Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wright Library Princeton Theological Seminary

Reference Guides

Subject guides for the Reference Collection at the Theodore Sedgwick Wright Library

Practical Theology Guide

The guide to practical theology highlights certain noteworthy titles in the various fields under the general heading of "practical".  Take the time to look at other books shelved in the same call number area.

Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Practical Theology

 REF BV3 .W53 2012

Practical theology

Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Practical Theology BV3 .W53 2012

Pastoral Theology & Pastoral Care

Dictionary of Pastoral Care BV4005.5 .D52

Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling BV4011 .D43 2005

New Dictionary of Pastoral Studies  BV4005.5 .N49 2002

New Dictionary of Christian Ethics and Pastoral Theology BJ1199 .N495

Religious Education

Dictionary of Religious Education  BL42 .D52

Evangelical Dictionary of Christian Education BV1461 .E93

Harper’s Encyclopedia of Religious Education BV1461 .H37

Liturgy and Worship

Preaching

Handbook of Contemporary Preaching BV4222 .H35 1992

Concise Encyclopedia of Preaching  BV4211.2 .C583 1995

Texts for Preaching: A Lectionary Commentary, Based on the NRSV BV4235.L43 T488 Years A, B, & C 1993-1995

Handbook for the Revised Common Lectionary BX8969.5 .H36

Reading and Preaching of the Scriptures (7 vols.) BV4207 .O43 1998

New Interpreter's Handbook of Preaching BV4211.3 .N49 2008

Feasting on the Word BV4235 .L43 F43 2008

Worship & Music

New Westminster Dictionary of Liturgy and Worship BV173 .N49 2002

New Dictionary of Sacramental Worship BV173 .N485 1990

The Liturgical Dictionary of Eastern Christianity BX106.2 .D38

The Complete library of Christian worship (7 vols.) BV10.2 .C654 1993

Worship music: a concise dictionary ML102.C5 W67 2000

Hymnals & Songbooks

Presbyterian Hymnal: Hymns, Psalms, and Spiritual Songs BV430 .A3 1990

Lutheran Book of Worship BV410 .L82 1978

United Methodist Hymnal: Book of United Methodist Worship BV415 .A3 1989

Sing! A New Creation (Green Chapel Songbook) M2117 .S594 2001

Sing the Faith (Presbyterian Hymnal) M2130.P7 S56 2003

Psalms for All Seasons M2124 .C55 P735 2012

Many others in Reference BV 305 – BV 530 Still more in the circulating collection and the Benson Collection