministry Matters contains resources for church leaders and tools to facilitate collaboration. According to the creators, it is "a magazine, a reference library, and a social network."
  • MLA Directory of Periodicals
    Offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STORs language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

N

  • New Testament Abstracts
    Features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to New Testament studies. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1985.
  • Newman studies journal (Philosophy Documentation Center Collection)
    The Newman Studies Journal is a peer-reviewed English language journal publishing scholarly articles related to John Henry Cardinal Newman in the areas of education, history, literature, philosophy, spirituality, and theology. The journal publishes articles from various sources, including the Annual National Conference of the Venerable John Henry Newman Association. It is published semiannually by the National Institute for Newman Studies, a non-profit organization that provides resources for scholars dedicated to promoting the study and knowledge of Newman's life, work and influence.

O

  • Old Testament Abstracts
    Features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
  • Oxford African American Studies Center
    Includes more than 8,000 articles on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Among the Oxford reference sources included are Black Women in America, The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, and Africana. Subjects include arts, leisure, business, economics, education, politics, history, religion, science, and medicine. This resource also includes primary sources, images, maps, charts, tables, and thematic timelines
  • Oxford Art Online
    Gateway to several art historical resources, most notably, the Grove Dictionary of Art ("Grove Art Online"), along with The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and numerous images.
  • Oxford Biblical Studies Online
    Cross-searchable resource brings together the text, commentary and annotations from the famous Oxford Study Bibles, essential corollary content and biblical reference works, stunning images, up-to-date color maps and a great deal more.
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: Biblical Studies
    OBO offers carefully considered recommendations on essential topics in the study of the Bible broadly conceived that immediately lead users into the best bibliographical resources so that they might develop an informed view of the topic of concern and follow a clearly outlined path for academic engagement with it.
  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
    55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2002.
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
  • Oxford Handbooks in Religion
    Oxford Handbooks in Religion bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in religion. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online
    Collection of English-language reference resources on the Islamic world, including the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, and two translations of the Qur'an. Also includes a timeline of Islamic events and a date converter for the Christian and Islamic calendars.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference Online brings together almost 250 language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
  • Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion
    "Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion combines the speed & flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing."
  • Oxford Scholarship Online Philosophy
    Providing quick and easy access to award-winning scholarship, Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) Philosophy offers access to 1,700+ works on philosophy.
  • Oxford Scholarship Online Religion
    Providing quick and easy access to award-winning scholarship, Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) Religion offers access to 1,500+ works on religion.

P

  • Past Masters
    A full-text database offering comprehensive collections of excellent editions of selected philosophers, theologians, and English literary writers. The texts are given in both the original language and, where required, in English translation. Works include published and unpublished texts, articles, essays, and correspondence. Authors include Abelard, Anselm, Aquinas, Augustine, Calvin, Kierkegaard, Knox, Luther, Newman and Ockham.
  • Past Masters Commons
    Includes historically important texts and translations which have been newly edited for accuracy as well as modern scholarship.
  • Patrologia Latina Database
    Covers the works of the Latin Fathers from Tertullian around 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. In 221 volumes, it covers most major and minor Latin authors, and contains the most influential works of late ancient and early medieval theology, philosophy, history, and literature.
  • Patrologia Orientalis Database  
      
    A collection of patristic texts from the Christian East, including works, recorded in non-Latin languages, that come from geographical, cultural, or religious contexts somehow linked to Rome or the Eastern Roman Empire.
  • Patrologiae Graecae
    Electronic version of Migne's Greek patristic texts, with Latin translations.
  • Petrarcae codices Latini
    Database of Latin manuscripts by Francesco Petrarca and other medieval and early renaissance authors with about 1,700 bibliographic descriptions.
  • Philosopher's Index
    Covers all major fields of philosophy such as aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, etc., and philosophy of related interdisciplinary fields such as education, history, law and religion. Contains citation information and author-written abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews, published from 1940 to the present.
  • Philosophy Documentation Center Collection
    Augustinian studies, 0094-5323; Newman studies journal, 1547-9080
  • Princeton Theological Seminary Library Catalog
    Search the PTS library catalog for book titles, journal titles, and media.
  • Princeton University Library
    Search Princeton University's online library catalog and other resources owned by PU.
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I (Dissertation Abstracts Online)
    Dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe. Selectively covers masters theses and dissertations including dissertations from Canada, Great Britain, and Europe.
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland
    A comprehensive listing of theses and dissertations with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland since 1716. (Formerly "Index to Theses in Great Britain and Ireland")
  • ProQuest Religion has a new name
    Now called "Religion Database"
  • ProQuest Social Science Journals has a new name
    Now called "Social Science Database"
  • PsycARTICLES
    Full-text articles in general and specialized psychology from over 50 peer-reviewed journals
  • Psychology Database (formerly ProQuest Psychology Journals)
    ProQuest Psychology Journals™ provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research. Additionally, ProQuest Psychology Journals includes 4,000 full text dissertations representing a range of psychology disciplines including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics and social psychology.
    ProQuest Psychology Journals encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
  • PsycINFO
    An abstract database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present
  • Religion Database (formerly ProQuest Religion)
    Includes more than 270 titles, with more than 100 available in full text. Designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections, the database is an excellent source of religious news and information. The database provides details on doctrines and philosophies, reports on religious history, and related archeology. ProQuest Religion also covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions. Primary faiths represented in the database are Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and Buddhism.
  • Social Science Database (formerly ProQuest Social Science Journals)
    ProQuest Social Science Journals™ is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text. It covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from over 50 countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives.

