There are no access restrictions on these resources. If you have suggestions concerning resources that could be added to this list, please feel free to contact the reference librarian.
Last Updated: Jul 17, 2017
These are freely available recommended biblical studies resources on the Internet.
If you have suggestions concerning resources that could be added to this list, please feel free to
Index of Biblical Quotations and Allusions in Early Christian Literature (Best viewed with Firefox or Safari browsers)
- Bildi: Documentation for biblical literature Innsbruck
Searchable documentation on biblical and biblical-archaeological literature, published in articles, collected works and monographs; since 1990 partly with references to book reviews
- Digital Dead Sea Scrolls
The Israel Museum's the Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Project allows users to examine and explore these most ancient manuscripts from Second Temple times at a level of detail never before possible. Developed in partnership with Google, the new website gives users access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history. The Israel Museum has been home to the Dead Sea Scrolls since its opening in 1965.
- Gifford Lecture Series
One of the foremost lecture series dealing with religion, science and philosophy. The online Gifford Lectures database presents a comprehensive collection of books derived from the Gifford Lectures. In addition to the books, the Web site contains a biography of each lecturer and a summary of the lecture or book.
- Logeion (ΛΟΓΕΙΟΝ)
Logeion (literally, a place for words; in particular, a speaker's platform, or an archive) was developed after the example of dvlf.uchicago.edu, to provide simultaneous lookup of entries in the many reference works that make up the Perseus Classical collection. Includes the Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources as well as several other Greek and Latin dictionaries.
- New Testament Gateway
Directory of academic internet resources related to the New Testament compiled by Dr. Mark Goodacre, Associate Professor of Religion, Duke University
- Online Critical Pseudepigrapha
The mandate of the Online Critical Pseudepigrapha is to develop and publish electronic editions of the best critical texts of the "Old Testament" Pseudepigrapha and related literature.
- OnScript - Conversations on current biblical scholarship
OnScript is a podcast featuring author interviews about noteworthy recent releases in biblical studies. Hosted by Matthew Bates (Ph.D., University of Notre Dame) and Matthew Lynch (Ph.D., Emory University).
- Resource Page for Biblical Studies
Compiled by Torrey Seland, Professor of New Testament Studies, School of Mission and Theology, Norway
- Syriac Institute
Beth Mardutho seeks to promote the study and preservation of the Syriac heritage and language, and to facilitate opportunities for people to pursue the study of this ancient legacy globally. We aim to serve the academic community and the heirs of the heritage.
- Syriaca.org: The Syriac Reference Portal
This is "a collaborative research project publishling online reference works concerning the culture, history, and literature of Syriac communities from antiquity to the present. The online publications of Syriaca.org serve a broad scholarly audience including students of Middle Eastern studies, classics, medieval history, religious studies, biblical studies, and linguistics."
- Tyndale House | Online Resources
Resources for scholars and the church. Free resources include:
Unicode Fonts – Greek, Hebrew & Transliteration fonts and keyboards for PCs and Macs; Finding Sources – links to the best Biblical Studies and Theology sites and sources; Finding Books – links to the best bibliography databases and catalogues for online reading; Bible Software – links and introductions to the best tools for Biblical Studies, commercial and free; 2LetterLookup – a quick-click dictionary for Hebrew, Greek, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Latin …; Lexicons – full-text lexicons for Biblical Languages which are faster to use than paper; Tregelles Greek NT – a neglected influential and useful edition of the Greek New Testament; Tyndale Toolbar – find online books, read 70+ Bible versions, translation tools and much more
- Vetus Latina: Resources for the Study of the Old Latin Bible
Maintained by Hugh Houghton, Research Fellow, Institute for Textual Scholarship and Electronic Editing, University of Birmingham (UK)