This guide contains a full list of resources (databases) organized by name.
Last Updated: May 23, 2017
- Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture
The almost 200 Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, and Culture offer specially-commissioned collections of essays which are intended to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience of students and non-specialists. Addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism.
- Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology
“The Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology is the first attempt in more than one hundred years to produce a replacement for John Julian’s A Dictionary of Hymnology. That massive and remarkable work was first published by John Murray in 1892…This is (like Julian’s Dictionary) an English-language book. We have tried to be as global as possible, but a reference work has to be written from somewhere, and there will no doubt be evidence of this in the finished work…The present dictionary is closer to an Encyclopaedia than to a database.”
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Citations and abstracts to books, articles, and other material about Roman Catholicism published by Catholics or in Catholic publications.
- Chevalier : Repertorium hymnologicum
Full-text version of Ulysses Chevalier's 6-volume exhaustive catalog (published 1892-1920) of the chants, hymns, proses, sequences, and tropes used in the Latin church from the earliest times through the early 20th century. Limited digital indexing at this time enables searching only by initial and head words across vols. 1-5 and by saints, feast days, authors, liturgical books, and saints in vol. 6.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online
Style guide that deals with aspects of editorial practice, from American English grammar and usage to document preparation.
- Christian Periodical Index
Published by the Association of Christian Librarians, CPI provides access to English language articles and reviews from an evangelical perspective.
- Chronicle of Higher Education
Leading weekly newspaper in higher education. Full-text plus a database of academic jobs (those published in print in the past month) and the Almanac of Higher Education, (basic statistical information on higher education, e.g., enrollment information or executive compensation).
- Church Missionary Society Periodicals
Sourced from the Crowther Mission Studies Library in Oxford, Church Missionary Society Periodicals digitises publications from the CMS and the South American Missionary Society from the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries. It includes the Church Missionary Gleaner, CMS Outlook, CMS Intelligencer, Ruanda Notes (MAM News) and the South American Missionary Magazine, encompassing issues from 1804-2009.
- Context of Scripture Online
The Context of Scripture Online illuminatingly presents the multi-faceted world of ancient writing that forms the colorful background to the literature of the Hebrew Bible. Designed as a thorough and enduring reference work for all engaged in the study of the Bible and the ancient Near East, the Context of Scripture Online provides reliable access to a broad, balanced, and representative collection of Ancient Near Eastern texts that have an impact on the interpretation of the Bible. Each entry includes an introduction to the text, an authoritative translation, commentary, and bibliographic references.
Search over 70 UK and Irish academic national and specialist library catalogs
- Coptic Gnostic Library Online -- A Complete Edition of the Nag Hammadi Codices
The Coptic Gnostic Library Online continues where the Dead Sea Scrolls left off. Our main sources of information for the Gnostic religion are the so-called Nag Hammadi codices, written in Coptic.