Biblical Studies: E-Resources
Church History: E-resources
Church in the World: E-resources
Theology: E-resources
This is the "Church History" page of the "Reference Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Princeton Theological Seminary logo
Subject guides for the Reference Collection at Princeton Theological Seminary Library
Last Updated: Jan 18, 2017 URL: http://ptsem.libguides.com/referenceguides Print Guide RSS Updates

Church History Print Page
  Search: 
 

Church History Guide

The Church History reference guide provides an overview of some basic resources. It is important to remember that specific call numbers appears in a range of numbers where similar subject matter can be found. Please take the time to browse; you may discover your own ideal go-to resource.

      
     

    Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church

    REF  BR 95 .093 2005

    Cover Art
    The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church - F. L. Cross (Editor); Elizabeth A. Livingstone
    ISBN: 9780192802903
    Publication Date: 2005-09-08

     

    Church History

     

    General surveys

    Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

    Cambridge History of Christianity BR 145.3 .C35 2006 v.1-9

    Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church BR 95 .093 2005***

    Realencyclopadie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft (Pauly-Wissowa-Kroll) 

    Brill’s New Pauly DE 5 .P33 – .P33313 (2002)

    Theologische Realenzyklopadie [=TRE] BR 95 .T4364 1977

     

    Primary Source Collections in translation

    Ante-Nicene, Nicene & Post-Nicene Fathers BR 60 .A4

    Classics of Western Spirituality [series] BL 70 .C52

    Library of Christian Classics [series] BR 45 .L52

    Luther’s Works    BR 330 .E5 1955

     

    Research Tools and Methods/Study Guides/Atlases


     


     

    Augsburg Historical Atlas of Christianity BR 98 .A52 1967

     

    PERIOD SOURCES

    Early Church/Patristic Period

    Encyclopedia of Early Christianity BR 162.2 .E53 1997***

    Patrology BR 67 .Q39 1992

    Patrologia Graeca/Latina BR 60 .M5311532***

    Byzantine, Medieval, and Renaissance Periods

    Cambridge Mediaeval History D 117 .C17 1966

    Dictionary of the Middle Ages D 114 .D55 1982 - 1988

    Encyclopedia of the Renaissance CB 351 .E52 1999 v. 1-6

    Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium DF 521 .093 1991***

    Women in the Middle Ages HQ 1143 .W643 2003 v. 1-2

    Reformation Period

    Calvin literature BR 301; BX 9418

    Luther literature BR 325

    Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation BR 302.8 .O93 1996***

     

    DENOMINATIONAL SOURCES

    Catholic (General)

    Decrees of the Ecumenical Councils BX 825 .A 1990

    Documents of Vatican II BX 830 .A3 G3 1989

    New Catholic Encyclopedia BX 841 .N44 2003

    The Papal Encyclicals BX 860 .A4 E5 1981

    Orthodox

    Dictionary of Greek Orthodoxy BX 230 .P37 1992

    The Orthodox Church: an introduction to its history, doctrine, and spiritual culture BX 320.3 M34 2008 (non-reference)

    Presbyterian/Reformed (American)

    Presb. Church: General Assembly Minutes (various years) BX 8952.1

    Book of Order [PCUSA] BX 8969.6 .P74

    Other

    International Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements BR 1644 .D53 2002

    The Baptists BX 6235 .B628 1988

     Charismatic Movement: A Guide BR 1644.5 .U6 J66 1995

    U.S. History (General)

    Churches and Church Membership in the U.S. BR 526 .C48 1992

    Encyclopedia of American Religious History BL 2525 .Q44 1996

    Handbook of Denominations BR 516.5 .M38 2010

     

    *** indicates the title is available electronically; PTS user name/password required

    Profile

    Profile Image
    Kate Skrebutenas Reference Librarian
    Contact Info
    Send Email

    Profile

    Virginia Dearborn, Web Services Librarian
    Contact Info
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip