LibGuides: Reference Guides: Biblical Studies: E-Resources

Biblical Studies

Coptic Gnostic Library Online -- A Complete Edition of the Nag Hammadi Codices
Main sources of information for the Gnostic religion are the so-called Nag Hammadi codices, written in Coptic. Continues where the Dead Sea Scrolls left off. Recommend installing the Unicode font Antinoou to view contents.
Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library Biblical Texts
Complete Hebrew transcription and English translation of the Biblical texts, together with high-resolution images.
Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library Non-Biblical Texts
Searchable, high resolution images of the Non-Biblical Dead Sea Scroll fragments and all the texts, in the original languages and in translation, mainly reproducing the editions from the Discoveries in the Judaean Desert Series, often updated, with morphological analysis.
Flavius Josephus Online
First comprehensive literary-historical online commentary on the works of Flavius Josephus, the first-century Jewish historian, in English, including the Greek text by Niese from the late 19th century. These works are important for understanding of biblical history and of the political history of Palestine under Roman rule.
Loeb Classical Library
Virtual library of Latin, Greek, and English texts in a browsable, searchable interface from Harvard University Press. Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.
Patrologiae Graecae
Electronic version of Migne's Greek patristic texts, with Latin translations.
Patrologia Latina Database
Covers the works of the Latin Fathers from Tertullian around 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. In 221 volumes, it covers most major and minor Latin authors, and contains the most influential works of late ancient and early medieval theology, philosophy, history, and literature.
Patrologia Orientalis Database
Patristic texts from the Christian East, including works, recorded in non-Latin languages, that come from geographical, cultural, or religious contexts somehow linked to Rome or the Eastern Roman Empire. Search for items (such as keywords or quotes) in the language into which a text was translated in the PO and check the translation with the original text visible alongside as a non-searchable PDF file.

Hermeneia: A Critical and Historical Commentary on the Bible
Interpretation of the earliest texts of the biblical books and other literature closely related to the Bible using ancient Semitic and classical languages. English translations of all comparative materials—Greek, Latin, Canaanite, or Akkadian—alongside the citation of the source in its original language. Full critical discussions along with primary data. Search and download/print chapters.
International Critical Commentary
Summon search result limited to International Critical Commentary titles from the series' long history, including both long-unavailable titles and newly-published research, that brings together linguistic and textual, archaeological, historical, literary and theological aids to exegesis.
Luther's Works (The Works of Martin Luther)
Digital version of the 55-volume set of Luther's Works, a monumental translation project by Fortress Press and Concordia Publishing House which was published in print in 1957. Useful for church historians, theologians, Luther scholars, and Christians in general. (Find Luther's Works (Volumes 1-55) in the library's print reference collection at REF BR330 .E5 1955.)
Ministry Matters (Library)
Containing the Abingdon Old and New Testament Commentaries

While individual titles are discoverable in the library catalog and discovery tool, Abingdon Press has not been able to give us links that effectively reach their targets. You may need to enter here and look for the item directly in Ministry Matters.

The Oxford Bible Commentary (e-book) by John Barton (Editor); John Muddiman (Editor)
Call Number: Online

ISBN: 0191567256

Publication Date: 2007-01-01

Also available in print at BS491.3 .O94 2001

The Cambridge Companion to the Bible (e-book) by Bruce Chilton, Howard Clark Kee, Eric M. Meyers, John Rogerson, Amy-Jill Levine, Anthony J. Saldarini (editors)
Call Number: Online

ISBN: 9781139167376

Publication Date: 2007 (print) 2012 (e-book)

2nd edition
Also available in print at REF BS475.3 .C26 2008

Oxford Illustrated History of the Bible

Bible in English
Contains 20 versions of the Bible, including twelve complete Bibles, five New Testament works, two Gospel works and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah translations.
Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive

Archaeology and the latest in Bible scholarship in the Biblical Archaeology Review (BAR) magazine. Explore the current issue along with web-only features and Scholar’s Study, where scholarly debates from the pages of BAR continue online.

Visit the Society's website for more information: https://www.biblicalarchaeology.org/
Context of Scripture Online
Reference work with a broad, balanced, and representative collection of Ancient Near Eastern texts for all engaged in the study of the Bible and the ancient Near East. Entries include introductions, translations, commentaries, and bibliographic references.
Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible
Academic articles on the named gods, angels, and demons in the books of the Hebrew Bible, Septuagint and Apocrypha, as well as the New Testament and patristic literature.
Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics
Offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day. Contains over 850 entries from approx. 400 contributing scholars.
Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception
Pursues the twofold task of 1) comprehensively recording the current knowledge of the origins and development of the Bible in its Jewish and Christian canonical forms and 2) documenting the history of the Bible's reception in Judaism and Christianity as evident in exegetical literature, theological and philosophical writings of various genres, literature, liturgy, music, the visual arts, dance, and film, as well as in Islam and other religious traditions and contemporary movements.
New Pauly Online
Modern reference work for the ancient world covering 2,000+ years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. The English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.
New Testament Abstracts
Features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to New Testament studies. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1985.
Old Testament Abstracts

Features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies, 1978 to present. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Abstracts (in English, regardless of the language of the original work) from over 450 journals are included.
Oxford Biblical Studies Online

Oxford retired the Oxford Biblical Studies Online (OBSO) platform in July 2022. Many of the titles were migrated to 3 other platforms. Here are the title lists: (1) The Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies is available via Oxford Handbooks Online. (2) The following titles are available via Oxford Scholarship Online: The Apocryphal New Testament; and How to Read the Bible. (3) The following titles are available via Oxford Reference: A Dictionary of the Bible, 2nd edition; Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls; Oxford Bible Atlas, Fourth Edition; The Oxford Bible Commentary; The Oxford Companion to the Bible; The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt; The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East; The Oxford Encyclopedias of the Bible; The Oxford History of the Biblical World; The Oxford Illustrated History of the Bible; The Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation; The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Archaeology; The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics; The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies; The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Law; The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts; The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Theology; and The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Biblical Studies
Carefully considered bibliographical resource recommendations on essential topics in the study of the Bible broadly conceived. Helpful for developing an informed view of the topic of concern, OBO provides a clearly outlined path for academic engagement.
Textual History of the Bible Online
Covers the textual history, textual character, translation techniques, manuscripts, and the importance of each textual witness for each book of the Hebrew Bible, including its deutero-canonical scriptures. Includes articles on the history of research, the editorial histories of the Hebrew Bible, as well as other aspects of text-critical research and its auxiliary fields, such as papyrology, codicology, and linguistics.

Please note: All articles will appear online before the print edition. With few exceptions, the content of all entries is final. Some articles will still receive light copy editing.

Credo Reference Titles

Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible
First edition; Kevin J. Vanhoozer
Dictionary of Scripture and Ethics
First edition; Joel B. Green, Jacqueline E. Lapsley, Rebekah Miles, Allen Verhey
Encyclopedia of Protestantism
First edition; Hans J. Hillerbrand
IVP Bible Dictionary Series: Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels
2nd edition; Joel B. Green
IVP Bible Dictionary Series: Dictionary of New Testament Background
First edition; Craig A. Evans, Stanley E. Porter
IVP Bible Dictionary Series: Dictionary of Paul and His Letters
First edition; Gerald F. Hawthorne, Ralph P. Martin, Daniel G. Reid
IVP Bible Dictionary Series: Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Development
First edition; Ralph P. Martin, Peter H. Davids
IVP Bible Dictionary Series: Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books
First edition; Bill T. Arnold, H. G. M. Williamson
IVP Bible Dictionary Series: Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch
First edition; Mark J. Boda, J. Gordon McConville
IVP Bible Dictionary Series: Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets
First edition; Mark J. Boda, J. Gordon McConville
IVP Bible Dictionary Series: Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry, Writings
First edition; Tremper Longman III, Peter Enns

Biblical Studies--Freely Available Online Resources

Biblindex
Index of Biblical Quotations and Allusions in Early Christian Literature (Best viewed with Firefox or Safari browsers)

more... less...

Data from the published volumes of Biblia Patristica, Index des citations et allusions bibliques dans la littérature patristique, Editions du CNRS (ca. 270,000 biblical references, with updates on 5,000 references), prepared by the Centre for Patristics Analysis and Documentation (CADP) : 1. Beginnings to Clement of Alexandria and Tertullian, 1975 - 2. The third century (except Origen), 1977 - 3. Origen, 1980 - 4. Eusebius of Caesarea, Cyril of Jerusalem, Epiphanius of Salamis, 1987 - 5. Basil of Caesarea, Gregory Nazianzen, Gregory of Nyssa, Amphiloque of Iconium, 1991 - 6. Hilary of Poitiers, Ambrose of Milan, Ambrosiaster, 1995 - 7. Didymus of Alexandria, 2000 - Supplement, Philo of Alexandria, 1982. [They all are all out of print.]
- Unpublished data from the archives of Biblia Patristica (ca. 100,000 references) on Athanasius of Alexandria, John Chrysostom, Theodoret of Cyrus, Procopius of Gaza, Jerome: these data are unverified (they appear in red).
Bible Odyssey
"The Bible continues to have a tremendous impact on history, literature, popular culture, and politics. And as you know, more often than not the Bible and the ancient world are misunderstood, misrepresented, and misused. With that in mind, in 2015 the Society of Biblical Literature launched the website Bible Odyssey, which provides free articles and videos that bridge the gap between the academy and the public in an effort to increase biblical literacy and, frankly, to make biblical studies fun." John F. Kutsko, Executive Director, SBL
Bildi: Documentation for biblical literature Innsbruck
Searchable documentation on biblical and biblical-archaeological literature, published in articles, collected works and monographs; since 1990 partly with references to book reviews
Continuatio Mediaevalis | Corpus Christianorum
Texts from the Carolingian era to the end of the Middle Ages. It also includes works absent from Migne’s Patrologia Latina. Includes a complete transcription (by Princeton Seminary Professor Emeritus Karlfried Froehlich) of the commentary on the Pauline Epistles by Gilbert of Poitiers (ca 1080-1154) from MS Zwettl 58, together with an Introduction.
Digital Dead Sea Scrolls
The Israel Museum's the Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Project allows users to examine and explore these most ancient manuscripts from Second Temple times at a level of detail never before possible. Developed in partnership with Google, the new website gives users access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history. The Israel Museum has been home to the Dead Sea Scrolls since its opening in 1965.
Gifford Lecture Series
One of the foremost lecture series dealing with religion, science and philosophy. The online Gifford Lectures database presents a comprehensive collection of books derived from the Gifford Lectures. In addition to the books, the Web site contains a biography of each lecturer and a summary of the lecture or book.
GlossaOrdinaria.net: Handlist of Mediaeval Manuscripts of the Glossa Ordinaria on the Bible
From Professor Emeritus Karlfried Froehlich of Princeton Seminary and Dr. Mark Zier (Mediaeval Studies License, PIMS; Ph.D., University of Toronto). Parallels the PDF file Codices Glossae in apparatibus allegati (GLOSSEM). While there is some overlap between the two inventories, it would be worth the time to consult both in pursuing research on the Glossa Ordinaria.
Logeion (ΛΟΓΕΙΟΝ)
Logeion (literally, a place for words; in particular, a speaker's platform, or an archive) was developed after the example of dvlf.uchicago.edu, to provide simultaneous lookup of entries in the many reference works that make up the Perseus Classical collection. Includes the Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources as well as several other Greek and Latin dictionaries.
Online Critical Pseudepigrapha
The mandate of the Online Critical Pseudepigrapha is to develop and publish electronic editions of the best critical texts of the "Old Testament" Pseudepigrapha and related literature.
OnScript - Conversations on current biblical scholarship
OnScript is a podcast featuring author interviews about noteworthy recent releases in biblical studies. Hosted by Matthew Bates (Ph.D., University of Notre Dame) and Matthew Lynch (Ph.D., Emory University).

more... less...

https://onscript.study/about-matt-and-matt/
Resource Page for Biblical Studies
Compiled by Torrey Seland, Professor of New Testament Studies, School of Mission and Theology, Norway
Semantic Dictionary of Biblical Hebrew
An open resource from the United Bible Societies that provides a dictionary of biblical Hebrew.
Stepbible.org
Managed by publisher Tyndale House, the site provides access to study tools such as Bible translations and commentaries
StudyLight.org
An online study tool that includes free access to Bible study and language tools, historical writings, and a variety of helpful resources for ministers and teachers.
Syriac Institute
Beth Mardutho: The Syriac Institute seeks to promote the study and preservation of the Syriac heritage and language, and to facilitate opportunities for people to pursue the study of this ancient legacy globally. We aim to serve the academic community and the heirs of the heritage.
Syriaca.org: The Syriac Reference Portal
This is "a collaborative research project publishling online reference works concerning the culture, history, and literature of Syriac communities from antiquity to the present. The online publications of Syriaca.org serve a broad scholarly audience including students of Middle Eastern studies, classics, medieval history, religious studies, biblical studies, and linguistics."
Tyndale House | Online Resources
Resources for scholars and the church. Free resources include:
Unicode Fonts – Greek, Hebrew & Transliteration fonts and keyboards for PCs and Macs; Finding Sources – links to the best Biblical Studies and Theology sites and sources; Finding Books – links to the best bibliography databases and catalogues for online reading; Bible Software – links and introductions to the best tools for Biblical Studies, commercial and free; 2LetterLookup – a quick-click dictionary for Hebrew, Greek, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Latin …; Lexicons – full-text lexicons for Biblical Languages which are faster to use than paper; Tregelles Greek NT – a neglected influential and useful edition of the Greek New Testament; Tyndale Toolbar – find online books, read 70+ Bible versions, translation tools and much more

more... less...

Tyndale House is a study centre focusing on advancing understanding of the Bible. Between forty and fifty scholars study here on a daily basis. Many PhD students from Cambridge University as well as other universities base themselves at Tyndale House during their studies and leading biblical scholars in all parts of the world have been formed at Tyndale House.
Vetus Latina: Resources for the Study of the Old Latin Bible
Maintained by Hugh Houghton, Research Fellow, Institute for Textual Scholarship and Electronic Editing, University of Birmingham (UK)

Reference Guides

Reference e-books

Faculty e-books--Biblical Studies

Biblical Studies

Credo Reference Titles

Biblical Studies--Freely Available Online Resources