A collection of statistics and religious geography citations with references to published membership statistics and congregation statistics for thousands of religious communities
- African American Lectionary
A collaborative project of the African American Pulpit and the American Baptist College of Nashville. The lectionary team includes PTS alums.
- American Religion Data Archive
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion and is currently located in the Social Science Research Institute at the Pennsylvania State University.
- Art in the Christian Tradition
A freely available, regularly updated visual image internet resource. Designed for scholars, students, pastors, and religious educators, all of the images may be used for educational and/or religious non-profit purposes. - From the Vanderbilt Divinity Library
- Barna Group
Offers a range of customized research, resources and training to serve churches, non-profits, businesses and leaders
- Bible Suite: Online Bible, Concordance, Topical, Strong's, Greek & Hebrew
Parallel translations, lessons, commentaries and other resources from the Online Parallel Bible Project
- Christian Classics Ethereal Library
The mission of the CCEL is to build up the church by making classic Christian writings available and promoting their use.
- Christian Reflection Project
The online home of Christian Reflection: A Series in Faith and Ethics, which is published by The Institute for Faith and Learning at Baylor University. Christian Reflection offers reliable guidance in engaging the ethical dimensions of today's world. Its themed articles, inspirational pieces, book reviews, interviews, Christian art, liturgies, and hymns help the Church reintegrate Christian ethical reflection, worship, and art. Free study guides are available on this website to enrich personal or group study.
- Codex Sinaiticus
The Codex Sinaiticus Project is an international collaboration to reunite the entire manuscript in digital form and make it accessible to a global audience for the first time. Drawing on the expertise of leading scholars, conservators and curators, the Project gives everyone the opportunity to connect directly with this famous manuscript.
- Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative
A repository of digital resources contributed by American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools member libraries made possible by the Henry Luce Foundation
Search over 70 UK and Irish academic national and specialist library catalogs
- Corpus Corporum
A Latin text (meta-)repository and tool under way of development. Users should take into account that many functions do not yet work satisfactorily. This Corpus Córporum is being developed at the University of Zurich under the direction of Ph. Roelli, Institute of Medieval Latin Studies. About Corpus Córporum
. Of particular note is the searchable Patrologia Latina
- Corpus Thomisticum
The Corpus Thomisticum project aims to provide scholars with a set of instruments of research on Thomas Aquinas, freely available via Internet.
- Cyber Hymnal
Christian hymns & Gospel songs - including lyrics, sheet music, audio, pictures, biographies and history - from many denominations
- Dictionary of African Christian Biography
An international undertaking aimed at producing an electronic database containing the essential biographical facts of African Christian leaders, evangelists, and lay workers chiefly responsible for laying the foundations and advancing the growth of Christian communities in Africa.
- Digital Dead Sea Scrolls
The Israel Museum's the Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Project allows users to examine and explore these most ancient manuscripts from Second Temple times at a level of detail never before possible. Developed in partnership with Google, the new website gives users access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history. The Israel Museum has been home to the Dead Sea Scrolls since its opening in 1965.
- Digital Scriptorium
An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research
- Digital South Asia Library
Participants include leading U.S. universities, the Center for Research Libraries, the South Asia Microform Project, the Committee on South Asian Libraries and Documentation, the Association for Asian Studies, the Library of Congress, the Asia Society, the British Library, the University of Oxford, the University of Cambridge, MOZHI in India, the Sundarayya Vignana Kendram in India, Madan Puraskar Pustakalaya in Nepal, and other institutions in South Asia.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Includes 85 journals belonging to the subject of religion
- Duke University Chapel: Sermon, Bulletin & Service Archive
Sermons and bulletins for the Sunday, 11:00 a.m. service of worship in Duke University Chapel are posted each week, along with a video link to the service and, as available, a downloadable copy of the sermon.
- The European Library
An online portal which provides access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
- FRAMES: Church Resources and Discussion Guides
A free resource center for church leaders from the Barna Group
. According to the site, "FRAMES are short...books on cultural trends that are critical for churches to be informed about and prepared to address."
- Free Public Domain Ebooks and Audio Books
25 sources of free public domain books (ebooks and audio books) from Ebook Friendly, a site "founded and designed by Piotr Kowalczyk, self-publisher, author of short stories for geeks and an enthusiast of ebooks and digital reading."
- Getty Images
The Getty collection of images are now available for embedding for free. Good idea to read Brandom's article
– especially the part about link rot – prior to checking out the site.
- Gifford Lecture Series
One of the foremost lecture series dealing with religion, science and philosophy. The online Gifford Lectures database presents a comprehensive collection of books derived from the Gifford Lectures. In addition to the books, the Web site contains a biography of each lecturer and a summary of the lecture or book.
- Glenmary Research Center
Provides applied research to Glenmary leadership, individual missioners, Church leaders and the wider society
- Handbook of Latin American Studies Online
A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
- Harvard Memorial Church: Sunday Sermons on SoundCloud
Sermons preached on Sunday in The Harvard Memorial Church during the academic year.
- In the Company of Preachers
A quarterly audio resource dedicated to cultivating the art of preaching - From Luther Seminary
- Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.
- Index Theologicus
An index of published literature from journals and Festschriften in Theology and Religious Studies from around the world. It uses as its base the literature which the Tübingen University Library acquires within the scope of its special collection in Theology and General and Comparative Religious Studies, as part of its commission and with support from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).
This digital library contains hundreds of historical documents pertaining to the Body of Christ in Indochina over the past 100 years.
- Jonathan Edwards
A digital learning environment for research, education and publication, that presents all of Edwards’s writings, along with helpful editorial materials - From the Jonathan Edwards Center at Yale University
- Koran in English
This is an electronic version of The Holy Qur'an, translated by M.H. Shakir and published by Tahrike Tarsile Qur'an, Inc., in 1983. The text was provided by the Online Book Initiative and subsequently marked up at the HTI in SGML.
- Metropolitan Museum Timeline of Art History
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum's collection made possible by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund
- Ministry Matters
Developed by the United Methodist Publishing House of Nashville, TN and launched in 2011, Ministry Matters contains resources for church leaders and tools to facilitate collaboration. According to the creators, it is “a magazine, a reference library, and a social network.” Many of the resources are freely available, while others require a PTS network ID or PTS alum network ID* to access.
- New Testament Gateway
Directory of academic internet resources related to the New Testament compiled by Dr. Mark Goodacre, Associate Professor of Religion, Duke University
- Online Critical Pseudepigrapha
The mandate of the Online Critical Pseudepigrapha is to develop and publish electronic editions of the best critical texts of the "Old Testament" Pseudepigrapha and related literature.
- PCUSA Exams
Standard Ordination Exams - From the Louisville Seminary
- Pew Forum in Religion & Public Life
The Pew Forum conducts surveys, demographic analyses and other social science research on important aspects of religion and public life in the U.S. and around the world. It also provides a neutral venue for discussions of timely issues through roundtables and briefings.
- Post-Reformation Digital Library
A select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.) from major research libraries, independent scholarly initiatives, and corporate documentation projects
- Preparing for "The Ords"
Ordination Exam Preparation Manual (16th edition) - From the Office of Student Relations and Senior Placement at Princeton Theological Seminary
- Princeton Theological Seminary: Sermons from Miller Chapel
Hear/Watch President M. Craig Barnes' weekly sermons in Miller Chapel during the academic year
- Religion Online
Articles and chapters whose topics include Old and New Testament, Theology, Ethics, History and Sociology of Religion, Communication and Cultural Studies, Pastoral Care, Counseling, Homiletics, Worship, Missions and Religious Education - From the Claremont School of Theology
- Religious Studies Web Guide
Free internet resources of use to researchers involved in the academic study of religion compiled by Saundra Lipton (University of Calgary Library) and Cheryl Adams (Library of Congress)
- Research Guide for Christianity
From Yale University Library
- Research in Ministry
An online resource maintained by the American Theological Library Association
- Resource Page for Biblical Studies
Compiled by Torrey Seland, Professor of New Testament Studies, School of Mission and Theology, Norway
- Revised Common Lectionary
A service of the Vanderbilt Divinity Library
- Statistics, Reports and Articles
Includes Comparative Statistics, an annual report showing trends in areas such as membership gains and losses, receipts and expenditures, and number of ministers. From the Presbyterian Mission Agency, Presbyterian Church (USA)
- Students at New College, 1843-1943
A test service of Edinburgh University Archives Special Collections Centre for Research Collections
- Syriac Institute
Beth Mardutho seeks to promote the study and preservation of the Syriac heritage and language, and to facilitate opportunities for people to pursue the study of this ancient legacy globally. We aim to serve the academic community and the heirs of the heritage.
- Syriaca.org: The Syriac Reference Portal
This is "a collaborative research project publishling online reference works concerning the culture, history, and literature of Syriac communities from antiquity to the present. The online publications of Syriaca.org serve a broad scholarly audience including students of Middle Eastern studies, classics, medieval history, religious studies, biblical studies, and linguistics."
- The Text This Week
Features a wide variety of resources for study and liturgy based on the 3-year Revised Common Lectionary cycle - Created by Jenee Woodard
- Theses Canada
The mission of Theses Canada is to acquire and preserve a comprehensive collection of Canadian theses at Library and Archives Canada (LAC), to provide access to this valuable research within Canada and throughout the world. Its mission to preserve this portion of Canada's bibliographic heritage is achieved through collaboration with the many Canadian universities who participate in the program.
- Vetus Latina: Resources for the Study of the Old Latin Bible
Maintained by Hugh Houghton, Research Fellow, Institute for Textual Scholarship and Electronic Editing, University of Birmingham (UK)
- Wabash Guide to the Internet
A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources, including syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, and software - From the Wabash Center for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion
- Working Preacher
From Luther Seminary
- Yale Divinity Library Digital Collections
A faculty-library initiative from Yale University Divinity School Library that provides digital resources for teaching and research