LibGuides: Freely Available Online Resources: Freely Available Online Resources (A-Z)

Have you explored this free resource?

(Not seeing a link above? Try refreshing/reloading the page.)

Recommended, freely available online resources (A-Z)

Note: Although the Open Access logo displays next to some links, all of the links in this guide are open access.

2017 JBL Forum on Black Lives Matter for Critical Biblical Scholarship
The 2017 JBL Forum on Black Lives Matter for Critical Biblical Scholarship is available
for free download here, beginning on page 203

A

Abraham Kuyper Bibliography
This classified bibliography of works about Abraham Kuyper currently contains over 1,400 records compiled by the staff of the Princeton Theological Seminary (now Theodore Sedgwick Wright) Library and the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, assisted by Kuyper scholars worldwide.
more...less...
To discover other digital collections at the Wright Library, visit https://library.ptsem.edu/digital-collections-overview
The African American Lectionary
Intended as a resource that, among other things, sheds new light on the liturgical moments of significance to most African American Christians.
African American Literature in the Humanities Commons
An open access collection in CORE. Learn more about CORE, Commons Open Repository Exchange, a library-quality repository for sharing, discovering, retrieving, and archiving digital work. https://hcommons.org/core/what-is-core/
more...less...
Humanities Commons is a trusted, nonprofit network where humanities scholars can create a professional profile, discuss common interests, develop new publications, and share their work. The Humanities Commons network is open to anyone.
The Albert Cook Outler Papers: Online Exhibition
The Albert Cook Outler Papers comprise the largest and one of the most significant archival collections at Bridwell Library, Perkins School of Theology, SMU. Dr. Outler (1908-1989) was a world-renowned theologian and Wesley scholar. Through this exhibition Bridwell Library is bringing Albert Outler’s intellectual legacy to the attention of a new generation of scholars and church leaders.
American Doctoral Dissertations (EBSCO Open Access)
A free resource, accessible to all researchers, that includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 70,000 citations for theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.
more...less...
The citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed such as OhioLINK, Rochester Institute of Technology and North Carolina State University.
Ancient World Online
"The primary focus of the project is notice and comment on open access material relating to the ancient world, but I will also include other kinds of networked information as it comes available." Project of Charles E. Jones, Tombros Librarian for Classics and Humanities at the Pattee Library, Penn State University.
more...less...
"AWOL began with a series of entries under the heading AWOL on the Ancient World Bloggers Group Blog. I moved it to its own space here beginning in 2009. The ancient world is conceived here as it is at the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at New York University, my academic home at the time AWOL was launched. That is, from the Pillars of Hercules to the Pacific, from the beginnings of human habitation to the late antique / early Islamic period."

Anti-Racism Digital Library
"The Anti-racism Digital Library serves as a clearinghouse for information resources about people, groups, and projects who are building inclusive and caring communities. Anti-racism can be defined as some form of focused and sustained action, which includes inter-cultural, inter-faith, multi-lingual and inter-abled (i.e. differently abled) communities with the intent to change a system or an institutional policy, practice, or procedure which has racist effects." Founded and curated by Dr. Anita Coleman, "a PC(USA) anti-racism facilitator, ordained Deacon, contemplative, and lay theologian who teaches Bible Studies integrated with the practice of mindfulness."

Antiracism Formation | Princeton Theological Seminary
A list of educational resources (books, articles, podcasts, webinars, and videos) is available on this microsite and will continue to be updated as new resources are made available.
Archive for Experiential Theology (Humanities Commons site)
We archive and curate significant writings about the relation between human experience and knowledge of God. Theology, we hold, ought to rest upon and draw our attention toward an experiential foundation. Various writers have explored this theme. We aim to collect, share, and occasionally typeset their best writing, especially writing that has entered the public domain. Authors include Brunner, Bushnell, Coffin, Dale, Farmer, Forrest, Forsyth, Garnett, Glover, Herrmann, King, Mackintosh, Oman, Simpson, Stearns and Stewart.
more...less...
This site is part of Humanities Commons. Explore other sites on this network or register to build your own.
ArchiveGrid
Includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Art and Faith Matters
"Art & Faith Matters provides ready-made and bespoke resources for congregations and individuals seeking to use the arts to enrich and express their faith. When the arts are part of a faithful life - corporately and/or individually - they remind us that God's first act in Hebrew scripture is to create. In Christian scripture Jesus uses the ordinary things of this world to express truths about God and God's ultimate reign."
Art in the Christian Tradition
A freely available, regularly updated visual image internet resource. Designed for scholars, students, pastors, and religious educators, all of the images may be used for educational and/or religious non-profit purposes. - From the Vanderbilt Divinity Library

ARTSTOR: Open Access to Public Collections
~1.3 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, plus hundreds of thousands of open access images from partner museums.
About Public Access to ARTSTOR | (via ARTSTOR blog) More than 1 million images now publicly available

Atla Websites on Religion LibGuide
The Atla Websites on Religion LibGuide is a growing, selective, annotated collection of web resources for the study of religion.

