Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wright Library Princeton Theological Seminary

Electronic Resources Research Guide

A curated guide to using and finding electronic resources at Princeton Theological Seminary

Using electronic resources at Princeton Theological Seminary

Welcome to the electronic resources research guide for Princeton Theological Seminary Library!

Whether you are a first year Master's student or a sixth year PhD student, you should be able to find information you need using these resources.

Below are four highlighted aggregate databases with search tips to begin your research. Below that is a quick guide to using eBooks at PTS and beyond. To the left of this box, you will find a list of the departments here at the seminary. Clicking on their names will take you to a curated list of subject specific databases to further your research.

Aggregate databases

Below is a quick overview on how to use Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS

Below is a quick overview on how to use Religion Database

eBooks

To browse the e-books accessible through Princeton Theological Seminary Library's Summon Search, follow these steps:

  1. Click "Search" at the end of the Summon Search bar on the library's website library.ptsem.edu
  2. Screen clip of the Summon Search box on the library home page
  3. Select the limiter "eBook Full Text Online" from the options on the left. Include any other limiters you want, like "Discipline", "Author", "Publication Date", and "Language".

Screen clip of the Refine Your Search area of Summon search results page with eBook Full Text Online selected

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When you find one you would like to read, simply click the title, or the "Full Text Online" link underneath the e-book's description.

Free eBooks

Brill Open E-Book Collection

Almost 200 e-books on topics like Religion, Asian Studies, and History. These titles are also included in DOAB.

De Gruyter Open

Open Access Books program encompasses 25 academic disciplines, each of them supervised by the Managing Editor and endorsed by members of Editorial Advisory Boards. These titles are also included in DOAB.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.

Google Books

Millions of public domain books (generally pre-1923) are freely available in Google Books. Discover other books by searching in Google Books and then checking in our library's catalog to see if we have the books available in print or online.

Gutenberg-e

Columbia University Press is pleased to announce that Gutenberg-e is now an open access site. These award winning monographs, coordinated with the American Historical Association, afford emerging scholars new possibilities for online publications, weaving traditional narrative with digitized primary sources, including maps, photographs, and oral histories. The American Council of Learned Societies also carry Gutenberg-e titles on their Humanities E-Book platform.

Hathi Trust Digital Library

Princeton Theological Seminary users can download copies of public domain books in the Hathi Trust collections by clicking on "Full-View Only" and then "Download Full Book." Partner relationship is necessary to download the full book.

Internet Archive E-Books and Texts

Internet Archives contains 2,000,000+ items, page images and some transcriptions. Many of these books are actually digitized by Internet Archives in the scanning center located in the Princeton Theological Seminary Library.

Met Publications

Five decades of Met publications (approximately 450 titles) on art history, available to read, download, and/or search for free.

Project Gutenberg Project

Gutenberg offers over 38,000 free e-books: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks)

The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of Open Access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance and digital preservation.

The Online Books Page

Listing of more than a million free books on the web.

Open Edition

OpenEdition is a non-profit center for Open Access established by French universities and research organizations that provides digital access to international academic publications related to humanities and social science research. OpenEdition provides access to ebooks, ejournals, academic announcements, and blogs through the following four platforms: OpenEdition Books, Revues.org, Calenda and Hypotheses

Puritan Books Online

Puritan Books hosted by Regent College's Allison Library

Princeton Public Library offers a number of electronic resources to its patrons, including e-books, audiobooks, digital magazines, music, digital videos, and online language curriculums. To access these materials, you will need a Princeton Public Library card and PIN.

E-book options:

Princeton OverDrive: To sign in to Princeton OverDrive, enter your library card barcode and PIN. (Your PIN is the last 4 digits of the phone number on your library account.) This collection is hand-selected and built from the ground up with a focus on quality selections that meet the diverse reading and listening preferences of the Princeton community. New titles will be added on an ongoing basis, and OverDrive's popular library of more than 11,000 public domain e-book titles will be available, too. Also, visit the Princeton Overdrive Kids & Teens eReading Room to access titles for children and young adults. Our collection can be enjoyed on your computer (PC or Mac) or transfer the title to a compatible eBook reader (including Kindle, Nook, Sony, iPad, and iPod Touch). Check out a maximum of 5 books at a time for up to 21 days. No overdue fees; books are automatically returned to the library at the end of lending period. Visit Overdrive's guide to find customized downloading instructions for your device.

TumbleBookLibrary: This collection of TumbleBooks (animated, talking picture books), Tumble Puzzles, and Tumble Games may be viewed online or downloaded for 90 days. TumbleBooks collection includes fiction, non-fiction and foreign language titles, Read-Alongs (chapter books with sentence highlighting and narration but no animation), eBooks and audiobooks.

EBSCO eBooks: Try out our starter collection of reference and text books. EBSCO eBooks offers the ability to read on the screen and search within the eBook's text. The collection is primarily non-fiction eBooks on topics including Arts and Architecture, Business and Economics, Computer Science, Engineering and Technology, Health and Medicine, History, Law, Literature and Criticism, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Self-help and Family, Study Aids and Language Learning.

This is a short sample of e-Book collections available at Princeton University Library. You can search, discover and view the books through the iPad's browser. If off campus, you will need to connect to the VPN to access these resources. Please see the VPN Connection Instructions from OIT. NOTE: In general, Princeton Theological Seminary patrons will not have access to these resources unless on Princeton University's campus.

Early English Books Online

Partially searchable digital images of books printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland, as well as works in English printed elsewhere.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Partially searchable digital images of books, primarily British, printed in the eighteenth century.

Making of the Modern World Digital Archive

Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books that document economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

CRCnetBase Online books published by CRC Press

Princeton subscribes to select modules: Biomedical Science, Chemistry, Clean Tech, Economics, Environmental Science, Geosciences, Materials Science, Math, Physics, Homeland Security.

Oxford Reference Online

Collection of dictionaries and reference books published by Oxford University Press.

Oxford Scholarship Online

Collection of books from Oxford University Press covering the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine and law.

Cambridge Collections Online

Searchable full text access to the complete Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, and classics.

Overdrive (Dixon e-Books)

Select e-Books and audiobooks can be checked out for a period of 2 weeks. Make sure to return the items checked out to your account before returning the iPad to the library. NOTE: only some Princeton Theological Seminary users will be able to access the Dixon e-Books, since this collection requires the Princeton netID. The netID is typically only given to students enrolled in PU courses or instructors teaching at PU.