LibGuides: Reference Guides: History & Ecumenics

History & Ecumenics Guide

The History & Ecumenics reference guide provides an overview of some basic resources. It is important to remember that specific call numbers appear in a range of numbers where similar subject matter can be found. Please take the time to browse; you may discover your own ideal go-to resource.

Church History

*** indicates the title is available electronically (links below); PTS user name/password required

General surveys

Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

Cambridge History of Christianity BR 145.3 .C35 2006 v.1-9

Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church BR 95 .093 2005***

Realencyclopadie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft (Pauly-Wissowa-Kroll)

Brill’s New Pauly DE 5 .P33 – .P33313 (2002)***

Theologische Realenzyklopadie [=TRE] BR 95 .T4364 1977

Primary Source Collections in translation

Ante-Nicene, Nicene & Post-Nicene Fathers BR 60 .A4 (Link to open access version below)

Classics of Western Spirituality [series] BL 70 .C52

Library of Christian Classics [series] BR 45 .L52

Luther’s Works BR 330 .E5 1955***

Research Tools and Methods/Study Guides/Atlases

Augsburg Historical Atlas of Christianity BR 98 .A52 1967

PERIOD SOURCES

Early Church/Patristic Period

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity BR 162.2 .E53 1997***

Patrology BR 67 .Q39 1992

Patrologia Graeca / Latina BR 60 .M5311532***

Byzantine, Medieval, and Renaissance Periods

Cambridge Mediaeval History D 117 .C17 1966

Dictionary of the Middle Ages D 114 .D55 1982 - 1988

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance CB 351 .E52 1999 v. 1-6

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium DF 521 .093 1991***

Women in the Middle Ages HQ 1143 .W643 2003 v. 1-2

Reformation Period

Calvin literature BR 301; BX 9418

Luther literature BR 325

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation BR 302.8 .O93 1996***

DENOMINATIONAL SOURCES

Catholic (General)

Decrees of the Ecumenical Councils BX 825 .A 1990

Documents of Vatican II BX 830 .A3 G3 1989

New Catholic Encyclopedia BX 841 .N44 2003

The Papal Encyclicals BX 860 .A4 E5 1981

Orthodox

Dictionary of Greek Orthodoxy BX 230 .P37 1992

The Orthodox Church: an introduction to its history, doctrine, and spiritual culture BX 320.3 M34 2008 (non-reference)

Presbyterian/Reformed (American)

Presb. Church: General Assembly Minutes (various years) BX 8952.1

Book of Order [PCUSA] BX 8969.6 .P74

Other

International Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements BR 1644 .D53 2002

The Baptists BX 6235 .B628 1988

Charismatic Movement: A Guide BR 1644.5 .U6 J66 1995

U.S. History (General)

Churches and Church Membership in the U.S. BR 526 .C48 1992

Encyclopedia of American Religious History BL 2525 .Q44 1996

Handbook of Denominations BR 516.5 .M38 2010

*** indicates the title is available electronically; PTS user name/password required

Ante-Nicene & Post-Nicene Fathers | Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Freely available translations of classic Christian literature including John Calvin's commentaries and patristic texts. The mission of the CCEL is to build up the church by making classic Christian writings available and promoting their use.

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity (e-book) by Everett Ferguson (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0203456181
Publication Date: 2013-10-08

Luther's Works (The Works of Martin Luther)
Digital version of the 55-volume set of Luther's Works, a monumental translation project by Fortress Press and Concordia Publishing House which was published in print in 1957. Useful for church historians, theologians, Luther scholars, and Christians in general. (Find Luther's Works (Volumes 1-55) in the library's print reference collection at REF BR330 .E5 1955.)
New Pauly Online
Modern reference work for the ancient world covering 2,000+ years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. The English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.

The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium (e-book) by Alexander P. Kazhdan (Editor)
Call Number: Online
Also available in print at REF DF521 .O93 1991
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church (e-book) by F. L. Cross (Editor); E. A. Livingstone (Editor)
Call Number: Online
Also available in print at REF BR95 .O93 2005
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation (e-book) by Hans J. Hillerbrand (Editor)
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 1996
Also available in print at REF BR302.8 .O93 1996

Patrologiae Graecae
Electronic version of Migne's Greek patristic texts, with Latin translations.
Patrologia Latina Database
Covers the works of the Latin Fathers from Tertullian around 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. In 221 volumes, it covers most major and minor Latin authors, and contains the most influential works of late ancient and early medieval theology, philosophy, history, and literature.