B

Barna Group
Offers a range of customized research, resources and training to serve churches, non-profits, businesses and leaders
Being Church in the Time of COVID
A podcast from Princeton Theological Seminary, Being Church in the Time of COVID seeks to tell the stories of what it was like being the church during the pandemic of 2020.
Bible Odyssey
"The Bible continues to have a tremendous impact on history, literature, popular culture, and politics. And as you know, more often than not the Bible and the ancient world are misunderstood, misrepresented, and misused. With that in mind, in 2015 the Society of Biblical Literature launched the website Bible Odyssey, which provides free articles and videos that bridge the gap between the academy and the public in an effort to increase biblical literacy and, frankly, to make biblical studies fun." John F. Kutsko, Executive Director, SBL
Bible Suite: Online Bible, Concordance, Topical, Strong's, Greek & Hebrew
Parallel translations, lessons, commentaries and other resources from the Online Parallel Bible Project
Biblindex
Index of Biblical Quotations and Allusions in Early Christian Literature (Best viewed with Firefox or Safari browsers)
more...less...
Data from the published volumes of Biblia Patristica, Index des citations et allusions bibliques dans la littérature patristique, Editions du CNRS (ca. 270,000 biblical references, with updates on 5,000 references), prepared by the Centre for Patristics Analysis and Documentation (CADP) : 1. Beginnings to Clement of Alexandria and Tertullian, 1975 - 2. The third century (except Origen), 1977 - 3. Origen, 1980 - 4. Eusebius of Caesarea, Cyril of Jerusalem, Epiphanius of Salamis, 1987 - 5. Basil of Caesarea, Gregory Nazianzen, Gregory of Nyssa, Amphiloque of Iconium, 1991 - 6. Hilary of Poitiers, Ambrose of Milan, Ambrosiaster, 1995 - 7. Didymus of Alexandria, 2000 - Supplement, Philo of Alexandria, 1982. [They all are all out of print.]
- Unpublished data from the archives of Biblia Patristica (ca. 100,000 references) on Athanasius of Alexandria, John Chrysostom, Theodoret of Cyrus, Procopius of Gaza, Jerome: these data are unverified (they appear in red).
Bildi: Documentation for biblical literature Innsbruck
Searchable documentation on biblical and biblical-archaeological literature, published in articles, collected works and monographs; since 1990 partly with references to book reviews
Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Christianity
"...an electronic database containing the essential biographical facts of Chinese and foreign Christian missionaries, church leaders, evangelists, and laity chiefly responsible for laying the foundations and advancing the growth of Chinese Christian communities and their influence in societies around the world. While the database is widely inclusive of time periods and faith traditions, the distinctive focus of the project is on the lesser-known Chinese Christians of the modern era (1800 to 1950)."
Books@Atla Open Press
"Books@Atla Open Press publishes open access works on subjects at the intersection of librarianship and religious and theological studies that potentially impact libraries."
The Boston College Jesuit Bibliography
The Boston College Jesuit Bibliography
The New Sommervogel Online (NSO)
Edited by: Robert A. Maryks, Boston College
This comprehensive online bibliography covers books, book chapters, journal articles and book reviews pertaining to the exponentially growing field of Jesuit Studies. In addition to basic bibliographic information, entries include (English) abstracts, detailed subject headings, direct links to items available in electronic format where available, and a link to an item’s WorldCat entry.
more...less...
The Jesuit Online Bibliography will be available in February 2019 at jesuitonlinebibliography.com.
Brill Open E-Book Collection
Open Access (free) eBooks from Brill
British Library 19th Century Collection (BL)
This collection was made open access in January 2021. It contains digitized versions of more than 65,000 out-of-copyright editions from the 19th century, spanning the years 1789-1914, and covering a variety of subjects including philosophy and church history. More details about the digitization project
British Library: Digitised Manuscripts
"Use this website to view digitised copies of manuscripts and archives in the British Library’s collections, with descriptions of their contents. Explore the Library's latest major acquisition, the St Cuthbert Gospel. Some other highlights include the Harley Golden Gospels, Beowulf, the Silos Apocalypse, Leonardo da Vinci’s Notebook, the Petit Livre d’Amour and the Golf Book."

British National Bibliography
Lists books and new journals published or distributed in the United Kingdom and Ireland since 1950, as well as forthcoming books. Records for publications in electronic format, such as e-books, PDFs, CD-ROMs, DVDs, which contain data primarily in the form of text and charts are included, subject to exclusions.

Building Knowledge, Breaking Barriers Student Exhibit
From 2019 into 2021, eight current and former Community College of Philadelphia students worked collaboratively with two professional exhibitors, a project videographer, and three Presbyterian Historical Society staff members to reveal parts of the PHS archive that meant the most to them. The exhibit team’s work occurred against a backdrop of historic events that archives like PHS will document for decades to come: Covid-19 and the nationwide protests for racial justice.

C

Cambridge Digital Library - Christian Works
In this selection University of Cambridge presents some of its library's finest Christian manuscripts and early printed books, spanning over 1000 years of worship and debate and reflecting both Church ceremonial and private devotion.
Charleston Syllabus, African American Intellectual History Society
"a list of readings that educators can use to broach conversations in the classroom about the horrendous events that unfolded in Charleston, South Carolina on the evening of June 17, 2015. These readings provide valuable information about the history of racial violence in this country and contextualize the history of race relations in South Carolina and the United States in general. They also offer insights on race, racial identities, global white supremacy and black resistance. All readings are arranged by date of publication. This list is not meant to be exhaustive–you will find omissions. Please check out #Charlestonsyllabus and the Goodreads List for additional reading suggestions."
more...less...
"#Charlestonsyllabus was conceived by Chad Williams (@Dr_ChadWilliams), Associate Professor of African and Afro-American Studies at Brandeis University. With the help of Kidada Williams (@KidadaEWilliams), the hashtag started trending on Twitter on the evening of June 19, 2015. The following list was compiled and organized by AAIHS blogger Keisha N. Blain (@KeishaBlain) with the assistance of Melissa Morrone (@InfAgit), Ryan P. Randall (@foureyedsoul), and Cecily Walker (@skeskali). Special thanks to everyone who contributed suggestions via Twitter."
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Freely available translations of classic Christian literature including John Calvin's commentaries and patristic texts. The mission of the CCEL is to build up the church by making classic Christian writings available and promoting their use.
Christian Educators of the 20th Century Project
"The 'Christian Educators of the 20th Century Project' is an effort to pull together information on influential Protestant, Orthodox and Roman Catholic Christian/religious education leaders of the 20th century and make it available to people all over the world for research and as a reference work." http://www.talbot.edu/ce20/about
more...less...
"It is a web-based database providing biographical and bibliographical information on these leaders to assist others in understanding the development of Christian religious education in North America over this past century. The project covers approximately 160 Protestant, Roman Catholic and Orthodox, who have helped shape Christian/religious education since the founding of the Religious Education Association in 1903."
Christian Reflection Project
The online home of Christian Reflection: A Series in Faith and Ethics, which is published by The Institute for Faith and Learning at Baylor University. Christian Reflection offers reliable guidance in engaging the ethical dimensions of today's world. Its themed articles, inspirational pieces, book reviews, interviews, Christian art, liturgies, and hymns help the Church reintegrate Christian ethical reflection, worship, and art. Free study guides are available on this website to enrich personal or group study.
Church Trends
In addition to congregational information, Church Trends contains statistics on mid councils and the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) as a whole.
Classical Language Toolkit
"The Classical Language Toolkit (CLTK) offers natural language processing support for Classical languages. In some areas, it extends the NLTK. The goals of the Classical Language Toolkit (CLTK) are to: compile analysis-friendly corpora in a variety of Classical languages (currently available for Chinese, Coptic, Greek, Latin, Pali, and Tibetan); gather, improve, and generate linguistic data required for NLP (Greek and Latin are in progress, with more in the pipeline); develop a free and open platform for generating reproducible, scientific research that advances the study of the languages and literatures of the ancient world."
Codex Sinaiticus
The Codex Sinaiticus Project is an international collaboration to reunite the entire manuscript in digital form and make it accessible to a global audience for the first time. Drawing on the expertise of leading scholars, conservators and curators, the Project gives everyone the opportunity to connect directly with this famous manuscript.

Complete Works of John Calvin
Large collection of Reformation writings including but not limited to the collected works of John Calvin. CUNITZ, Edouard, BAUM, Johann-Wilhelm, REUSS, Eduard Wilhelm Eugen, (eds.). Joannis Calvini opera quae supersunt omnia. Brunsvigae : C.A. Schwetschke, 1863. Series also available in print.

Continuatio Mediaevalis | Corpus Christianorum
Texts from the Carolingian era to the end of the Middle Ages. It also includes works absent from Migne’s Patrologia Latina. Includes a complete transcription (by Princeton Seminary Professor Emeritus Karlfried Froehlich) of the commentary on the Pauline Epistles by Gilbert of Poitiers (ca 1080-1154) from MS Zwettl 58, together with an Introduction.
Conversations with Craig Barnes (YouTube playlist)
In this six-part video series, former Princeton Seminary President M. Craig Barnes engages faculty and distinguished guests in conversation about their work, theological education, and the mission of the church.
Conversations with Leaders on the COVID-19 Crisis: Part I (recording)
Recorded March 26, 2020

Panelists:
Charlene Han Powell, MDiv '09, executive pastor, Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church (New York, NY)
Don Lincoln, MDiv '80, lead pastor, Westminster Presbyterian Church (West Chester, PA), Seminary Board member
Ryan Timpte, MDiv/MACEF '10, director of children's ministry, Lafayette-Orinda Presbyterian Church (Lafayette, CA)
Mia Chang, lead pastor, NextGen Church (West Windsor, NJ)
Maureen Gerald, MDiv '06, executive pastor, Shiloh Baptist Church (Trenton, NJ); clinical social worker and spiritual director, Momentum Counseling, Coaching, and Consulting
Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative
A repository of digital resources contributed by American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools member libraries made possible by the Henry Luce Foundation. This collection is now part of the Atla Digital Library.
Correspondence of the Swiss Reformer Heinrich Bullinger (1504-1575)
Searchable, online edition, from the Institut für Schweizerische Reformationsgeschichte
Library Hub Discover (formerly COPAC)
Access to details of materials held in many UK national, academic and specialist libraries.
Library Hub Discover contains 41.5M+ records created from 102,915,589 records contributed by 137 institutions.
Corpus Christianorum
This project produces critical editions of texts (primarily Latin and Greek texts) by Christian authors from Late Antiquity through the Middle Ages. Included in this work is Continuatio Mediaevalis, also linked in this guide.
Corpus Corporum
A Latin text (meta-)repository and tool under way of development. Users should take into account that many functions do not yet work satisfactorily. This Corpus Córporum is being developed at the University of Zurich under the direction of Ph. Roelli, Institute of Medieval Latin Studies. About Corpus Córporum. Of particular note is the searchable Patrologia Latina.
Corpus Thomisticum
The Corpus Thomisticum project aims to provide scholars with a set of instruments of research on Thomas Aquinas, freely available via Internet.
Cult of Saints in Late Antiquity Database
"The Cult of Saints in Late Antiquity database is making readily accessible and searchable as much as possible of the early evidence for the cult of Christian saints (up to around AD 700), with key texts presented in their original language, all with English translation and brief contextual commentary....The Cult of Saints in Late Antiquity database is one of the results of a major project funded by the European Research Council (under Grant Agreement Number 340540) and based primarily at the University of Oxford, with substantial collaboration from the University of Warsaw and further collaboration from the University of Reading. For further information: http://cultofsaints.history.ox.ac.uk/"

Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative
Cuneiform inscriptions dating from the beginning of writing, ca. 3350 BC, until the end of the pre-Christian era. Data set consists of text and image, combining document transliterations, text glossaries and digitized originals and photo archives of cuneiform. A joint project of the University of California, Los Angeles, the University of Oxford, and the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin.
Terms of Use: https://cdli.ucla.edu/?q=terms-of-use Support for the project has been generously provided by the Mellon Foundation, the NSF, the NEH, the IMLS, and by the MPS, Oxford and UCLA; network services are from UCLA’s Center for Digital Humanities.

Wright Library Curated Bibliographies
Includes Biblical Studies Faculty Recommended Commentaries & Monographs; plus recorded lectures and suggested reading from the book/e-book collection on topics including Lent, Holy Week and Easter; Food Justice; Self-care; Antiracism and more.

D

Dictionary of African Christian Biography
An international undertaking aimed at producing an electronic database containing the essential biographical facts of African Christian leaders, evangelists, and lay workers chiefly responsible for laying the foundations and advancing the growth of Christian communities in Africa.
Digital Archive of Lancaster Theological Seminary
The Digital Archive of Lancaster Theological Seminary (Lancaster, PA) in partnership with the Mercersburg Society and the Evangelical and Reformed Historical Society

Digital Collections at Princeton Theological Seminary
Freely available collections developed and curated by the Digital Collections team at Wright Library. Theological Commons digital library includes: Princeton Theological Seminary Journals, The Benson Collection of Hymnals and Hymnology, The Earl Palmer Collection, The James R. Tanis Collection of Church Postcards, The Latin America Collection, The Missionary Research Library Pamphlets, The Moffett Korea Collection, The Payne Theological Seminary and A.M.E. Church Archive, The Princeton Theological Seminary Journals, the Princeton Theological Seminary Media Archive, and The T.F. Torrance Collection of Antiquarian Books, among others
Digital Collections at Princeton Theological Seminary (Summon Search)
Use this link to view these items as search results in Summon.

Digital Dead Sea Scrolls
The Israel Museum's the Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Project allows users to examine and explore these most ancient manuscripts from Second Temple times at a level of detail never before possible. Developed in partnership with Google, the new website gives users access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history. The Israel Museum has been home to the Dead Sea Scrolls since its opening in 1965.
Collections and Exhibits
Collections and Exhibits at Wright Library

Digital Lending at Wright Library
Through its digitization partnership with Internet Archive, Wright Library has digitized books for online access that previously could only be checked out in person. These books can be borrowed digitally by one person at a time, for a limited time period. Use the link above to find all such digitized books, and visit Borrowing from the Lending Library, https://help.archive.org/help/borrowing-from-the-lending-library/, for more information.

Digital Library of Abraham Kuyper
The Digital Library of Abraham Kuyper contains Kuyper's complete archive (over 100,000 pages), along with a comprehensive collection of his published works. This project has been developed in cooperation with the Historical Documentation Centre for Dutch Protestantism at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, where the physical archive is housed.
more...less...
To discover other digital collections at Princeton Theological Seminary Library, visit https://library.ptsem.edu/digital-collections-overview
Digital Scriptorium
An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research
Digital South Asia Library
Participants include leading U.S. universities, the Center for Research Libraries, the South Asia Microform Project, the Committee on South Asian Libraries and Documentation, the Association for Asian Studies, the Library of Congress, the Asia Society, the British Library, the University of Oxford, the University of Cambridge, MOZHI in India, the Sundarayya Vignana Kendram in India, Madan Puraskar Pustakalaya in Nepal, and other institutions in South Asia.
Directory of Open Access Books (Religion)
The Directory of Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation. The OAPEN Foundation is an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Includes journals belonging to the subject of religion
Disability, Religion and Spirituality Database
From L'Arche Syracuse, Baylor University, The Wabash Center and The Institute for Disability and Theology, a database of 4,500+ records searchable by keyword, religious tradition, disability type and publication type (art, blog, book, documentary, film, journal article, movie, music, pamphlet, podcast, video and website).
Diverse Voices: Hashtags & Links | Curated Bibliographies
Duke University Chapel: Sermon, Bulletin & Service Archive
Sermons and bulletins for the Sunday, 11:00 a.m. service of worship in Duke University Chapel are posted each week, along with a video link to the service and, as available, a downloadable copy of the sermon.

E

Earl Palmer Collection | Theological Commons
This collection preserves articles, newsletters, essays, transcripts, study guides, poems, lectures, commentaries and more representing sixty-four years of ministry in digital format with audio and video recordings of sermons and seminars plus selected writings by Reverend Earl F. Palmer, Class of 1956.
Events and podcasts | The Institute for Youth Ministry
Resources from The Institute for Youth Ministry at Princeton Theological Seminary
Everett Ferguson Photo Collection (Early Christianity)
"Images include those of early Christian churches, basilicas and cathedrals as well as images of modern and ancient cities and archaeological sites in Israel, Turkey, Greece, ancient Rome, and throughout Europe. The objects photographed are from exhibits at the British Museum, the Ashmolean, the Louvre and other prominent museums of Europe and the Mediterranean countries."
more...less...
"Dr. Ferguson is former president of the North American Patristics Society and a member of the councils of the American Society of Church History and the Association Internationale D’Etudes Partistiques."

F

Facing Racism: A Vision of the Intercultural Community Churchwide Anitracism Policy, PC(USA)
As part of an ongoing campaign to address racial injustice, the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) is sharing a wealth of antiracism resources — including studies, books and training — to equip the greater church to work against racism.
Family Tree of Presbyterian Denominations
From the Presbyterian Historical Society, the story of Presbyterians in America, of immigrant believers, revival, schism and union, from the first Presbytery to the present.
Free Public Domain Ebooks and Audio Books
25 sources of free public domain books (ebooks and audio books) from Ebook Friendly, a site "founded and designed by Piotr Kowalczyk, self-publisher, author of short stories for geeks and an enthusiast of ebooks and digital reading."
http://ebookfriendly.com/about/

Freedom on the Move : Rediscovering the Stories of Self-Liberating People
Database of fugitives from North American slavery. Joint effort of Cornell University, Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research, Cornell University Library, The University of Alabama, The University of New Orleans, University of Kentucky and The Ohio State University.

G

Genesis of Exodus: Violence, Poverty, and Social Disintegration: The Root Causes of Central American Migration, The, PC(USA)
An interactive online resource from the Office of the General Assembly, PC(USA) offering background information and tools to help Presbyterians and others understand and respond to immigration issues.
more...less...
New interactive resource explores root causes of immigration: http://www.pcusa.org/news/2017/6/13/new-interactive-resource-explores-root-causes-immi
Getty Images
The Getty collection of images are now available for embedding for free. Good idea to read Brandom's article – especially the part about link rot – prior to checking out the site.
Gifford Lecture Series
One of the foremost lecture series dealing with religion, science and philosophy. The online Gifford Lectures database presents a comprehensive collection of books derived from the Gifford Lectures. In addition to the books, the Web site contains a biography of each lecturer and a summary of the lecture or book.
Glenmary Research Center
Provides applied research to Glenmary leadership, individual missioners, Church leaders and the wider society
GlossaOrdinaria.net: Handlist of Mediaeval Manuscripts of the Glossa Ordinaria on the Bible
From Professor Emeritus Karlfried Froehlich of Princeton Seminary and Dr. Mark Zier (Mediaeval Studies License, PIMS; Ph.D., University of Toronto). Parallels the PDF file Codices Glossae in apparatibus allegati (GLOSSEM). While there is some overlap between the two inventories, it would be worth the time to consult both in pursuing research on the Glossa Ordinaria.
Glottolog
A comprehensive, open access database of reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages.
The Grand Itinerant - George Whitefield at 300: Digital Exhibit
A key figure in colonial America's religious Great Awakening, George Whitefield, 1714-1770, preached to huge crowds held spellbound by his dramatic oratory. He is considered by many to have been a master at merging the sacred with the temporal, bringing his message of spiritual renewal to the marketplace. His was an agile ministry that moved outside when indoor gatherings grew perilous. Data driven, he collected and touted participation metrics to the local press. Special Collections at the Theodore Sedgwick Wright Library holds several items pertaining to Whitefield's ministry, including his hand-written journal dating 1744-1746. This exhibit was curated by former Princeton Theological Seminary Digital Archivist Jackie Rider.
Guide to Early Church Documents
Guide to freely-available online resources relating to the early church, including canonical documents, creeds, the writings of the Apostolic Fathers and other historical texts relevant to church history.
Guides to Manuscript Collections
A searchable database of over 200 guides to manuscripts located in Special Collections at the Theodore Sedgwick Wright Library.
more...less...
To discover other digital collections at the Theodore Sedgwick Wright Library, visit https://library.ptsem.edu/digital-collections-overview

H

Handbook of Latin American Studies Online (HLAS)
A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
Harvard Memorial Church: Sunday Sermons on SoundCloud
Sermons preached on Sunday in The Harvard Memorial Church during the academic year
Hekman Library Sermon Index (HLSI)
HLSI dentifies sermons contained in books owned by the Hekman Library, and sermons from the CRC periodical, The Living Word. At present the database includes sermons published in books since 1995, and published in The Living Word from 1990-2001. From Calvin College
Humanities and Social Science Research Data Repositories
re3data.org is a tool for helping people identify and locate online repositories of research data. Users and bibliographers create and curate records that describe data repositories that users can search: https://www.re3data.org
Humanities Commons
Discover the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials, make interdisciplinary connections, build a WordPress Web site, and increase the impact of your work by sharing it in the repository.
more...less...
A scholarly communication network from the MLA (Modern Language Association) for people working in the humanities.

