Data from the published volumes of Biblia Patristica, Index des citations et allusions bibliques dans la littérature patristique, Editions du CNRS (ca. 270,000 biblical references, with updates on 5,000 references), prepared by the Centre for Patristics Analysis and Documentation (CADP) : 1. Beginnings to Clement of Alexandria and Tertullian, 1975 - 2. The third century (except Origen), 1977 - 3. Origen, 1980 - 4. Eusebius of Caesarea, Cyril of Jerusalem, Epiphanius of Salamis, 1987 - 5. Basil of Caesarea, Gregory Nazianzen, Gregory of Nyssa, Amphiloque of Iconium, 1991 - 6. Hilary of Poitiers, Ambrose of Milan, Ambrosiaster, 1995 - 7. Didymus of Alexandria, 2000 - Supplement, Philo of Alexandria, 1982. [They all are all out of print.]
- Unpublished data from the archives of Biblia Patristica (ca. 100,000 references) on Athanasius of Alexandria, John Chrysostom, Theodoret of Cyrus, Procopius of Gaza, Jerome: these data are unverified (they appear in red).
"The Bible continues to have a tremendous impact on history, literature, popular culture, and politics. And as you know, more often than not the Bible and the ancient world are misunderstood, misrepresented, and misused. With that in mind, in 2015 the Society of Biblical Literature launched the website Bible Odyssey, which provides free articles and videos that bridge the gap between the academy and the public in an effort to increase biblical literacy and, frankly, to make biblical studies fun." John F. Kutsko, Executive Director, SBL
Texts from the Carolingian era to the end of the Middle Ages. It also includes works absent from Migne’s Patrologia Latina. Includes a complete transcription (by Princeton Seminary Professor Emeritus Karlfried Froehlich) of the commentary on the Pauline Epistles by Gilbert of Poitiers (ca 1080-1154) from MS Zwettl 58, together with an Introduction.
The Israel Museum's the Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Project allows users to examine and explore these most ancient manuscripts from Second Temple times at a level of detail never before possible. Developed in partnership with Google, the new website gives users access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history. The Israel Museum has been home to the Dead Sea Scrolls since its opening in 1965.
One of the foremost lecture series dealing with religion, science and philosophy. The online Gifford Lectures database presents a comprehensive collection of books derived from the Gifford Lectures. In addition to the books, the Web site contains a biography of each lecturer and a summary of the lecture or book.
From Professor Emeritus Karlfried Froehlich of Princeton Seminary and Dr. Mark Zier (Mediaeval Studies License, PIMS; Ph.D., University of Toronto). Parallels the PDF file Codices Glossae in apparatibus allegati (GLOSSEM). While there is some overlap between the two inventories, it would be worth the time to consult both in pursuing research on the Glossa Ordinaria.
Logeion (literally, a place for words; in particular, a speaker's platform, or an archive) was developed after the example of dvlf.uchicago.edu, to provide simultaneous lookup of entries in the many reference works that make up the Perseus Classical collection. Includes the Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources as well as several other Greek and Latin dictionaries.
OnScript is a podcast featuring author interviews about noteworthy recent releases in biblical studies. Hosted by Matthew Bates (Ph.D., University of Notre Dame) and Matthew Lynch (Ph.D., Emory University).
Beth Mardutho: The Syriac Institute seeks to promote the study and preservation of the Syriac heritage and language, and to facilitate opportunities for people to pursue the study of this ancient legacy globally. We aim to serve the academic community and the heirs of the heritage.
This is "a collaborative research project publishling online reference works concerning the culture, history, and literature of Syriac communities from antiquity to the present. The online publications of Syriaca.org serve a broad scholarly audience including students of Middle Eastern studies, classics, medieval history, religious studies, biblical studies, and linguistics."
Resources for scholars and the church. Free resources include:
Unicode Fonts – Greek, Hebrew & Transliteration fonts and keyboards for PCs and Macs; Finding Sources – links to the best Biblical Studies and Theology sites and sources; Finding Books – links to the best bibliography databases and catalogues for online reading; Bible Software – links and introductions to the best tools for Biblical Studies, commercial and free; 2LetterLookup – a quick-click dictionary for Hebrew, Greek, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Latin …; Lexicons – full-text lexicons for Biblical Languages which are faster to use than paper; Tregelles Greek NT – a neglected influential and useful edition of the Greek New Testament; Tyndale Toolbar – find online books, read 70+ Bible versions, translation tools and much more
Tyndale House is a study centre focusing on advancing understanding of the Bible. Between forty and fifty scholars study here on a daily basis. Many PhD students from Cambridge University as well as other universities base themselves at Tyndale House during their studies and leading biblical scholars in all parts of the world have been formed at Tyndale House.