There are no access restrictions on these resources. If you have suggestions concerning resources that could be added to this list, please feel free to contact the reference librarian.
Last Updated: Jul 17, 2017
These are freely available recommended statistical and data resources on religion on the Internet.
If you have suggestions concerning resources that could be added to this list, please feel free to
A collection of statistics and religious geography citations with references to published membership statistics and congregation statistics for thousands of religious communities
- ARDA Community GIS Maps and Profile Reports
This tool assists church and community leaders in accessing free online information about their communities. The initial map shows the location of other churches in your area and the Profile Builder provides you with social, economic, and religious information on the community or neighborhoods you select.
- Association of Religion Data Archives
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion and is currently located in the Social Science Research Institute at the Pennsylvania State University.
- Barna Group
Offers a range of customized research, resources and training to serve churches, non-profits, businesses and leaders
- Classical Language Toolkit
"The Classical Language Toolkit (CLTK) offers natural language processing support for Classical languages. In some areas, it extends the NLTK. The goals of the Classical Language Toolkit (CLTK) are to: compile analysis-friendly corpora in a variety of Classical languages (currently available for Chinese, Coptic, Greek, Latin, Pali, and Tibetan); gather, improve, and generate linguistic data required for NLP (Greek and Latin are in progress, with more in the pipeline); develop a free and open platform for generating reproducible, scientific research that advances the study of the languages and literatures of the ancient world."
- Dictionary of African Christian Biography
An international undertaking aimed at producing an electronic database containing the essential biographical facts of African Christian leaders, evangelists, and lay workers chiefly responsible for laying the foundations and advancing the growth of Christian communities in Africa.
- The Genesis of Exodus: Violence, Poverty, and Social Disintegration: The Root Causes of Central American Migration, PC(USA)
An interactive online resource from the Office of the General Assembly, PC(USA) offering background information and tools to help Presbyterians and others understand and respond to immigration issues.
- Glenmary Research Center
Provides applied research to Glenmary leadership, individual missioners, Church leaders and the wider society
- Pew Forum in Religion & Public Life
The Pew Forum conducts surveys, demographic analyses and other social science research on important aspects of religion and public life in the U.S. and around the world. It also provides a neutral venue for discussions of timely issues through roundtables and briefings.
- Statistics, Reports and Articles
Includes Comparative Statistics, an annual report showing trends in areas such as membership gains and losses, receipts and expenditures, and number of ministers. From the Presbyterian Mission Agency, Presbyterian Church (USA)
- Students at New College, 1843-1943
A test service of Edinburgh University Archives Special Collections Centre for Research Collections
- Social Science Research Data Repositories
Databib is a tool for helping people identify and locate online repositories of research data. Users and bibliographers create and curate records that describe data repositories that users can search: http://databib.org/about.php