I

Imagining Church
Princeton Theological Seminary received a 3-year grant from the Lilly Endowment, Inc. Thriving Congregations Initiative 2019 to establish the “Imagining Church” project. In the first phase, digital ethnography was undertaken to develop portraits of 23 thriving congregations from among a variety of candidates recommended by denominational leaders and fellow ecclesial researchers.
In the Meantime
A blog about faith and preaching from the Rev. Dr. David J. Lose.
Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (RAMBI)
A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.

Index of Medieval Art
Largest database of medieval art in existence with full-text records for over 23,000 works of art dating from early apostolic times to A.D. 1400. Each work, depending on the medium can have up to fifty different classification fields, including data such as location/ownership, date, school, style, etc. The subject matter of each work is classified under one or more of the 27,165 subject terms developed over eighty-five years by the Index and a full-text description accompanies each work. Access to the Index of Medieval Art Database Will Become Free on July 1, 2023

Index Theologicus
An index of published literature from journals and Festschriften in Theology and Religious Studies from around the world. It uses as its base the literature which the Tübingen University Library acquires within the scope of its special collection in Theology and General and Comparative Religious Studies, as part of its commission and with support from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).
IndoChina1911
This digital library contains hundreds of historical documents pertaining to the Body of Christ in Indochina over the past 100 years.
Intellectual Property Standards and Guidelines | The College Art Association
Image sources and rights clearance agencies
International Mission Board Archives
Digitized assets include periodicals, correspondence, board minutes, and annual reports. The mission of the Archives and Records of the International Mission Board is to identify, organize, and preserve information that details the Southern Baptist international missions experience.
International Mission Photography Archive (IMPA)
"The historical images in the International Mission Photography Archive come from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections held at a number of centers in Britain, Europe, and North America." Part of the USC Digital Library
Internet Archive Book Images (Public Domain)
The Internet Archive processed more than 2 million volumes from its digital archive, compiling more than 14 million high resolution images spanning nearly every topic imaginable. Each image includes detailed descriptions, including the subject tags of the book it came from and the text immediately surrounding it on the page. The latter is especially powerful, as it allows to keyword search 500 years of images, instantly accessing particular topics or themes.
more...less...
Click here for information

J

Jonathan Edwards
A digital learning environment for research, education and publication, that presents all of Edwards’s writings, along with helpful editorial materials - From the Jonathan Edwards Center at Yale University
JSTOR eBooks: Open Access
Freely available ebooks for anyone in the world to use. Each ebook carries one of six Creative Commons licenses determined by the publisher. An initial set of titles is available from four publishers: University of California Press, University of Michigan Press, UCL Press, and Cornell University Press. JSTOR expects to add many more titles.

K

Karl Barth Resource Guide | Center for Barth Studies
Published November 9, 2021. Provided by the Center for Barth Studies at Princeton Theological Seminary
Koran in English
This is an electronic version of The Holy Qur'an, translated by M.H. Shakir and published by Tahrike Tarsile Qur'an, Inc., in 1983. The text was provided by the Online Book Initiative and subsequently marked up at the HTI in SGML.
Ktiv, the International Collection of Digitized Hebrew Manuscripts
The vision of the International Collection of Digitized Hebrew Manuscripts is to allow readers across the globe to access the complete corpus of existing Hebrew manuscripts. Founded by The National Library of Israel in partnership with The Friedberg Jewish Manuscript Society.

L

Lexikon zur byzantinischen Gräzität
Foremost lexicographical resource in Byzantine Studies mainly covering the period from the 4th to the 15th century A.D. taken from more than 3,000 texts. This online version of the LBG is the result of the collaboration between the Lexikon zur byzantinischen Gräzität published by the Austrian Academy of Sciences (Die Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften) and the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) at the University of California, Irvine.

Logeion (ΛΟΓΕΙΟΝ)
Logeion (literally, a place for words; in particular, a speaker's platform, or an archive) was developed after the example of dvlf.uchicago.edu, to provide simultaneous lookup of entries in the many reference works that make up the Perseus Classical collection. Includes the Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources as well as several other Greek and Latin dictionaries.

M

Metropolitan Museum Timeline of Art History
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum's collection made possible by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund
Metropolitan Museum: The Collection Online, digital images
"The Metropolitan Museum of Art has released a vast archive of 400,000 (mostly) hi-resolution digital images online that you can download and use for non-commercial purposes. From a 12-megapixel scan of Rembrandt's 1660 self-portrait to over 18,000 photos spanning almost two centuries." --Christopher Jobson
more...less...
https://www.metmuseum.org/about-the-met/policies-and-documents/image-resources
Ministry Matters
Developed by the United Methodist Publishing House of Nashville, TN and launched in 2011, Ministry Matters contains resources for church leaders and tools to facilitate collaboration. According to the creators, it is “a magazine, a reference library, and a social network.” Many of the resources are freely available, while others are available to authorized users only.
Missions and World Christianity Research Guide
From Yale University Library

Monastic Manuscript Project
Descriptions of manuscripts that contain texts relevant for the study of early medieval monasticism, especially monastic rules, ascetic treatises, vitae patrum-texts and texts related to monastic reforms. Lists of manuscripts for each of these texts are linked to manuscript descriptions.
Supported by the Institute for Research in the Humanities, Copyright Albrecht Diem & Will May

N

O

Online Critical Pseudepigrapha
The mandate of the Online Critical Pseudepigrapha is to develop and publish electronic editions of the best critical texts of the "Old Testament" Pseudepigrapha and related literature.
Online Trainings and Exam Prep (PCUSA)
Examination preparation tools and related resources from the Office of Preparation for Ministry/Examinations of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)
OnScript - Conversations on current biblical scholarship
OnScript is a podcast featuring author interviews about noteworthy recent releases in biblical studies. Hosted by Matthew Bates (Ph.D., University of Notre Dame) and Matthew Lynch (Ph.D., Emory University).
more...less...
https://onscript.study/about-matt-and-matt/

Open Access Digital Theological Library
Curates high quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, and stable public domain collections.

Open Access Resources in the Databases A-Z List
The Open Access Digital Theology Library and more
Oxford Dictionaries (Free account)
This resource includes English dictionary and thesaurus, grammar tips and usage guidance, spoken audio pronunciations, and more.

