On this page: Reference Services, Exhibitions, Loans, Bibliographic Instruction, and Requirements, Guidelines and Permission to Publish.
Special Collections promotes research and scholarship by encouraging the use of its collections. A variety of educational services are offered for students and scholars who are studying at Princeton Theological Seminary.
Reference Services
Special Collections provides standard reference services for scholars, researchers, and family historians. Visitors are encouraged to contact Special Collections prior to research visits.
- Contact Special Collections for general information about rare books, personal papers and manuscripts, the Archives of Princeton Theological Seminary, the Moffett Korea Collection, dissertations, and photographs.
- Contact the Center for Barth Studies, (609) 524-1981, for information about the Karl Barth Collection.
Special Collections complies with the access guidelines of the Society of American Archivists and users are required to follow standard access procedures and complete standard access forms during research visits.
For maps of and directions to the Princeton Theological Seminary campus, see Maps and Directions. If you are traveling from a great distance, you may contact the Erdman Center for information about local accommodations.
Exhibitions
Exhibitions of primary sources, contextual materials, and other items in Special Collections may be arranged for Seminary courses, seminars, workshops, or groups. They are usually scheduled 2-3 months in advance and are a collaborative effort between the class professor or group leader and Special Collections staff.
Past exhibitions include rare Bibles, publications related to the Reformation in Geneva, and items that document worship in the Reformed tradition.
Current public exhibits – both digital and physical – are listed here: Library Exhibits
Loans
Many items in Special Collections are available for class presentations and one-day loans may be arranged for Seminary classes or other Seminary events.
Bibliographic Instruction
Research tutorial sessions may be arranged for classes or groups of Seminary students in order to provide an orientation to basic concepts in research or subject-specific overviews of Special Collections resources.
Requirements, Guidelines and Permission to Publish
Identification and Registration
To gain access to Special Collections, researchers must present a valid photo I.D. (Student I.D., passport, U.S. driver's license, etc.) and complete a registration form upon arrival.