A digital library of over 150,000 resources on theology and religion. Developed in partnership with the Internet Archive, it contains books, journals, audio recordings, photographs, manuscripts, and other formats dating from 975 C.E. to the present.
Curates high quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, and stable public domain collections. Included in the current list of databases is Princeton Theological Seminary's Theological Commons digital library.
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
The Internet Archive provides digital versions of :
735 billion web pages
41 million books and texts
14.7 million audio recordings (including 240,000 live concerts)
8.4 million videos (including 2.4 million Television News programs)
4.4 million images
890,000 software programs
In-copyright books can be "borrowed" hourly after creating a free account.
Princeton Theological Seminary is a contributor.
Creating a Useful, Accessible, and Connected Theological Library
"Creating a Useful, Accessible, and Connected Theological Library" by Jeremy Wallace, in Collection Development in Theological Libraries: Abiding Principles and Emerging Practices. Edited by Carisse M. Berryhill. vol. 3., Chicago, IL, Chicago, IL, 2022.
The Theological Librarian's Handbook is a multi-volume guide to theological librarianship intended for library staff who do not possess professional training but nevertheless work in theological libraries all over the world. It provides a free and self-paced library training written by theological librarians working in different types of theological libraries and institutions.
Atla Open Press publishes open access books, journals, and other serials that cover subjects at the intersection of librarianship and religious and theological studies that potentially impact libraries, that guide and support innovative library services, that enhance professional development for religious studies and theological librarians, and that represent specialized topics of interest in religion and theology that are of relevance to the work of libraries in supporting the instructional and research activities of their institutions.
As a not-for-profit association of theological libraries and librarians, Atla understands the importance of supporting theological education throughout the world and has worked to make its products affordable for theological seminaries and schools in eligible developing countries. Atla works with EBSCO to offer institutions in countries designated developing by the World Bank, along with other related criteria, a generous discount on all Atla products and partner products.
The mission of the Global Digital Theological Library (GLDTL) is to make high quality digital content in religious studies available to academic institutions in the developing world in an economically feasible manner. The GLDTL seeks to accomplish this mission by licensing with publishers and vendors on behalf of these small institutions and creating one shared and professional managed, global library for their benefit.
Check out their Membership page if you are interested in joining the GLDTL.
Theological Book Network ships high-quality theological resources to under-resourced theological schools in Africa, Asia, Latin America, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East. Apply through their website.
The world's first free and open source library system. Koha is a fully featured, scalable library management system. Development is sponsored by libraries of varying types and sizes, volunteers, and support companies worldwide.
Another open-source library software different from Koha as it is server based, meaning that once you download the program internet access is not required. OpenBiblio is an easy to use, automated library system written in PHP containing OPAC, circulation, cataloging, and staff administration functionality.
LibraryThing helps you create and track a library-quality catalog of your media—books (along with movies and music) you own, have read, want to read, etc.
For small libraries like classrooms, community centers, and churches, we designed TinyCat, which turns your LibraryThing account into a simple, professional online catalog, ideal for patron browsing and circulation.
For big libraries, we offer LibraryThing for Libraries—OPAC enhancements that make your catalog more engaging and informative.
One of the ways that Wright Library serves scholars all over the world is by negotiating electronic access to some of its databases for alumni. The Seminary has 12,000 alumni, many of them serving outside of the United States. Their degree from Princeton Seminary allows them to have electronic access to an extensive collection of digital resources.
Other institutional research guides to theological resources