P

Papyri.info
Includes some of the papyri held by Princeton Theological Seminary. The Papyrological Navigator (PN) supports searching, browsing, and aggregation of ancient papyrological documents and related materials; while the Papyrological Editor (PE) enables multi-author, version controlled, peer reviewed scholarly curation of papyrological texts, translations, commentary, scholarly metadata, institutional catalog records, bibliography, and images. Partners include APIS, DDbDP, HGV, BP, Trismegistos and APD
Parvum lexicon stemmatologicum
A "scholarly digital resource providing explanations for technical terms related to stemmatology, a discipline of classical and mediaeval philology aiming at understanding the historical evolution of textual traditions."
Patrologia Latina
PAVONe - Platform of the Arabic Versions of the New Testament
"PAVONe is an online database comprising a corpus of digitized and transcribed Arabic manuscripts of the four Gospels copied between the 9th and 19th centuries. The corpus includes the verses of the Gospels transmitted to us in the manuscript tradition (continuous text, lectionaries, etc.) and as citations in other writings (writings of Church Fathers, liturgical texts, Arabic and Islamic literature, etc.). The corpus will include allusions of Gospels in different types of writings (Arabic poetry, apologetic literature, etc.)."
Pew Forum in Religion & Public Life
The Pew Forum conducts surveys, demographic analyses and other social science research on important aspects of religion and public life in the U.S. and around the world. It also provides a neutral venue for discussions of timely issues through roundtables and briefings.
more...less...
Web Review: The Pew Forum On Religion & Public Life https://journal.atla.com/ojs/index.php/theolib/article/view/258/719
Pitts Theology Library Digital Collections
Digital Exhibits curated from the collections of the Pitts Theology Library at Emory University
Post-Reformation Digital Library
A select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.) from major research libraries, independent scholarly initiatives, and corporate documentation projects

PQDT Open: Open Access Dissertations and Theses
As of May 10, 2021, PQDT Open content is discoverable and freely downloadable from proquest.com. "The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access. Open Access Publishing is a new service offered by ProQuest's UMI Dissertation Publishing, and we expect to have many more open access dissertations and theses over time."

Preparing for "The Ords" | Princeton Theological Seminary
Guidance for preparing for the ordination exams in the PC(USA) by the Office of Student Relations and Senior Placement, Princeton Theological Seminary
Presbyterian Events and People in American History
Interactively explore Presbyterian history in America. Timelines of American Religion from the Association of Religion Data Archives place a wealth of information--including text, pictures, graphs and more--at your fingertips and within its historical context.
Princeton Lectures on Youth, Church, and Culture
The Princeton Lectures on Youth, Church, and Culture foster original scholarship pertaining to youth and the contemporary church. This lecture series, begun in 1996, is sponsored by The Institute for Youth Ministry at Princeton Theological Seminary. The lectures are fully searchable and can be read online or downloaded as PDF documents.
more...less...
To discover other digital collections at Princeton Theological Seminary Library, visit https://library.ptsem.edu/digital-collections-overview

Princeton Theological Seminary Journals
A digitized collection of journals published by, or closely associated with, Princeton Theological Seminary from 1825 to the present.

Titles include: Biblical Repertory, The Princeton Theological Review, The Presbyterian and Reformed Review, Studies in Reformed Theology and History, and Princeton Seminary Bulletin, as well as inSpire, Wineskin, Catalogue of Princeton Theological Seminary and a number of other historical publications.

"They Met to Read the Bible" a new hymn for Charleston
June 24, 2015 - The New Yorker magazine's Joshua Rothman profiles Princeton Theological Seminary alumna Pastor Carolyn Winfrey Gillette (Class of 1985), and the hymn she wrote in response to the killing of 9 African American worshipers gathered for Bible study at Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Charleston, South Carolina on June 17, 2015.
more...less...
https://www.carolynshymns.com/they_met_to_read_the_bible.html
Pentecostal and Charismatic Research Archive (PCRA)
"...the Pentecostal and Charismatic Research Initiative (PCRI) is working with the USC Digital Library to build an online digital archive of primary historical materials - correspondence, organizational records, tracts, sermons, diaries, photographs, oral histories - from different regions of the world." Part of the USC Digital Library
Pitts Theology Library Digital Image Archive
The Digital Image Archive (DIA) presents more than 65,000 images of biblical illustrations, portraits of religious leaders, printers' devices, engravings of church buildings, and other theological topics. They are available for teaching, research, and other non-commercial purposes. For a modest fee, the library will grant permission for use in commercial publications and will supply the publisher with high resolution .tif files for download.
Princeton Seminary on Soundcloud (audio)
Sermons, lectures and other events
Sermons by former President M. Craig Barnes, Princeton Theological Seminary
Hear/Watch former President M. Craig Barnes' weekly sermons in the Seminary Chapel
more...less...
Subscribe on iTunes https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/princeton-theological-seminary/id1238277850 or Soundcloud https://soundcloud.com/princeton-seminary
Princeton Theological Seminary Media Archive
This extensive archive includes over 6,800 audio recordings from 1940–present along with 48 video programs from 1984–present, among these are public lectures and sermons from prominent scholars, pastors and church leaders.
Princeton Theological Seminary on YouTube (video)
Also available on Vimeo
Puritan Books Online
Puritan Books hosted by Regent College and Carey Theological College's Allison Library
Pusey House Library
A reference library in Oxford, England specializing in Church History, Patristics and Anglo-Catholic theology. The Library began adding records for new acquisitions to the University of Oxford’s combined printed books catalogue in 2015 (Search Oxford Libraries Online - http://solo.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/). While the old card catalogue is being converted to a fully online database, images of the cards are currently available in this interim online resource.
more...less...
Pusey House was founded in 1884 as a monument to the life and work of Dr. Edward Bouverie Pusey (1880-1882), Professor of Hebrew at Oxford University and Canon of Christ Church Cathedral. Unlike many research libraries in Oxford, Pusey House Library can be used for free by anyone interested in our collections.

R

Readings from the Roots
The Revised Common Lectionary in a new translation that aims to reflect these readings’ original historical contexts and so expresses the theological and social meanings they had for those who originally wrote and read them.
Religion in the University of Edinburgh Archives Online
From the University of Edinburgh Archive and Manuscript Collections
Religion Online
Articles and chapters whose topics include Old and New Testament, Theology, Ethics, History and Sociology of Religion, Communication and Cultural Studies, Pastoral Care, Counseling, Homiletics, Worship, Missions and Religious Education - From the Claremont School of Theology
ReligionMakers | The HistoryMakers
Pastors, theologians, and chaplains in The HistoryMakers: The Digital Repository for the Black Experience. The HistoryMakers is a national 501 (c ) (3) non-profit research and educational institution committed to preserving and making widely accessible the untold personal stories of both well-known and unsung African Americans.
Religious Studies Web Guide
Free internet resources of use to researchers involved in the academic study of religion compiled by Saundra Lipton (University of Calgary Library) and Cheryl Adams (Library of Congress)

Research in Ministry (RIM®)
Abstracts of theses and dissertations conducted in graduate programs of study related to ministry, theology and religion. https://rim.atla.com/about

Resource Page for Biblical Studies
Compiled by Torrey Seland, Professor of New Testament Studies, School of Mission and Theology, Norway
Resources on Faith, Ethics, and Public Life
An overview of major religious traditions and their role in politics and society around the world from Georgetown University's Berkley Center for Religion, Peace, and World Affairs
Revised Common Lectionary
A service of the Vanderbilt Divinity Library

S

SAGE Journals Free-to-Read: Gender equity and justice
This collection explores themes of gender oppression and inequity and examines the unjust systems that stifle equality.
SAGE Journals Free-to-Read: Legacies of Colonialism
Through research of identity oppression, education, sociology, health, environment, economy, and religion and spirituality these authors explore the legacies of colonialism, its ongoing effects, and decolonizing and uprooting colonialism.
SAGE Journals Free-to-Read: LGBTQIA+ Research
This collection of research, videos, and books takes a look at Queer Theory, Gender Identity, Queer Justice, Hegemonic Heterosexuality, Sexual Orientation, and more.
SAGE Journals Free-to-Read: Structural Racism and Police Violence
This collection shares freely accessible articles to support researchers in future scholarship and amplify their critical work; educators as they discuss the impacts of systemic racism with students; and policymakers and advocates in their fight to make sweeping reform.
Sefaria
Sefaria is a nonprofit organization dedicated to building the future of Jewish learning in an open and participatory way by assembling a free living library of Jewish texts and their interconnections, in Hebrew and in translation.
Semantic Dictionary of Biblical Hebrew
An open resource from the United Bible Societies that provides a dictionary of biblical Hebrew.

South Asia Open Archives (SAOA)
Subset of the South Asia Materials Project (SAMP) that creates and maintains a collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia. Curated collections include Caste & Social Structure, Literature, Social & Economic History, and Women & Gender.

Statistics, Reports and Articles
Includes Comparative Statistics, an annual report showing trends in areas such as membership gains and losses, receipts and expenditures, and number of ministers. From the Presbyterian Mission Agency, Presbyterian Church (USA)
Stepbible.org
Managed by publisher Tyndale House, the site provides access to study tools such as Bible translations and commentaries
StudyLight.org
An online study tool that includes free access to Bible study and language tools, historical writings, and a variety of helpful resources for ministers and teachers.
Syri.ac | An annotated bibliography of Syriac resources online
A comprehensive annotated bibliography of open-access resources related to the study of Syriac. Editorial work on this site was carried out by Jack Tannous (Princeton University), Scott Johnson (University of Oklahoma), and Morgan Reed (Catholic University of America). The site is hosted by the University of Oklahoma, Department of Classics and Letters.
Syriaca.org: The Syriac Reference Portal
This is "a collaborative research project publishling online reference works concerning the culture, history, and literature of Syriac communities from antiquity to the present. The online publications of Syriaca.org serve a broad scholarly audience including students of Middle Eastern studies, classics, medieval history, religious studies, biblical studies, and linguistics."
Syriac Institute
Beth Mardutho: The Syriac Institute seeks to promote the study and preservation of the Syriac heritage and language, and to facilitate opportunities for people to pursue the study of this ancient legacy globally. We aim to serve the academic community and the heirs of the heritage.

T

Talking About Race | National Museum of African American History and Culture
This portal "provides digital tools, online exercises, video instructions, scholarly articles and more than 100 multi-media resources tailored for educators, parents and caregivers—and individuals committed to racial equality."
The Text This Week
Features a wide variety of resources for study and liturgy based on the 3-year Revised Common Lectionary cycle - Created by Jenee Woodard
NOTE: While links on The Text This Week website to articles in the AtlaSerials PLUS®, Religion Collection database are in the process of being updated, some searches may not work as planned. For now, you must log in to AtlaSerials PLUS®, Religion Collection and type (or copy/paste) into the search box on the EBSCOhost platform, the title of the article you found on The Text This Week.

Theological Commons | Princeton Theological Seminary
A digital library of over 160,000 resources on theology and religion. Developed in partnership with the Internet Archive, the Theological Commons contains books, journals, audio recordings, photographs, manuscripts, and other formats dating from the medieval era to the present.

Theological Conversations (Presbyterian Church (USA))
In 2017, Theological Conversations will celebrate Reformation 500 with conversations about the PC(USA)’s heritage of Reformed theology. Each author in the 12-part series will explore what the Reformed tradition in the Presbyterian Church has to offer the church and the world in the next 500 years.
Theological Questions (OER)
"[A]n Open Educational Resource (free textbook) that originates from St. Mary’s University in San Antonio and was created with funding form the Atla OER Grant Program. This open textbook was used at St. Mary's in the first of two required core theology courses. It is designed to give a broad historical overview of theological questions from the perspective of the Catholic tradition. It seeks to represent fairly a variety of questions and answers within and beyond the Catholic tradition. This OER is a foundation for other teachers of introductory courses in theology who may wish to adapt it for their purposes."
Theology on the Web
Includes material in the following areas: Biblical Archaeology, Biblical Studies, Early Church History, Medieval Church History, Missiology, Reformation Church History, Theological Studies
Theses Canada
The mission of Theses Canada is to acquire and preserve a comprehensive collection of Canadian theses at Library and Archives Canada (LAC), to provide access to this valuable research within Canada and throughout the world. Its mission to preserve this portion of Canada's bibliographic heritage is achieved through collaboration with the many Canadian universities who participate in the program.
Thinking in Public
An interview forum for intelligent conversation about frontline theological and cultural issues, Thinking in Public contains audio files of Southern Baptist Theological Seminary President Albert Mohler’s conversations with people like Grant Wacker, Thomas Oden, Stanley Hauerwas, George Marsden, Peter Brown, and others.
Continuing Education Online Resources | Princeton Theological Seminary
A hub for the extended learning community of Princeton Theological Seminary. Developed by the Office of Continuing Education, the array of digital media and resources educate, equip, and inspire theologically curious Christian leaders. Includes podcasts, The Distillery, Being Church in the Time of COVID, and Disrupting Ministry
Toward a Bibliography of Religion in the Midwest
Baylor University PhD student in history Paul Putz is "interested...in two things: first, what books or articles, if any, have been framed distinctively as a study of religion (or of a specific religion, religious group, or religious leader) in the Midwest. And second, among the many books or articles that are set in the Midwest but that do not purport to be studying the Midwest as a region, which would be helpful to any attempt to offer a synthesis of the history of religious life in the Midwest". This is a growing list with contributed additions from other students and scholars.
Treasures of Church Libraries | FIDES Digital Library (Polish)
Manuscripts, incunabula, old books, maps, atlases and graphic prints from the Federacja Bibliotek Kościelnych (Federation of the Church Libraries)
more...less...
The interface is available in Polish, German, Czech, English and French.
Tyndale House | Online Resources
Resources for scholars and the church. Free resources include:
Unicode Fonts – Greek, Hebrew & Transliteration fonts and keyboards for PCs and Macs; Finding Sources – links to the best Biblical Studies and Theology sites and sources; Finding Books – links to the best bibliography databases and catalogues for online reading; Bible Software – links and introductions to the best tools for Biblical Studies, commercial and free; 2LetterLookup – a quick-click dictionary for Hebrew, Greek, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Latin …; Lexicons – full-text lexicons for Biblical Languages which are faster to use than paper; Tregelles Greek NT – a neglected influential and useful edition of the Greek New Testament; Tyndale Toolbar – find online books, read 70+ Bible versions, translation tools and much more
more...less...
Tyndale House is a study centre focusing on advancing understanding of the Bible. Between forty and fifty scholars study here on a daily basis. Many PhD students from Cambridge University as well as other universities base themselves at Tyndale House during their studies and leading biblical scholars in all parts of the world have been formed at Tyndale House.

U

Umbra Search African American History | Keyword=Religion
"Umbra Search African American History makes African American history more broadly accessible through a freely available widget and search tool, umbrasearch.org; digitization of African American materials across University of Minnesota collections; and support of students, educators, artists, and the public through residencies, workshops, and events locally and around the country." https://www.umbrasearch.org/pages/about
US National Archives GIFs
The official Giphy channel for the National Archives. For the official source of information about the National Archives, please visit https://www.archives.gov. To learn more about our social media policies, visit https://www.archives.gov/social-media/policies/.

V

Vetus Latina: Resources for the Study of the Old Latin Bible
Maintained by Hugh Houghton, Research Fellow, Institute for Textual Scholarship and Electronic Editing, University of Birmingham (UK)

W

Wesleyan-Holiness Digital Library (WHDL)
"The Wesleyan-Holiness Digital Library is a free, multidisciplinary, open access, digital resource of books, literature, multimedia material, and archives collected into a single institutional repository initiated by the global Church of the Nazarene in response to the global need for access to resources for education, lifelong learning, and specifically ministerial preparation."
Working Preacher
Includes exegetical material geared to the weekly lectionary and to other biblical material; resources and insight regarding the craft of preaching; viewpoints and commentary on contemporary culture; and a host of opportunities for life-long learning.
World Digital Library: Religion
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures. Item types include books, journals, manuscripts, maps, motion pictures, newspapers, prints and photographs, and sound recordings.
more...less...
WDL is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.

Y

Yale Divinity Library Digital Collections
A faculty-library initiative from Yale University Divinity School Library that provides digital resources for teaching and research
Yale Journal of Music & Religion
The Yale Journal of Music & Religion (YJMR) is published twice yearly by the Yale Institute of Sacred Music, an interdisciplinary graduate center that educates leaders who foster, explore, and study engagement with the sacred through music, worship, and the arts in Christian communities, diverse religious traditions, and public life.
more...less...
The Yale Journal of Music & Religion (YJMR) is an interdisciplinary forum for the study of sacred music in all of its ritual, artistic, and cultural contexts. This peer-reviewed, open access, semiannual journal publishes substantial scholarship on religious music of all traditions across a range of methodologies, situating it within the worlds of beliefs and practices. YJMR pursues best practices in open access academic publishing.
Young Clergy Women International
Young Clergy Women International is a network of the youngest ordained clergy women, defined as those under forty. YCWI seeks to provide members with opportunities for online relationship-building and wisdom-sharing.
more...less...
Over 1600 young clergy women in number.
Women from across the US, as well as women who call Australia, Canada, Nigeria, Sweden, Mexico, and the UK (Scotland, Wales, and England), home.
Sisters serving in these denominations:
African Methodist Episcopal (AME), Anglican (Canada, England, Scotland, Wales, Australia), Assemblies of God, Baptist (American, National, Cooperative, Alliance, and Australian), Church of Sweden, Church of the Brethren, Church of the Nazarene, Christian Reformed Church, Cumberland Presbyterian, Disciples of Christ, The Episcopal Church, ELCA, ELCC, Moravian, Mennonite, Pan African Orthodox Christian, PCUSA, Presbyterian Church of Canada, Church of Scotland, Quaker, Reformed Church in America, Roman Catholic, Scottish Episcopal, Swedenborgian, United Church of Canada, United Church of Christ, United Methodist, United Reformed Church, Uniting Church in Australia, and Unitarian-Universalist

Temporarily Free Resources

Free access from publishers to academic content, online teaching resources, and content specifically addressing the novel coronavirus, COVID-19.

COVID-19: Novel Coronavirus Content Free to Access | Taylor & Francis
"This microsite provides links and references to all relevant COVID-19 research articles, book chapters and information that can be freely accessed on Taylor & Francis Online and Taylor & Francis ebooks in support of the global efforts in diagnosis, treatment, prevention and further research into COVID-19."
Elsevier's Novel Coronavirus Information Center
Free health and medical research on novel coronavirus (COVID-19), from Elsevier
Oxford University Press resources on COVID-19, other coronaviruses, and related topics
"As part of our response to the ongoing COIVD-19 pandemic across the world, Oxford University Press has made content from online resources and leading journals freely accessible to assist researchers, medical professionals, policy makers, and others who are working to address this health crisis."
Psychological research on COVID-19 and the racism pandemics available in APA PsycArticles
Journal articles on COVID-19 and Race, Trauma, and Social Injustice have been made temporarily freely available.
The entire APA PsycArticles database continues to be available to the Princeton Seminary community.

COVID-19 Information & Addressing Misinformation

Community Toolkit for Addressing Health Misinformation
Specific guidance and resources for faith leaders and other trusted community members to understand, identify, and stop the spread of health misinformation in their communities. The Surgeon General’s Community Toolkit for Addressing Health Misinformation was developed in collaboration with the Office of Evaluation Sciences (OES).
COVID-19 and Misinformation | Rowan University, Campbell Library
Resources and strategies for evaluating information on COVID-19.
COVID-19 Podcasts and Webinars | Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy
Relevant webinars and audio podcasts by subject matter experts. Each focuses on a specific area of interest within the topic of COVID-19. From the Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy at the University of Minnesota
COVID-19 Web Archive
"...includes 154 collections from 122 collecting organizations. These collections contain more than 80,000 websites documenting the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic on communities, businesses, healthcare, and other aspects of everyday life. Search the full-text of the archived webpages, as well as images, videos, pdfs, and more."

Freely Available Online Resources

About this guide

About Wright Library

Have you explored this free resource?

Recommended, freely available online resources (A-Z)

A

B

C

D

E

F

G

H

I

J

K

L

M

N

O

P

R

S

T

U

V

W

Y

Temporarily Free Resources

COVID-19 Information & Addressing Misinformation