Q

R

  • Religion & Philosophy Collection  
      
    Comprehensive database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
  • Religion Database (formerly ProQuest Religion)
    Includes more than 270 titles, with more than 100 available in full text. Designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections, the database is an excellent source of religious news and information. The database provides details on doctrines and philosophies, reports on religious history, and related archeology. ProQuest Religion also covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions. Primary faiths represented in the database are Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and Buddhism.
  • Religion Past and Present  
      
    Religion Past and Present (RPP) Online is the online version of the updated English translation of the 4th edition of the definitive encyclopedia of religion worldwide: the peerless Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG). Including the latest developments in research, Religion Past and Present Online encompasses a vast range of subjects connected with religion.
  • Religious & Theological Abstracts  
      
    Provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology.
  • Répertoire bibliographique de la philosophie
    One of 3 Peeters Online Bibliographies. The other two are Elenchus bibliographicus and International philosophical bibliography.
  • Research in Ministry
    An online resource maintained by the American Theological Library Association
  • Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy  
      
    Covers an unparalleled breadth of subject matter related to philosophy, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.

S

  • Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law  
      
    This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
  • Social Science Database (formerly ProQuest Social Science Journals)
    ProQuest Social Science Journals™ is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text. It covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from over 50 countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text  
      
    SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
  • Southern Baptist Periodical Index
    "The SBPI is a cumulative cover-to-cover index to around 30-50 periodicals issued each year by historically Southern Baptist Convention-related agencies, institutions, and associations at the national level of organization. Subject coverage ranges widely but includes theology, Baptist history and practice, worship, church music, church administration and development, religious education and ministry, Baptist colleges/universities/seminaries, missions and missions education, family life and parenting, and Christian life. Indexed periodicals include reviews of books, motion pictures and videos, compact discs, web sites, etc., ranging from the scholarly to the popular."

T

  • Theologische Realenzyklopaedie (TRE)
    The TRE (Theological Encyclopedia) is an indispensable tool for research, study and teaching, principally in theology, but also in its neighbouring disciplines such as history, philosophy, Jewish studies and religious studies.
  • Thesaurus Linguae Graecae  
      
    Includes most ancient Greek literary texts from Homer to the fall of Constantinople.
  • Theses Canada
    The mission of Theses Canada is to acquire and preserve a comprehensive collection of Canadian theses at Library and Archives Canada (LAC), to provide access to this valuable research within Canada and throughout the world. Its mission to preserve this portion of Canada's bibliographic heritage is achieved through collaboration with the many Canadian universities who participate in the program.
  • Twentieth Century Religious Thought, Volume I: Christianity  
      
    Includes the complete 17-volume German edition of Dietrich Bonhoeffer Werke (DBW) and 16 volumes of the English edition of the Dietrich Bonhoeffer Works Series (DBWE); an international selection of English-language editions of key authors such as Hans Urs von Baltasar, Rudolf Bultmann, James Cone, Gustavo Gutiérrez, Adolf von Harnack, Henri de Lubac, Wolfhart Pannenberg, Rosemary Radford Ruether, Dorothee Sölle, and Ernst Troeltsch; and a selection of the papers of Reinhold Niebuhr.
  • Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume II, Islam  
      
    Focuses on modern Islamic theology and tradition and details Islam’s evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents by Muslim writers, both non-Western and Western voices.
    It includes an international selection of English-language editions of key thinkers such as Sadiq Jalal Al-Azm, Khaled Abou el Fadl, Fethullah Gülen, Sayyid Ahmad Khan, Said Nursî, Tariq Ramadan, Abdolkarim Soroush, Muhammad Tahir-ul-Qadri, and Amina Wadud; writings in Arabic by Muhammad Abduh and in French by Abdou Filali-Ansary, and a selection of more contextual monographs. Future releases will introduce more works by significant thinkers and archival content.
  • Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume III, Judaism
    Focuses on modern Jewish theology and philosophy and details Judaism's evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents.Includes an international selection of English-language editions of key thinkers such as Eugene Borowitz, Elliott Dorff, Emil L. Fackenheim, Blu Greenberg, David Hartman, Mordecai Kaplan, Adolf Neubauer, and Joseph B. Soloveitchik; writings in German and Hebrew from the Markus Brann collection, and a selection of contextual monographs and reference works.
  • Twentieth Century Religious Thought Library, Volumes I, II and III
    Search all three volumes (Christianity, Islam and Judaism) at once.

U

V

The links for Vetus Latina below go to different resources that happen to have the same name. 

  • Vetus Latina and Library of Latin Texts - Series A and B
    CLCLT is the world's leading database for Latin texts. In total, the present version of the Library of Latin Texts contains over 53 million Latin words, drawn from more than 2800 works that are attributed to approximately 860 authors. The texts which are incorporated are selected by virtue of their having been edited according to best contemporary scholarly practice. Independent research is undertaken to verify facts relating to the text, such as the veracity of the authorial attribution or the dating. In addition, errors in word-forms from the printed version are corrected.
  • Vetus Latina: Resources for the Study of the Old Latin Bible
    Maintained by Hugh Houghton, Research Fellow, Institute for Textual Scholarship and Electronic Editing, University of Birmingham (UK)

W

  • World Christian Database  
      
    Provides comprehensive statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups.
  • World Religion Database  
      
    Contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world?s religions for the period 1900 to 2050.
  • WorldCat.org
    Comprehensive online catalog of library holdings. Lists books, journals, maps, recordings, films, scores, and other materials located in public, academic, corporate, school and specialized libraries all over the world. Check Worldcat for holdings of material that are not available at PTS.
  • The Works of Martin Luther (SEE Luther's Works)

X

Y

Z

Profile

Profile Image
Virginia Dearborn, Discovery & Web Services Librarian
Contact Info
Send Email

Profile

Profile Image
Kate Skrebutenas Reference Librarian
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip