Curated Bibliographies

• 2025 BTLI - Reimagining The Black Church – The Past Promise and Prophetic Potential of Black Theology

  July 14-18, 2025 This conference seeks to engage scholars, clergy, activists, and community leaders in a critical exploration of the historical contributions of Black Theology, while imagining its role in addressing contemporary issues. We will reflect on the ways the Black Church has served as a prophetic voice for justice and equality and discuss how it can continue to shape the future through leadership, innovation, and advocacy.
• 2024 BTLI: Beyond the Label of Pentecostalism: The Holy Spirit at Work in Many Spaces and Places Conference

  Princeton Seminary speakers included president Dr. Jonathan Walton and Full Professor, Dr. Keri Day. Attendees came away with knowledge on how to take action on the issues facing the Black church and how to lead within their communities and churches.
• Betsey Stockton’s Neighbors: Princeton’s Black Community in the Era of the Civil War (YouTube)

  June 19, 2024 NJ State Library webinar. Presenter: Dr. Gregory Nobles
• Black Theology and Leadership Institute (BTLI) | Princeton Theological Seminary

  Annual weeklong intensive continuing education event for clergy and laity that includes training, worship, and fellowship. All interested leaders are urged to apply, including those who may not have formal theological training. BTLI is limited to 50 fellows. Applications open January 1, 2025 and close April 15, 2025. The Annual Black Theology and Leadership Institute (BTLI) is sponsored by the Betsey Stockton Center for Black Church Studies at Princeton Theological Seminary.

• Great preachers : Peter Gomes (DVD) by Peter J. Gomes, Bill Turpie, Odyssey Productions Ltd.

  Call Number: DVD BV4211.2.G743 P48 2009

  Publication Date: 2000

• Black Life in America, Series 1, 2 and 3

  The content in this database is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications and presents the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today. Introducing Black Life in America (video)

• Oxford African American Studies Center

  More than 20,000 articles, over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps relating to the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Among the Oxford reference sources included are Black Women in America, The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, and Africana. Subjects include arts, leisure, business, economics, education, politics, history, religion, science, and medicine.
• Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law

  This collection, part of HeinOnline's Social Justice Suite, brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Searching tools and tips, plus an entire guide from HeinOnline.

  more... less...

  The Wright Library has registered for this free resource and is required to proxy access as for other subscriptions. The collection is free for anyone with an interest in the topic, but registration is required, https://home.heinonline.org/subscriptions/social-justice-suite/.
• Social Justice Suite

  Five collections from HeinOnline. Follow the link for details.

• 2025 Prathia Hall Lecture: Dr. Danielle McGuire, he Radical Roots of the Montgomery Bus Boycott and its Lessons for Today

  Understanding the real history of the Montgomery Bus Boycott, and not just the simplistic fable, offers enduring lessons about organizing, resistance, and the power of collective action—tools we need now more than ever. RSVP to attend in person or online
• Let the Church Say, ‘Amen!’ Music of the African American Worship Experience | Princeton Theological Seminary

  February 7, 2025 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm, featuring guest artist, William Nemon Heard, vocalist; hosted by the Association of Black Seminarians and the Seminary Chapel Office. Concert is free and open to the public.
• Womanish Theology: Discovering God through the Lens of Black Girlhood | Princeton Theological Seminary

  February 13, 2025 • 6PM ET • Betsey Stockton Center for Black Church Studies Hybrid Event. Join us for an engaging book discussion featuring Khristi Lauren Adams on Discovering God through the Lens of Black Girlhood, a profound exploration of faith, identity, and spirituality through the unique experiences of Black girls and women.
• Plenty Good Room: Reimagining Economic Justice in Our Communities | Princeton Theological Seminary

  February 19, 2025 • 6:30–8:00PM ET • Betsey Stockton Center for Black Church Studies Hybrid Event featuring author Rev. Andrew Wilkes, Ph.D. This discussion will delve into the possibilities of building a society where everyone has access to what they need. We'll examine how economic justice can be reimagined through a lens of abundance rather than scarcity and how communities can work together to create a more equitable future.
• A Sacred Storm: When God Speaks Through Radical Disruption | Princeton Theological Seminary

  February 25, 2025 • 6:30–8:00PM ET • Betsey Stockton Center for Black Church Studies Virtual Event featuring Christopher Michael Jones. A Sacred Storm wrestles with the contention that Hip-hop emerged during the late 1970s and early 1980s on the fringe of urban decay as a prophetic response to the death-dealing effects of Ronald Reagan’s voodoo economics.
• 2024 Geddes W. Hanson Lecture with Claudrena N. Harold (YouTube)

  October 23, 2024 “Go Tell Somebody: Gospel Music, Black Liberation, and the Politics of Freedom in the Soul and Hip-Hop Eras.”
• The 2023 Dr. Martin Luther King Lecture | Dr. Lerone A. Martin (YouTube)

  April 26, 2023 - Dr. Lerone A. Martin, Associate Professor of Religious Studies and the Martin Luther King, Jr., Centennial Chair and Director of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute at Stanford University
• 2022 Martin Luther King, Jr. Lecture: Dr. Dwight N. Hopkins (YouTube)

  February 17, 2022 Speaker: Dr. Dwight N. Hopkins, the Alexander Campbell Professor at the University of Chicago Lecture: “Faith and Wealth: Black Liberation Theology & ML King, Jr.”
• 2022 Prathia Hall Lecture: Dr. Renita J. Weems (YouTube)

  March 3, 2022 Dr. Weems' lecture is titled “Learning to Think Better Than We Have Been Trained: Black Women and the Academic Study of Religion.” Presented by the Center for Theology, Women, and Gender at Princeton Theological Seminary
• Addressing Theological Questions and Concerns of Importance to the Black Church

  Rev. Dr. David Latimore reflects on his first year of service as director of the Betsey Stockton Center and shares his vision for the future
• Afterlives of Slavery Conference (YouTube)

  October 17–19, 2022 Venue: Ministerial Complex, Monrovia, Liberia - Colonization, Christianity, and Commerce: The Afterlives of Slavery in the Trans-Atlantic World
  An international conference jointly organized by Princeton Theological Seminary, Howard University School of Divinity, Smithsonian National Museum of African American History & Culture, and the University of Liberia. https://afterlivesconference.ptsem.edu/
• Afterlives of Slavery Conference: Part 2, October 19–21, 2023

  The Afterlives of Slavery Conference, a two-part series presented jointly by Princeton Theological Seminary, Howard University Divinity School, the Smithsonian National Museum of African History and Culture, and the University of Liberia. The first conference took place in Monrovia, Liberia, from October 17-19, 2022; the second conference October 19-21, 2023 in Washington, D.C.
• Association of Black Seminarians | Theological Commons

  Keyword search in Theological Commons. Results include archival files, audio recordings, and periodicals (Alumni News, Handbook, inSpire, Wineskin, etc.)
• The Betsey Stockton Center for Black Church Studies at Princeton Theological Seminary

  The Betsey Stockton Center for Black Church Studies exists to highlight the theological and religious witness, which arises out of the African American and African Diaspora Christian experience. The center helps to prepare men and women for vocational ministry or scholarly pursuits shaped by a wider knowledge and deeper appreciation of black life within American and global Christianity.
• The Black Preaching Response to Cultural Trauma | Theological Commons

  Conference Paper; Copyright © 2017 Nicole D. McDonald. Presented here with permission of Nicole D. McDonald and the Academy of Homiletics.
• Class lecture: The House of Israel and the Black Experience | Theological Commons

  Audio, April 15, 1971, Charles T. Fritsch, 1912–1989, and Edler Garnett Hawkins, 1908–1977, course in Old Testament
• Recap: The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Lecture 2021

  On March 1, Dr. Marc Lamont Hill delivered the 2021 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Lecture at Princeton Theological Seminary. Presented by the Association of Black Seminarians and livestreamed on Princeton Seminary's YouTube channel for attendees, Hill's lecture was titled “The Power of Protest: From Civil Rights to Black Lives Matter.”
• The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Lecture, 2020 (video recording)

  February 25, 2020 “We Don’t Need a Black Messiah: The Crisis of Civilization and Aspirational Black Patriarchy” Speaker: Dr. Tamura Lomax, author, scholar-activist, and cofounder of The Feminist Wire
• Legacy and Mission: Theological Education and the History of Slavery (video playlist)

  April 8-9, 2019 at Princeton Theological Seminary
• Payne Theological Seminary and A.M.E. Church Archive | Theological Commons

  A featured collection in the Theological Commons, The Payne Theological Seminary and A.M.E. Church Archive includes two subcollections organized into twenty-one thematic categories of images and textual materials for the study of the history of the African Methodist Episcopal (A.M.E.) denomination and Black Church tradition while chronicling the leadership and legacy of Payne Theological Seminary. Some materials are cross-referenced in multiple subcollections.
• Prathia Hall: A lifetime of speaking out (inSpire, summer 1998) | Theological Commons

  See page 26, also viewable in the Internet Archive here:
  https://archive.org/details/inspire314unse/page/n101/mode/2up

  more... less...

  https://webarchive.ptsem.edu/?action=seed&collection-id=3507&seed-id=1109562 Captured as part of the Web Archive, Princeton Theological Seminary Institutional Content Collection, 2016
• Princeton Seminary and Slavery

  This report begins to trace the complicated story of Princeton Seminary and its relationship to slavery.
• Princeton Theological Seminary and Slavery | Princeton and Slavery Project

  by James Moorhead. Princeton Theological Seminary’s 19th century faculty and students encountered enslaved people as a familiar part of life. Though early leaders of the seminary owned slaves and largely failed to condemn the institution of slavery, some notable alumni—including the first African American man to graduate from a theological seminary in the United States—became prominent antislavery activists.

  more... less...

  https://slavery.princeton.edu/about/how-to-cite
• Public lecture: Stories Yet to Be Told : Slavery, Segregation, and the Legacy of Theodore Sedgwick Wright | Theological Commons (audio)

  March 20, 2012, Yolanda Nicole Pierce
  Series: Princeton in the Church’s Service: A Conference Celebrating the History and Heritage of Princeton Theological Seminary
  Series: Bicentennial Celebration
  Series: Journey of a Seminary: An Honest Look, Lecture 3
• Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. - Curated bibliography

  Selected titles and recordings related to Martin Luther King, Jr., his life and work
• Rev. Dr. Yvette A. Flunder | The Prathia Hall Lecture (audio recording)

  Bishop Flunder spoke at Princeton Seminary on February 6, 2019
• Series: Association of Black Seminarians

  From the Princeton Theological Seminary Media Archive
• Series: Black History Week

  From the Princeton Theological Seminary Media Archive
• Through the Eyes of Theodore Sedgwick Wright | Theological Commons (audio recording)

  October 5, 2005, Lecturer: Daniel Morrison, Series: Theological Student Fellowship Forum

• 

  Journal of African American History

  A journal of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History
  Print - PER E185 .J86 - and online (login required)

• Activism in the name of God: religion and Black feminist public intellectuals from the nineteenth century to the present by Jami L. Carlacio (Editor)

  Call Number: E185.96 .A23 2023

  ISBN: 9781496845689

  Publication Date: 2023-08-16
• African American readings of Paul : reception, resistance, and transformation by Lisa M. Bowens; Emerson B. Powery (Foreword by); Beverly Roberts Gaventa (Afterword by)

  Call Number: BV4208.U6 B69 2020

  ISBN: 9780802876768

  Publication Date: 2020-10-01

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon

• African American Readings of Paul: Reception, Resistance & Transformation (podcast)

  In Episode 15 of Delgado Podcast, Mike Delgado speaks with Prof. Lisa M. Bowens, PhD about her recent book, African American Readings of Paul: Reception, Resistance & Transformation. Listen to the podcast or watch the video of their conversation, posted November 24, 2020.

• Anchored in the current : discovering Howard Thurman as educator, activist, guide, and prophet by Gregory C. Ellison II

  Call Number: BX6495.T53 A63 2020

  ISBN: 9780664260668

  Publication Date: 2020-10-13

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Azusa reimagined : a radical vision of religious and democratic belonging by Keri Day

  Call Number: BX6194.A7 D39 2022

  ISBN: 9781503615236

  Publication Date: 2022-06-07

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• The Black church : this is our story, this is our song by Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

  Call Number: BR563.B53 G295 2021

  ISBN: 9781984880338

  Publication Date: 2021-02-16
• Black is a church : Christianity and the contours of African American life by Josef Sorett

  Call Number: BR563.B53 S67 2023

  ISBN: 9780190615130

  Publication Date: 2023-03-21

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Black LGBT Adults in the US: LGBT Well Being at the Intersection of Race (e-book) by Soon Kyu Choi, Bianca D.M. Wilson, Christy Mallory

  Call Number: Online

  Publication Date: 2021-01

  Choi Soon Kyu; et al. Black LGBT Adults in the US: LGBT Well Being at the Intersection of Race. Los Angeles, The Williams Institute.
• Black liturgies : prayers, poems, and meditations for staying human by Cole Arthur Riley

  Call Number: BL625.2 .A79 2024

  ISBN: 9780593593646

  Publication Date: 2024-01-16
• Black Samson : the untold story of an American icon by Nyasha Junior; Jeremy Schipper

  Call Number: E185.625 .J85 2020

  ISBN: 9780190689780

  Publication Date: 2020-07-01

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• A Black Theology of Liberation by James H. Cone; Peter J. Paris (Introduction by); Kelly Brown Douglas (Afterword by)

  Call Number: BT82.7 .C666 2020

  ISBN: 1626983852

  Publication Date: 2020-11-18

  50th Anniversary Edition
  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Black visions of the Holy Land : African American Christian engagement with Israel and Palestine by Roger Baumann

  Call Number: BT93.8 B38 2024

  ISBN: 0231198450

  Publication Date: 2024-04-30
• Crusade for Justice : the autobiography of Ida B. Wells (e-book) by Ida B. Wells; Alfreda M. Duster (Editor); Eve L. Ewing (Foreword by); Michelle Duster (Afterword by)

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9780226691428

  Publication Date: 2020-05-13

  Also available in print at E185.97.B26 A3 1972
• Darkening Blackness : race, gender, class, and pessimism in 21st-century Black thought by Norman Ajari; Matthew B. Smith (Translator)

  Call Number: E184.7 .A3613 2024

  ISBN: 9781509554997

  Publication Date: 2024-02-06
• Decolonizing existentialism and phenomenology: the liberation of philosophies of freedom and identity by Jina Fast

  Call Number: B818.5 .F37 2024

  ISBN: 9781538178034

  Publication Date: 2023-11-15
• Do black lives matter? : how Christian scriptures speak to Black empowerment by Lisa M. Bowens and Dennis R. Edwards (editors)

  Call Number: BR563.B53 D6 2023

  ISBN: 9781666705416

  Publication Date: 2023-06-20

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• The education of Betsey Stockton : an odyssey of slavery and freedom by Gregory Nobles

  Call Number: E185.97.S86 N63 2022

  ISBN: 9780226697727

  Publication Date: 2022-06-13

  Another, non-circulating copy is in Special Collections at AM PRES E185.97.S86 N63 2022
• Fannie Lou Hamer's Revolutionary Practical Theology: Racial and Environmental Justice Concerns (e-book) by Karen D. Crozier

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9789004438071

  Publication Date: 2020-10-12

  Also available in print at E185.97.H35 C76 2021
• Finding God in all the Black places : sacred imaginings in Black popular culture by Beretta E. Smith-Shomade

  Call Number: BL625.2 .S64 2025

  ISBN: 9781978839779

  Publication Date: 2024-10-11
• First to fall : Elijah Lovejoy and the fight for a free press in the age of slavery by Ken Ellingwood

  Call Number: E449 .E55 2021

  ISBN: 9781643137025

  Publication Date: 2021-05-04
• For My People: Black Theology and the Black Church - 40th Anniversary Edition by James H. Cone

  Call Number: BT82.7 .C67 2024

  ISBN: 9781626985803

  Publication Date: 2024-10-23

  An earlier edition is available at BT82.7 .C67 1984 and as an e-book: Search Summon
• The Grimkes : the legacy of slavery in an American family by Kerri K. Greenidge

  Call Number: E185.98.A1 G74 2023

  ISBN: 9781324090847

  Publication Date: 2022-11-08

  Another copy is available in Special Collections and Archives, Wright Library at AM PRES E185.98.A1 G74 2023
• Have you got good religion? : Black women's faith, courage, and moral leadership in the Civil Rights Movement by AnneMarie Mingo

  Call Number: BL625.7 .M56 2024

  ISBN: 9780252045653

  Publication Date: 2024-03-26

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• How to Build a Democracy: From Fannie Lou Hamer and Barbara Jordan to Stacey Abrams (e-book) by Christina M. Greer

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9781009034586

  Publication Date: 2024-11-21
• Indigeneity in African Religions : Oza worldviews, cosmologies and religious cultures (e-book) by Afe Adogame

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9781350008267

  Publication Date: 2021-10-22

  Also available in print at BL2480.I2 A36 2022
• Intergenerational catechesis : revitalizing faith through African-American storytelling by timone a davis

  Call Number: BT83.78 .D386 2021

  ISBN: 1498595944

  Publication Date: 2021-03-12
• Interpreting 2 Peter Through African American Women's Moral Writings by Shively T. J. Smith

  Call Number: BS2795.52 .S654 2023

  ISBN: 1628373164

  Publication Date: 2022-03-01
• Katie's canon : womanism and the soul of the black community (25th anniversary ed.) by Katie Geneva Cannon

  Call Number: PS153.B53 C36 2021

  ISBN: 9781506471297

  Publication Date: 2021-11-23

  Expanded 25th anniversary edition
  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Let the legends preach : sermons by living legends at the E.K. Bailey Preaching Conference by Jared E. Alcántara (editor)

  Call Number: BV4241 .A43 2021

  ISBN: 9781725266896

  Publication Date: 2021-04-01

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Liberation and the cosmos : conversations with the elders by Barbara A. Holmes

  Call Number: BR563.B53 H6538 2023

  ISBN: 9781506488424

  Publication Date: 2023-02-28

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
  An earlier edition is also available, BR563.B53 H6538 2008
• Missiology reimagined : the missions theology of the nineteenth-century African American missionary by Kent Michael Shaw

  Call Number: BR563.B53 S488 2024

  ISBN: 9781666768244

  Publication Date: 2024-03-11
• Night flyer : Harriet Tubman and the faith dreams of a free people by Tiya Miles

  Call Number: E444.T82 M55 2024

  ISBN: 9780593491164

  Publication Date: 2024-06-18
• Notes of a native daughter : testifying in theological education by Keri Day

  Call Number: BV4080 .D39 2021

  ISBN: 9780802878823

  Publication Date: 2021-06-17

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon

• Keri L. Day: Why we must testify | Faith & Leadership

  June 28, 2021 - "Keri L. Day sees a unique space in theological education for Black students and professors, and it contributed to the title of her new book..."

• Of effacement : blackness and non-being by David Marriott

  Call Number: B808.8 .M37 2024

  ISBN: 9781503628786

  Publication Date: 2023-11-28
• Open wounds : a story of racial tragedy, trauma, and redemption by Phil Allen, Jr.

  Call Number: HV6773.53.S6 A55 2021

  ISBN: 1506469337

  Publication Date: 2021-02-09

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Plenty good room : co-creating an economy of enough for all by Andrew Wilkes

  Call Number: HX86 .W55 2024

  ISBN: 9781506491516

  Publication Date: 2024-06-25
• Preaching Romans from here : diverse voices engage Paul's most famous letter by Lisa M. Bowens, Scot McKnight and Joseph B. Modica (editors)

  Call Number: BS2665.54 .P74 2023

  ISBN: 9781725258174

  Publication Date: 2023-12-20

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Race & restoration : Churches of Christ and the black freedom struggle by Barclay Key

  Call Number: BX7075 .K49 2020

  ISBN: 9780807172742

  Publication Date: 2020-05-06

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Racialized Health, COVID-19, and Religious Responses (e-book) by R. Drew Smith, Stephanie C. Boddie, Bertis D. English (editors)

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9781003214281

  Publication Date: 2022-03-10

  Open access
  Also available in print at RA448.5.B53 R33 2022
• Reading Pleasures: Everyday Black Living in Early America (e-book) by Tara A. Bynum

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9780252053788

  Publication Date: 2023-01-10
• Reading while Black : African American biblical interpretation as an exercise in hope by Esau McCaulley

  Call Number: BS521.2 .M333 2020

  ISBN: 9780830854868

  Publication Date: 2020-09-01

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• She calls herself Betsey Stockton : the illustrated odyssey of a Princeton slave by Constance K. Escher

  Call Number: E185.97.S86 E83 2022

  ISBN: 9781725275454

  Publication Date: 2022-01-28

  Another copy available for use in the library at AM PRES E185.97.S86 E83 2022
  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Shoutin' in the fire : an American epistle by Danté Stewart

  Call Number: BR1725.S7449 A3 2021

  ISBN: 9780593239629

  Publication Date: 2021-10-12
• Stony the road we trod : African American biblical interpretation (30th Anniversary Expanded Edition) by Cain Hope Felder

  Call Number: BS511.2 .S76 2021

  ISBN: 1506472044

  Publication Date: 2021-11-30

  Thirtieth anniversary expanded edition
  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
  Earlier editions also available
• Storied witness: the theology of Black women preachers in 19th-century America by Kate Hanch

  Call Number: BR563.B53 H345 2022

  ISBN: 9781506481876

  Publication Date: 2022-10-18

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Take back what the devil stole : an African American prophet's encounters in the spirit world by Onaje X. O. Woodbine

  Call Number: BR128.A16 W66 2021

  ISBN: 9780231197168

  Publication Date: 2021-04-06

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• The Toni Morrison Book Club by Juda Bennett; Winnifred Brown-Glaude; Cassandra Jackson; Piper Kendrix Williams

  Call Number: LC6651 .B615 2020

  ISBN: 029932494X

  Publication Date: 2020-02-04
• True to our native land : an African American New Testament commentary, Second Edition by Brian K. Blount, Gay L. Byron, and Emerson B. Powery, editors

  Call Number: BS2341.52 .T78 2024

  ISBN: 1506483003

  Publication Date: 2024-10-22

  Another copy available at REF BS2341.52 .T78 2024; also available as an e-book: Search Summon An earlier edition is also available; REF BS2341.52 .T78 2007 and BS2341.52 .T78 2007
• Womanish theology : discovering God through the lens of Black girlhood by Khristi Lauren Adams

  Call Number: BV4455 .A338 2024

  ISBN: 9781587436345

  Publication Date: 2024-08-20

• The 1619 Project : a new American origin story by edited by Nikole Hannah-Jones, Caitlin Roper, Ilena Silverman, and Jake Silverstein

  Call Number: E441 .A15 2021

  ISBN: 9780593230572

  Publication Date: 2021-11-16
• African American philosophers and philosophy: an introduction to the history, concepts, and contemporary issues by Stephen C. Ferguson; John H. McClendon

  Call Number: B944.A37 M33 2019

  ISBN: 1350057940

  Publication Date: 2019-06-13

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• African American Religious Experiences: a case study of twentieth century trends and practices by Gloria Robinson Boyd

  Call Number: BR563 .B69 2010

  ISBN: 9781443819831

  Publication Date: 2010-05-01

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• AIDS, Sexuality, and the Black Church: making the wounded whole by Angelique Harris

  Call Number: BR563.B53 H363 2010

  ISBN: 9781433109430

  Publication Date: 2010-06-30
• Augustus Tolton: the church is the true liberator by Joyce Duriga

  Call Number: BX4705.T6745 D87 2018

  ISBN: 9780814644744

  Publication Date: 2018-09-15
• The Autobiography of Malcolm X by Malcolm X with the assistance of Alex Haley

  Call Number: E185.97 .X2 1973

  ISBN: 0345304950

  Publication Date: 1981-11-12

  Earlier edition also available
• The Autobiography of Martin Luther King, Jr. by edited by Clayborne Carson

  Call Number: E185.97.K5 A52 1998

  ISBN: 0446524123

  Publication Date: 1998-11-01
• Becoming an anti-racist church : journeying toward wholeness by Joseph Barndt

  Call Number: BT734.2 .B33 2011

  ISBN: 9780800664602

  Publication Date: 2011-03-01

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

  Call Number: E185.615 .C6335 2015

  ISBN: 9780812993547

  Publication Date: 2015-07-14
• The Black Church in the African American Experience (e-book) by C. Eric Lincoln and Lawrence H. Mamiya

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9780822381648

  Publication Date: 1990-11-07

  Also available in print at BR563.B53 L55 1990
• Black New Jersey: 1664 to the present day by Graham Russell Gao Hodges

  Call Number: E185.93.N54 H64 2019

  ISBN: 0813595185

  Publication Date: 2019

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Black Practical Theology by Dale P. Andrews (Editor); Robert London Smith (Editor)

  Call Number: BT82.7 .B53 2015

  ISBN: 9781602584358

  Publication Date: 2015-08-01
• Black prophetic fire : in dialogue with and edited by Christa Buschendorf by Cornel West; Christa Buschendorf (Editor)

  Call Number: E185.96 .W47 2014

  ISBN: 9780807003527

  Publication Date: 2014-10-07

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Black prophets of justice : activist clergy before the Civil War by David E. Swift

  Call Number: BR563.B53 S97 1989

  ISBN: 0807114618

  Publication Date: 1989-07-01

  "...examines the interlocking careers and influence of six black clergymen, two of them fugitive slaves, who lived in antebellum North and protested the racism of the time: Samuel Cornish, Theodore Wright, Charles Ray, Henry Highland Garnet, Amos Beman, and James Pennington"
• Black protest; history, documents, and analyses, 1619 to the present by Joanne Grant (edited with introd. and commentary by)

  Call Number: E185 .G76

  Publication Date: 1968
• The Black Revolution on Campus (e-book) by Martha Biondi

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9780520953529

  Publication Date: 2012-08-06
• Black scholars in White space : new vistas in African American studies from the Christian academy by Anthony B. Bradley

  Call Number: LC3727 .B65 2015

  ISBN: 9781620329955

  Publication Date: 2015-01-19

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Black Skin, White Masks by Frantz Fanon; Richard Philcox (Translator); Kwame Anthony Appiah (Foreword by)

  Call Number: GN645 .F313 2008

  ISBN: 0802143008

  Publication Date: 2008-09-10

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
  1967, 1968 editions also available
• Black students in protest: a study of the origins of the Black student movement (e-book) by Anthony M. Orum

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 091276404X

  Publication Date: 1972-01-01
• Black theology : essays on gender perspectives by Dwight N. Hopkins

  Call Number: BT82.7 .H6553 2017

  ISBN: 9781532608186

  Publication Date: 2017-06-15

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Black Women's Christian Activism: seeking social justice in a northern suburb by Betty Livingston Adams

  Call Number: BR563.B53 A33 2016

  ISBN: 9780814745465

  Publication Date: 2016-02-16

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Breaking white supremacy : Martin Luther King Jr. and the black social gospel by Gary Dorrien

  Call Number: E185.615 .D656 2018

  ISBN: 9780300205619

  Publication Date: 2018-01-09

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• The Cambridge Companion to Black Theology by Dwight N. Hopkins (Editor); Edward P. Antonio (Editor)

  Call Number: REF BT82.7 .C363 2012

  ISBN: 9780521879866

  Publication Date: 2012-07-26

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• The Cambridge Companion to W. E. B. du Bois (e-book) by Shamoon Zamir (Editor)

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9781139798549

  Publication Date: 2008-11
• Charleston Syllabus: readings on race, racism, and racial violence by Chad Williams (Editor); Kidada E. Williams (Editor); Keisha N. Blain (Editor)

  Call Number: E184.A1 .C4445 2016

  ISBN: 9780820349565

  Publication Date: 2016-05-15
• The Christian Imagination: theology and the origins of race by Willie James Jennings

  Call Number: BT734.2 .J46 2010

  ISBN: 9780300152111

  Publication Date: 2010-05-25

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Conjuring freedom : music and masculinity in the Civil War's "Gospel Army" (e-book) by Johari Jabir

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9780814213308

  Publication Date: 2017-03-07

  Also available in print at ML3556 .J33 2017
• CORE and the strategy of nonviolence by Inge Powell Bell

  Call Number: E185.61 .B43

  Publication Date: [1968]
• The Cross and the Lynching Tree by James H. Cone

  Call Number: BR563.B53 C648 2013

  ISBN: 1626980055

  Publication Date: 2013-02-01

  Also available in a 2011 printing
  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Crossing the danger water : three hundred years of African-American writing by Deirdre Mullane

  Call Number: PS508.B53 C73 1993

  ISBN: 0385422431

  Publication Date: 1993-09-01
• Daughters of Africa: an international anthology of words and writings by women of African descent from the ancient Egyptian to the present by edited and with an introduction by Margaret Busby

  Call Number: PN6068 .D38 1992

  ISBN: 067941634X

  Publication Date: 1992-09-08
• David Walker's appeal, in four articles : together with a preamble, to the coloured citizens of the world, but in particular, and very expressly, to those of the United States of America : third and last edition, revised and published by David Walker, 183 by David Walker; James Turner (Introduction by)

  Call Number: E446 .W179 1993

  ISBN: 0933121385

  Publication Date: 1993

  Earlier and later editions also available
• Democracy in black : how race still enslaves the American soul by Eddie S. Glaude, Jr.

  Call Number: E185.615 .G548 2016

  ISBN: 9780804137416

  Publication Date: 2016-01-12
• Early Negro Writing 1760-1837 by Dorothy Porter (Selected by)

  Call Number: PS508.B53 E3 1995

  ISBN: 9780933121591

  Publication Date: 1995-02-01

  Originally published: Boston : Beacon Press, 1971.
• The Executed God: the way of the cross in lockdown America by Mark Lewis Taylor

  Call Number: HV8687 .T39 2015

  ISBN: 9781451492675

  Publication Date: 2015-11-01

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Exodus preaching: crafting sermons about justice and hope by Kenyatta R. Gilbert

  Call Number: BV4221 .G55 2018

  ISBN: 1501832573

  Publication Date: 2018-03-20

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Faces at the bottom of the well : the permanence of racism by Derrick A. Bell

  Call Number: E185.615 .B395 1992

  ISBN: 0465068170

  Publication Date: 1992-10-13

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Fearless Dialogues: a new movement for justice by Gregory C. Ellison, II; forward by Palmer Parker

  Call Number: E185.86 .E4373 2017

  ISBN: 9780664260651

  Publication Date: 2017-11-10

  Gregory C. Ellison, II ’02 MDiv ’08 PhD, Princeton Theological Seminary
  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• The Fire Next Time by James Baldwin

  Call Number: E185.61 .B195 1993

  ISBN: 9780679744726

  Publication Date: 1992-12-01

  Earlier edition also available
• The Fire This Time : a new generation speaks about race by Jesmyn Ward (Editor)

  Call Number: E185.615 .F526 2016

  ISBN: 9781501126345

  Publication Date: 2016-08-02

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Frederick Douglass, a psychobiography : rethinking subjectivity in the Western experiment of democracy by Danjuma G. Gibson

  Call Number: E449.D75 G53 2018

  ISBN: 9783319752280

  Publication Date: 2018-04-23

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Freedom faith: the womanist vision of Prathia Hall by Courtney Pace

  Call Number: E185.97.H246 P33 2019

  ISBN: 0820355062

  Publication Date: 2019-06-15

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Freedom farmers : agricultural resistance and the black freedom movement by Monica M. White

  Call Number: E185.86 .W38756 2018

  ISBN: 9781469643694

  Publication Date: 2019-01-14

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Freedom, when? by James Farmer

  Call Number: E185.61 .F23

  Publication Date: [1966, c1965]
• God's trombones; seven negro sermons in verse by James Weldon Johnson

  Call Number: PS3519 .O37 G5

  Publication Date: 1927

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
  10th printing 1977
• God Has a Dream: a vision of hope for our time by Desmond Tutu

  Call Number: BX5700.6.Z8 T8749 2004

  ISBN: 0385477848

  Publication Date: 2004-03-16
• The Ground Has Shifted: the future of the Black church in post-racial America by Walter Earl Fluker

  Call Number: BR563.B53 F58 2016

  ISBN: 9781479810383

  Publication Date: 2016-11-08

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Hell Without Fires: slavery, Christianity, and the antebellum spiritual narrative by Yolanda Pierce; foreword by Stephen W. Angell and Anthony B. Pinn, series editors

  Call Number: BR563.B53 P47 2005

  ISBN: 081302806X

  Publication Date: 2005-03-12
• How We Get Free: Black Feminism and the Combahee River Collective (e-book) by Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor (Editor)

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9781608468553

  Publication Date: 2017-12-05

  Also available in print at HQ1426 .H689 2017
• I Believe I'll Testify: the art of African American preaching by Cleophus J LaRue

  Call Number: REIGNER BV4221 .L37 2011

  ISBN: 9780664236779

  Publication Date: 2011-04-04

  BV4221 .L37 2011
  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• I bring the voices of my people: a womanist vision for racial reconciliation by Chanequa Walker-Barnes

  Call Number: BT734.2 .W28 2019

  ISBN: 0802877206

  Publication Date: 2019-10-01

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• I Hear My People Singing - Voices of African American Princeton by Kathryn Watterson; forward by Cornel West

  Call Number: F144.P9 W38 2017

  ISBN: 9780691176451

  Publication Date: 2017-06-06

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• I was born a slave : an anthology of classic slave narratives by Yuval Taylor (Editor); Charles Johnson (Foreword by)

  Call Number: E444 .I18 1999

  ISBN: 9781556523359

  Publication Date: 1999-02-01

  2 volumes
  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• If these stones could talk : African American presence in the Hopewell Valley, Sourland Mountain, and surrounding regions of New Jersey by Elaine Buck; Beverly Mills

  Call Number: E185.93.N54 B83 2018

  ISBN: 9781941948088

  Publication Date: 2018-11-07

  Related: William Stives
• I'm still here: black dignity in a world made for whiteness by Austin Channing Brown

  Call Number: E185.615 .B7335 2018

  ISBN: 9781524760854

  Publication Date: 2018-05-15

• "I'm Still Here—An Interview With Austin Channing Brown" on the Art of the Sermon podcast

• In struggle : SNCC and the Black awakening of the 1960s by Clayborne Carson

  Call Number: E185.92 .C32

  ISBN: 0674447255

  Publication Date: 1981-01-01

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Is it nation time? : contemporary essays on black power and black nationalism by Eddie S. Glaude (Editor)

  Call Number: E185.615 .I78 2002

  ISBN: 0226298213

  Publication Date: 2002-04-15
• I've got the light of freedom : the organizing tradition and the Mississippi freedom struggle by Charles M. Payne

  Call Number: E185.93.M6 P39 2007

  ISBN: 9780520251762

  Publication Date: 2007-03-16

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• James Baldwin: living in fire by Bill V. Mullen

  Call Number: PS3552.A45 Z855 2019

  ISBN: 0745338542

  Publication Date: 2019-09-20

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Jesus and the Disinherited by Howard Thurman

  Call Number: BS2417.S7 T5 1984

  ISBN: 0913408778

  Publication Date: 1981-01-01

  A later edition (1996) in print and e-book versions are also available Search Summon
• Jezebel unhinged : loosing the black female body in religion and culture by Tamura Lomax

  Call Number: E185.86 .L625 2018

  ISBN: 1478000791

  Publication Date: 2018-10-16

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Jonah's Gourd Vine by Zora Neale Hurston; Rita Dove (Foreword by)

  Call Number: PS3515.U789 J66 1990

  ISBN: 0060916516

  Publication Date: 1990-01-22

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon (though it may be a different edition)
• The Journey and Promise of African American Preaching by Kenyatta R. Gilbert

  Call Number: BV4221 .G55 2011

  ISBN: 9780800696276

  Publication Date: 2011-04-01

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Langston's Salvation : American religion and the bard of Harlem by Wallace D. Best

  Call Number: PS3515.U274 Z6173 2017

  ISBN: 9781479834891

  Publication Date: 2017-11-07

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Malcolm X : a life of reinvention by Manning Marable

  Call Number: BP223.Z8 L57636 2012

  ISBN: 9780143120322

  Publication Date: 2011-12-28
• Martin and Malcolm and America: a dream or a nightmare? by James H. Cone

  Call Number: E185.97.K5 C66 2012

  ISBN: 9781570759796

  Publication Date: 2012-11-01

  20th Anniversary edition
  Other editions:
  E185.97.K5 C66 1991
  E185.97.K5 C663 1993 Loy H. Witherspoon lectures in religious studies
• Memoir of the Rev. Elijah P. Lovejoy : who was murdered in defence of the liberty of the press, at Alton, Illinois, Nov. 7, 1837 (e-book) by Joseph C. Lovejoy, 1805-1871

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9780524049631

  Publication Date: 1838

  Elijah P. Lovejoy, Class of 1834
• More Power in the Pulpit: how America's most effective Black preachers prepare their sermons by Cleophus J. LaRue (Editor)

  Call Number: BV4241.5 .P67 2009

  ISBN: 9780664232788

  Publication Date: 2009-04-20

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• The Mount of vision : African American prophetic tradition, 1800-1950 (e-book) by Christopher Z. Hobson

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9780199980109

  Publication Date: 2012
• My grandmother's hands: racialized trauma and the pathway to mending our hearts and bodies (e-book) by Resmaa Menakem

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 1942094485

  Publication Date: 2017-08-21
• My Life, My Love, My Legacy by Coretta Scott King; as told to the Rev. Dr. Barbara Reynolds

  Call Number: E185.97.K47 A3 2017

  ISBN: 9781627795982

  Publication Date: 2017-01-17
• Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave, and Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl by Frederick Douglass; Harriet Jacobs; with Kwame Anthony Appiah (Introduction by)

  Call Number: E449 .D749 2004x

  ISBN: 0345478231

  Publication Date: 2004-12-28

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon (though it may not be the same edition)
• A Nation under our feet : Black political struggles in the rural South, from slavery to the great migration by Steven Hahn

  Call Number: E185.2 .H15 2003

  ISBN: 0674011694

  Publication Date: 2003-11-10

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• The New abolition: W. E. B. Du Bois and the Black Social Gospel by Gary Dorrien

  Call Number: BT82.7 .D677 2015

  ISBN: 9780300205602

  Publication Date: 2015-10-13
• New World A-Coming: Black religion and racial identity during the great migration by Judith Weisenfeld

  Call Number: BL625.2 .W45 2016

  ISBN: 9781479888801

  Publication Date: 2017-02-07

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• No ashes in the fire: coming of age black & free in America by Darnell L. Moore

  Call Number: HQ76.27.A37 M66 2018

  ISBN: 9781568589480

  Publication Date: 2018-05-29
• On the road to Damascus: the African-American conversion experience by Yolanda Nicole Pierce

  Call Number: BR563.B53 P54 1999a

  Publication Date: 1999

  Thesis (Ph.D.)--Cornell University, August, 1999.
  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Parable of the Brown Girl: the sacred lives of girls of color by Khristi Lauren Adams

  Call Number: BV4455 .A336 2020

  ISBN: 9781506455686

  Publication Date: 2020-02-04

  Related content: https://thedistillery.ptsem.edu/episodes/living-out-loud
  In this episode of The Distillery, a podcast from Princeton Theological Seminary, Khristi Adams shares her profound encounters with young black girls in her book, Parable of the Brown Girl: The Sacred Lives of Girls of Color, in which she uncovers the negative stereotypes put upon them, often limiting them from taking up space with pride and confidence.
• Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler

  Call Number: PS3552.U827 P37 2000

  ISBN: 0446675504

  Publication Date: 2000-01-01
• Passionately Human, No Less Divine : Religion and Culture in Black Chicago, 1915-1952 by Wallace Best

  Call Number: BR563.B53 B47 2005

  ISBN: 0691115788

  Publication Date: 2005-07-25

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Pickin' cotton on the way to church: the life and work of Father Boniface Hardin, OSB by Nancy Van Note Chism

  Call Number: BX4705.H1398 C45 2019

  ISBN: 0871954338

  Publication Date: 2018-12-01
• The Post-Black and post-White church : becoming the beloved community in a multi-ethnic world by Efrem Smith

  Call Number: BV639.M56 S65 2012

  ISBN: 9781118036587

  Publication Date: 2012-08-14

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Preacher woman sings the blues: the autobiographies of nineteenth-century African American evangelists by Richard J. Douglass-Chin

  Call Number: BV3780 .D68 2001

  ISBN: 9780826213112

  Publication Date: 2001-06-04

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Race Matters by Cornel West

  Call Number: E185.615 .W43 2001b

  ISBN: 0679749861

  Publication Date: 2001

  Earlier edition available at E185.615 .W43 1994
• Racial purity and dangerous bodies : moral pollution, Black lives, and the struggle for justice by Rima Vesely-Flad

  Call Number: HV6197.U6 V47 2017

  ISBN: 9781506420493

  Publication Date: 2017

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Reading Hebrews and 1 Peter with the African American Great Migration by Jennifer T. Kaalund; Chris Keith (Series edited by)

  Call Number: BS2280 .J86 v.598

  ISBN: 9780567679987

  Publication Date: 2018-11-29

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Reimagining Hagar : blackness and bible by Nyasha Junior

  Call Number: BS580.H24 J86 2019

  ISBN: 9780198745327

  Publication Date: 2019-07-23

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Religion of the field Negro : on Black secularism and Black theology by Vincent W. Lloyd

  Call Number: BT82.7 .L59 2018

  ISBN: 9780823277636

  Publication Date: 2017-11-07

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Religious experience and journal of Mrs. Jarena Lee (e-book) by Jarena Lee

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 0837014700

  Publication Date: 1849

  Also available in microform: Microfiche 2007-1553 MICROFORM AREA - 2ND FLOOR (NON-CIRCULATING)
  1 fiche
• Repair: redeeming the promise of abolition by Katherine Franke

  Call Number: E185.89.R45 F73 2019

  ISBN: 9781608466245

  Publication Date: 2019-05-21
• Rev. Theodore Sedgwick Wright (1797-1847) : early Princeton Theological Seminary Black Abolitionist by Daniel Paul Morrison

  Call Number: AM PRES E185.615 .M672 2005

  Publication Date: 2005

  Second Floor - Special Collections; use in library
• Roadmap to Reconciliation : Moving Communities into Unity, Wholeness and Justice by Brenda Salter McNeil; Eugene Cho (Foreword by); J. Derek McNeil (Contribution by)

  Call Number: BT738.27 .M36 2015

  ISBN: 9780830844425

  Publication Date: 2016-01-04
• Root & branch: African Americans in New York and east Jersey, 1613-1863 by Graham Russell Hodges

  Call Number: F128.9.B53 H63 1999

  ISBN: 0807824925

  Publication Date: 1999-10-04

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Said I wasn't gonna tell nobody : the making of a Black theologian by James H. Cone

  Call Number: BX4827.C65 A3 2018

  ISBN: 9781626983021

  Publication Date: 2018-10-18

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Scarlet and Black by edited by Marisa J. Fuentes and Deborah Gray White

  Call Number: LD4753 .S33 2016

  ISBN: 9780813591520

  Publication Date: 2016-12-20

  Volume 1. Slavery and dispossession in Rutgers History
  Visit the project's website at http://scarletandblack.rutgers.edu
  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Selected Works of Angelina Weld Grimké by Carolivia Herron (Editor); Angelina Weld Grimké

  Call Number: PS3513.R744 A6 1991

  ISBN: 9780195061994

  Publication Date: 1991-04-18
• Silent Covenants: Brown v. Board of Education and the unfulfilled hopes for racial reform by Derrick Bell

  Call Number: KF4155 .B38 2004

  ISBN: 9780195182477

  Publication Date: 2005-08-18
• The sin of racism : how to be set free by Selena Johnson

  Call Number: BT734.2 .J64 2006

  ISBN: 0761835091

  Publication Date: 2006-08-19
• Sisters of the spirit : three Black women's autobiographies of the nineteenth century by William L. Andrews (Editor); Jarena Lee; Zilpha Elaw; Julia A. J. Foote

  Call Number: BV3780 .S57 1986

  ISBN: 0253352606

  Publication Date: 1986-07-01

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Slave Religion: the "invisible institution" in the antebellum South by Albert J. Raboteau

  Call Number: BR563.B53 R3 2004

  ISBN: 0195174135

  Publication Date: 2004-10-07

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• A Sojourner's truth : choosing freedom and courage in a divided world by Natasha Sistrunk Robinson; foreword by Patricia Raybon

  Call Number: BR1725.R62465 A3 2018

  ISBN: 9780830845521

  Publication Date: 2018-10-02
• Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison

  Call Number: PS3563.O8749 S6 2004

  ISBN: 140003342X

  Publication Date: 2004-06-08
• The Soul of Judaism : Jews of African descent in America by Bruce D. Haynes

  Call Number: BM205 .H376 2018

  ISBN: 9781479811236

  Publication Date: 2018-08-14

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• The Souls of Black Folk by W. E. B. Du Bois; Jonathan Scott Holloway (Introduction by)

  Call Number: E185.97 .D836 2015

  ISBN: 9780300195828

  Publication Date: 2015-06-30

  Other editions are also available in print and/or online Search Summon
• Spirit in the Dark: a religious history of racial aesthetics by Josef Sorett

  Call Number: PS153.B53 S646 2016

  ISBN: 9780199844937

  Publication Date: 2016-09-01

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Spiritual and Social Transformation in African American Spiritual Churches by Margarita Simon Guillory

  Call Number: BR563.B53 G85 2018

  ISBN: 9781138307162

  Publication Date: 2017-12-19

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Tears We Cannot Stop: a sermon to white America by Michael Eric Dyson

  Call Number: E185.615 .D97 2017

  ISBN: 9781250135995

  Publication Date: 2017-01-17
• This far by faith : readings in African-American women's religious biography by Judith Weisenfeld and Richard Newman (editors)

  Call Number: BR563.B53 T463 1996

  ISBN: 041591311X

  Publication Date: 1995-12-04
• This far by faith : stories from the African American religious experience by Juan Williams; Quinton H. Dixie

  Call Number: BR563.B53 W513 2003

  ISBN: 0060188634

  Publication Date: 2003-01-07

  Companion book to the PBS series of the same name, This Far By Faith
• This Is My Story: testimonies and sermons of Black women in ministry by Cleophus J. LaRue (Editor); Carla Jones (Contribution by); Charlotte McSwine-Harris (Contribution by); Maria Thomas (Contribution by); Cecelia Barr (Contribution by); Deborah Blanks (Contribution by); Delores Carpenter (Contribution by); Claudette Copeland

  Call Number: BR563.B53 T465 2005

  ISBN: 0664227767

  Publication Date: 2005-04-05
• Toward a Womanist Ethic of Incarnation: Black bodies, the Black church, and the Council of Chalcedon by Eboni Marshall Turman

  Call Number: BT304.912 .T87 2013

  ISBN: 9781137376824

  Publication Date: 2013-12-18

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• The Trials of Phillis Wheatley : America's first Black poet and her encounters with the founding fathers by Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

  Call Number: PS866.W5 Z595 2010

  ISBN: 9781448712977

  Publication Date: 2010

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• T&T Clark Handbook of African American Theology by Frederick L. Ware, Antonia Michelle Daymond and Eric Lewis Williams (editors)

  Call Number: BT82.7 .T25 2019

  ISBN: 9780567675446

  Publication Date: 2019-07-25

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Unapologetic : a Black, queer, and feminist mandate for radical movements by Charlene A. Carruthers

  Call Number: HQ75.6.U5 C36 2018

  ISBN: 9780807019412

  Publication Date: 2018-08-28
• Understanding and Teaching the Civil Rights Movement (e-book) by Hasan Kwame Jeffries (editor)

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9780299321932

  Publication Date: 2019
• W. E. B. du Bois and the Sociology of the Black Church and Religion, 1897-1914 by Robert A. Wortham (Editor)

  Call Number: BR563.B53 D79 2018

  ISBN: 9781498530354

  Publication Date: 2017-11-30
• W.E.B. Du Bois's data portraits : visualizing Black America : the color line at the turn of the twentieth century by Whitney Battle-Baptiste and Britt Rusert, W.E.B. Du Bois Center at the University of Massachusetts Amherst Staff, editors

  Call Number: E185.86 .D846 2018

  ISBN: 9781616897062

  Publication Date: 2018-10-23
• Walking with the wind : a memoir of the movement by John Lewis with Michael D'Orso

  Call Number: E840.8.L43 L48 2015

  ISBN: 9781476797717

  Publication Date: 2015-02-10
• The Water Dancer : a novel by Ta-Nehisi Coates

  Call Number: PS3603.O17 W38 2019

  ISBN: 9780399590597

  Publication Date: 2019-09-24
• We were eight years in power : an American tragedy by Ta-Nehisi Coates

  Call Number: E907 .C63 2017

  ISBN: 9780399590566

  Publication Date: 2017-10-03
• Were you there? : Lenten reflections on the spirituals by Luke A. Powery

  Call Number: BV85 .P695 2019

  ISBN: 9780664260309

  Publication Date: 2019-01-08
• What a woman ought to be and to do : Black professional women workers during the Jim Crow era (e-book) by Stephanie J. Shaw

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 0226751309

  Publication Date: 2010-01-15
• The Wretched of the Earth by Frantz Fanon ; translated from the French by Richard Philcox ; introductions by Jean-Paul Sartre and Homi K. Bhabha

  Call Number: DT33 .F313 2004

  ISBN: 0802141323

  Publication Date: 2005-03-12

  Earlier editions also available

• #1619Project

  Tweets with the hashtag #1619Project. The 1619 Project is an ongoing initiative from The New York Times Magazine that began in August 2019, the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery. It aims to reframe the country’s history by placing the consequences of slavery and the contributions of black Americans at the very center of our national narrative.
• The 1619 Project | The New York Times Magazine

  The 1619 Project is an ongoing initiative from The New York Times Magazine that began in August 2019, the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery. It aims to reframe the country’s history by placing the consequences of slavery and the contributions of black Americans at the very center of our national narrative.
• Address on Black Women in Ministry, 1981 (audio recording)

  Lecture given by Dr. W. Datsun at Princeton Seminary in the Mackay Campus Center on April 10, 1981 as part of an ABS (Association of Black Seminarians) Symposium
• African-American Heritage Collection | International Mission Board Archives

  This collection contains transcribed letters, articles, and reports related to the IMB's early African-American missionaries to Liberia and Sierra Leone (1846-1861), including John Day, Boston J. Drayton, A. P. Davis, B. P. Yates, and others.
• African American Leaders and Congregations Collecting Initiative | Presbyterian Historical Society (PHS)

  This collecting initiative redoubles PHS's efforts to document Black lives, work, and witness in an increasingly multicultural Church—from the organization of the First African Presbyterian Church in 1807 to the election of the first African American stated clerk of the PC(USA) in 2016.
• African American Readings of Paul: Reception, Resistance & Transformation (podcast)

  In Episode 15 of Delgado Podcast, Mike Delgado speaks with Prof. Lisa M. Bowens, PhD about her recent book, African American Readings of Paul: Reception, Resistance & Transformation. Listen to the podcast or watch the video of their conversation, posted November 24, 2020.
• The Black Church | PBS

  The Black Church: This Is Our Story, This Is Our Song is a moving four-hour, two-part series from executive producer, host and writer Henry Louis Gates, Jr., the Alphonse Fletcher University Professor at Harvard University and director of the Hutchins Center for African and African American Research, that traces the 400-year-old story of the Black church in America, all the way down to its bedrock role as the site of African American survival and grace, organizing and resilience, thriving and testifying, autonomy and freedom, solidarity and speaking truth to power. A production of McGee Media, Inkwell Media and WETA Washington, D.C, in association with Get Lifted.
• Black Perspectives | African American Intellectual History Society

  "Black Perspectives is the leading online platform for public scholarship on global black thought, history, and culture."

  more... less...

  Formerly the African American Intellectual History Society (AAIHS) Blog
• Black Students at Princeton Seminary Want Reparations from School to Make ‘Amends’ for Past Ties to Slavery

  By Tanasia Kenney - March 29, 2019 - Atlanta Black Star
• $28M for slavery reparations isn’t enough, students tell Princeton Seminary | The Why from WHYY

  Air Date: November 21, 2019. Princeton Theological Seminary recently announced that it would set aside nearly $28 million for reparations to make up for the school’s ties to slavery — one of the largest efforts of its kind. The Why’s Annette John-Hall explains why some black students at the seminary are rejecting the proposal, and how it’s forcing a bigger conversation about what making reparations should actually look like.
• The Betsey Stockton Center for Black Church Studies at Princeton Theological Seminary

  The Betsey Stockton Center for Black Church Studies exists to highlight the theological and religious witness, which arises out of the African American and African Diaspora Christian experience. The center helps to prepare men and women for vocational ministry or scholarly pursuits shaped by a wider knowledge and deeper appreciation of black life within American and global Christianity.
• Celebrating Black History Month | National Museum of African American History and Culture

  Throughout February, the Museum is celebrating Black History Month with a host of new programs, initiatives and experiences.
• Center for Womanist Leadership

  The Katie Geneva Cannon Center for Womanist Leadership at Union Presbyterian Seminary recognizes the significance of centering Black women’s scholarship as viable sources and resources for theological education. The center serves as a site of participatory learning for scholars, students, clergy, laity, and community leaders.
• Civil rights, protests, and social reformers | Presbyterian Historical Society

  History of Presbyterian and ecumenical involvement in civil rights movements, protests, and social justice issues, as well as individual social reformers and activists.
• The Crossroads Project | Princeton University

  Established in 2021, "[the Crossroads Project] emphasizes the diverse landscape of Black religions, reflecting the voices and leadership of those not featured in traditional accounts."
• Darnell Moore | Legacy and Mission: Theological Education and the History of Slavery Conference (YouTube)

  April 2019 (Audio also available on Soundcloud https://soundcloud.com/princeton-seminary/darnell-moore-legacy-and-mission)

• Freedom on the Move : Rediscovering the Stories of Self-Liberating People

  • 

  Database of fugitives from North American slavery. Joint effort of Cornell University, Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research, Cornell University Library, The University of Alabama, The University of New Orleans, University of Kentucky and The Ohio State University.

• Guide to the African American Synods Collection (PC(USA)), RG 395, Presbyterian Historical Society

  The Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. African American Synods Collection, RG 395, Presbyterian Historical Society, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
• Historical Perspective (book chapter) by Gayraud S. Wilmore

  Wilmore, Gayraud S. 2012. "Historical Perspective." In The Cambridge Companion to Black Theology, 19-32: Cambridge University Press. Also available in print REF BT82.7 .C363 2012
• Historically Black Presbyterian Schools

  An overview to the Presbyterian Historical Society's holdings that document historically Black schools and colleges established or supported by the Presbyterian Church
• Hope from Ashes: Legacies and Lessons from the Los Angeles Riots | Princeton Theological Seminary

  May 13-14, 2022; registration required
  A hybrid conference organized by The Betsey Stockton Center for Black Church Studies and The Center for Asian American Christianity
• How did enslaved African and African American women experience slavery?

  How did enslaved African and African American women experience slavery? What were their daily lives like? And how do historians know as much as they do about enslaved women? Explore the answers to these questions with Jennifer L. Morgan, a Professor of History and Social and Cultural Analysis at New York University
• James Baldwin's "Notes of a Native Son" at 65 | DC Public Library

  Premiered Feb. 28, 2021 - Writer and producer Emil Wilbekin curates a conversation between noted Black gay and queer authors who have been inspired by life and works of James Baldwin. Panelists: George M. Johnson, author, "All Boys Aren’t Blue," a memoir manifesto discussing their young adult experience growing up Black and Queer; Robert Jones, Jr., author, "The Prophets" and creator of the social-justice social media community Son of Baldwin; Darnell L. Moore, author of the 2019 Lambda Literary Award-winning memoir, No Ashes in the Fire: Coming of Age Black & Free in America
• Life and Times of Theodore S. Wright (login required)

  Gross, Bella. 1940. "Life and Times of Theodore S. Wright, 1797-1847." Negro History Bulletin 3 (9): 133-144.
• Lost Souls Public Memorial Project (New Jersey)

  "a partnership among several dedicated individuals and three community organizations: the New Brunswick Area NAACP; the New Jersey chapter of the Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society (AAHGS); and The Unitarian Society, which has acted as the Project’s fiscal sponsor."
• National Black Presbyterian Caucus (NBPC) Historical Overview

  "In 1893, the first predecessor to NBPC was organized. It was called the Afro Presbyterian Council and was organized by the Reverends Francis Grimke, R.H. Armstrong, Matthew Anderson and John B. Reeve. It advocated for political, religious, and social interest...."
• New Jersey, The Last Northern State to End Slavery

  By Noelle Lorraine Williams,
  Director, African American History Program
  The New Jersey Historical Commission
• The next step in racial cooperation : a discourse delivered in the Fifteenth Street Presbyterian Church, Washington, D.C., November 20, 1921

  by Rev. Francis J. Grimké, 1850-1937. From the Missionary Research Library Pamphlets collection (https://commons.ptsem.edu/mrl) in the Theological Commons
• Panel Discussion of “Backs Against the Wall: The Howard Thurman Story“

  October 8, 2019 - Dr. Walter Fluker, Martin Luther King, Jr. Professor of Ethical Leadership at Boston University
  Dr. Mozella Mitchell, professor emerita and former chair of religious studies at the University of South Florida
• Poems on various subjects, religious and moral, by Phillis Wheatley

  1773; digitized and presented in the Theological Commons
• Primary Source Sets | Digital Public Library of America

  Subject = African Americans
• A Reading List for America

  by Maira Liriano, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference Division, July 12, 2016. The Wright Library collection contains all of the books in this list.
• ReligionMakers | The HistoryMakers

  Pastors, theologians, and chaplains in The HistoryMakers: The Digital Repository for the Black Experience. The HistoryMakers is a national 501 (c ) (3) non-profit research and educational institution committed to preserving and making widely accessible the untold personal stories of both well-known and unsung African Americans.
• Rev. Francis James Grimké, 1850–1937, in the Theological Commons

  Rev. Grimké was a graduate of Princeton Seminary and pastor of the Fifteenth Street Presbyterian Church, Washington, D.C. His portrait is on the second floor of the library overlooking the atrium. Read more about Grimké and other alumni from the early years of the seminary in the Princeton Seminary and Slavery Report
• Rev. Francis J. Grimké in the HathiTrust Digital Library

• The Rev. J. W. Loguen, As a Slave and As a Freeman by Jermain Wesley Loguen; edited and with a critical introduction by Jennifer A. Williamson (Introduction by)

  Call Number: E444 .L83 2016

  ISBN: 9780815634461

  Publication Date: 2016-03-17

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon

• Rosa Parks: In Her Own Words (Exhibition at the Library of Congress)

  "Rosa Parks: In Her Own Words showcases rarely seen materials that offer an intimate view of Rosa Parks and documents her life and activism—creating a rich opportunity for viewers to discover new dimensions to their understanding of this seminal figure. The materials are drawn extensively from the Rosa Parks Collection, a gift to the Library of Congress from the Howard G. Buffett Foundation."
• Rosa Parks Papers | Library of Congress

  The papers of Rosa Parks (1913-2005) span the years 1866-2006, with the bulk of the material dating from 1955 to 2000. The collection contains approximately 7,500 items in the Manuscript Division, as well as 2,500 photographs in the Prints and Photographs Division. The collection documents many aspects of Parks's private life and public activism on behalf of civil rights for African Americans.
• Stories of African American Life at Princeton

  This web-based, mobile friendly tour shares stories from throughout the history of African Americans at neighboring Princeton University.
• ‘When Peace Come’: Teaching the Significance of Juneteenth (login required)

  Garrett-Scott, Shennette. “‘When Peace Come’: Teaching the Significance of Juneteenth.” Black History Bulletin 76, no. 2 (2013): 19–25. http://www.jstor.org/stable/24759690. Includes teaching resources by Rebecca Cummings Richardson, Venita Dillard-Allen and Shennette Garrett-Scott
• Witherspoon-Jackson Historical and Cultural Society

  A 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the research, preservation, understanding, appreciation and celebration of the rich and proud history of African-Americans in Princeton, New Jersey.

• Payne Theological Seminary and A.M.E. Church Archive

  A featured collection in the Theological Commons, The Payne Theological Seminary and A.M.E. Church Archive includes two subcollections organized into twenty-one thematic categories of images and textual materials for the study of the history of the African Methodist Episcopal (A.M.E.) denomination and Black Church tradition while chronicling the leadership and legacy of Payne Theological Seminary. Some materials are cross-referenced in multiple subcollections.
• African American Clergy and Churches: James W.C. Pennington (1820s-1850s) | Building Knowledge, Breaking Barriers Source Set

  James W.C. Pennington (1807-1870) emphasized the need to educate and help find employment for the increasing numbers of free African Americans. He also spoke out against racism in the north, including in the white churches that often segregated white and black worshipers and shut out black clergymen. Pennington also helped many fugitive slaves and supported efforts to desegregate public transportation in New York City. Pennington did tours in the United Kingdom to speak out against slavery and to garner British support for American abolitionist efforts. BKBB is a growing partnership between the Presbyterian Historical Society and Community College of Philadelphia.
• African American Clergy on Slavery | Building Knowledge, Breaking Barriers Source Set

  Absalom Jones, James Pennington, and Henry Highland Garnet were highly respected Protestant ministers who condemned chattel slavery both from the pulpit and through their work as church leaders, teachers, community organizers, and activists. BKBB is a growing partnership between the Presbyterian Historical Society and Community College of Philadelphia.
• African American History Posts in the Presbyterian Historical Society Blog

  Select "African American History" from the Topics dropdown list
• LLC African American Forum in the Knowledge Commons

  An open access collection in CORE. Learn more about CORE, Commons Open Repository Exchange, a library-quality repository for sharing, discovering, retrieving, and archiving digital work. https://hcommons.org/core/what-is-core/

  more... less...

  Knowledge Commons (formerly Humanities Commons) is a trusted, nonprofit network where humanities scholars can create a professional profile, discuss common interests, develop new publications, and share their work.
• African American Presbyterian Heritage Worship Service (YouTube)

  February 26, 2023. The National Black Presbyterian Caucus, Philadelphia Chapter, and the Presbytery of Philadelphia's 2023 African American Presbyterian Heritage Service of Worship, Sunday, February 26, 2023, at Oxford Presbyterian Church, Philadelphia. The Rev. Dr. Jerry L. Cannon, Vice President, Ministry Innovation at the Board of Pensions PC(U.S.A), preaching.
• The Birth of Juneteenth; Voices of the Enslaved

  by Neely Tucker for the Library of Congress Blog, June 19, 2020
• Black History Month Bibliography | African American Intellectual History Society

  FEBRUARY 13, 2016 Brandon Byrd's bibliography. The "books all pertain to the origins, evolution, professionalization, and expansion of the field of black history. The authors of these books examine the concerns of early black historians, find an enduring tradition of black race histories, and address the key role that black women have played in the writing of black history. They also recover the process by which Woodson and others helped define the modern field of black history and they make a case for the significance of writings about black history today."
• Black Women Writers/Muses | The Free Black Women's Library
• Charleston Syllabus, African American Intellectual History Society

  "a list of readings that educators can use to broach conversations in the classroom about the horrendous events that unfolded in Charleston, South Carolina on the evening of June 17, 2015. These readings provide valuable information about the history of racial violence in this country and contextualize the history of race relations in South Carolina and the United States in general. They also offer insights on race, racial identities, global white supremacy and black resistance. All readings are arranged by date of publication. This list is not meant to be exhaustive–you will find omissions. Please check out #Charlestonsyllabus and the Goodreads List for additional reading suggestions."

  more... less...

  "#Charlestonsyllabus was conceived by Chad Williams (@Dr_ChadWilliams), Associate Professor of African and Afro-American Studies at Brandeis University. With the help of Kidada Williams (@KidadaEWilliams), the hashtag started trending on Twitter on the evening of June 19, 2015. The following list was compiled and organized by AAIHS blogger Keisha N. Blain (@KeishaBlain) with the assistance of Melissa Morrone (@InfAgit), Ryan P. Randall (@foureyedsoul), and Cecily Walker (@skeskali). Special thanks to everyone who contributed suggestions via Twitter."

• Charleston Syllabus: readings on race, racism, and racial violence by Chad Williams (Editor); Kidada E. Williams (Editor); Keisha N. Blain (Editor)

  Call Number: E184.A1 .C4445 2016

  ISBN: 9780820349565

  Publication Date: 2016-05-15

• "A Theology for a Grieving People" by Rev. Dr. Yolanda Pierce, Princeton Theological Seminary

  August 10, 2015 - Associate Professor of Religion and Literature and Director of the Center for Black Church Studies at Princeton Seminary, Rev. Dr. Yolanda Pierce's contribution to the "How #BlackLivesMatter Changed My Theology" series from Sojourners: https://sojo.net/articles/series/how-blacklivesmatter-changed-my-theology

  more... less...

  Dr. Pierce has since left Princeton Theological Seminary.
• "On the Night After Charleston" by Dr. Efrain Agosto, New York Theological Seminary

  Blog post from the Wabash Center's Race Matters in the Classroom blog. June 23, 2015
• "They Met to Read the Bible" a new hymn for Charleston

  June 24, 2015 - The New Yorker magazine's Joshua Rothman profiles Princeton Theological Seminary alumna Pastor Carolyn Winfrey Gillette (Class of 1985), and the hymn she wrote in response to the killing of 9 African American worshipers gathered for Bible study at Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Charleston, South Carolina on June 17, 2015.

  more... less...

  https://www.carolynshymns.com/they_met_to_read_the_bible.html
• Board Vote on Chapel’s Name Is Another Step Forward in the Seminary's Journey of Repentance

  January 25, 2022, Princeton Theological Seminary
• Coates, Ta-Nehisi. 2014. "The Case for Reparations." The Atlantic 313 (5): 54.

  Login required
• Flesh in the Word: A Presbyterian Outlook for our time

  October 5, 2019 lecture by Rev. Dr. Brian K. Blount, Princeton Seminary alumnus, and President and Professor of New Testament in the Walter W. Moore and Charles E.S. Kraemer Presidential Chairs of Union Presbyterian Seminary in Richmond, Virginia
  Video recording and transcript posted January 15, 2020 by The Presbyterian Outlook
• Food Justice

  Selected reading from the Wright Library collection, as well as related links
• Free Black Suffrage and the Pennsylvania Constitutional Convention (1838) | Building Knowledge, Breaking Barriers Source Set

  Attempts to gain voting rights for African Americans began long before the Civil War and the passage of the 15th Amendment to the Constitution in 1870. Free black people were able to vote in a few northern states including Pennsylvania until 1838, and some exercised that right, though they were often met with hostility at the polls. BKBB is a growing partnership between the Presbyterian Historical Society and Community College of Philadelphia.
• The Freedmen's Bureau Project

  The Freedmen’s Bureau Project — an initiative spearheaded by the Smithsonian, the National Archives, the Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society, and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints — will make available online 1.5 million historical documents, finally allowing descendants of former African-American slaves to learn more about their family roots.

  more... less...

  http://www.openculture.com/2015/06/1-5-million-slavery-era-documents-will-be-digitized-helping-african-americans-to-learn-about-their-lost-ancestors.html
• The Meaning of the Birmingham tragedy, 1963 [video]

  Protestant Council of the City of New York panel discussion with James Baldwin, Reinhold Niebuhr, and Dr. Thomas C. Kilgore, Jr. From the Pearl Digital Collection at the Presbyterian Historical Society: https://digital.history.pcusa.org/
• Princeton Seminary and Slavery

  This report begins to trace the complicated story of Princeton Seminary and its relationship to slavery.
• Princeton Theological Seminary and Slavery | Princeton and Slavery Project

  by James Moorhead. Princeton Theological Seminary’s 19th century faculty and students encountered enslaved people as a familiar part of life. Though early leaders of the seminary owned slaves and largely failed to condemn the institution of slavery, some notable alumni—including the first African American man to graduate from a theological seminary in the United States—became prominent antislavery activists.

  more... less...

  https://slavery.princeton.edu/about/how-to-cite
• Princeton Theological Seminary approves reparations

  by Omar Farah, The Daily Princetonian, October 20, 2019. "...the [Association of Black Seminarians] will pursue formal negotiations with the Seminary to express its thoughts on how to move forward."
• PTS Black Seminarians Call for 15% of Endowment as Reparations

  March 4, 2019 - Association of Black Seminarians' (ABS) response to the Princeton Theological Seminary Slavery Audit
• Readings On Black Women’s Internationalism | African American Intellectual History Society

  FEBRUARY 17, 2016 - Keisha N. Blain's list of readings. "Representing a variety of academic fields—including History, English, and Political Science—these works highlight the writings, speeches, performances, activism, and overseas travel of a diverse group of black women activists and intellectuals, thereby moving women from the margins to the center of historical narratives on black internationalism."
• Response | Princeton Seminary and Slavery

  Press release, action plan, timeline approved unanimously by the Princeton Theological Seminary Board of Trustees, October 2019
• Searchable Museum | Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture

  Includes an in-depth journey through the history of slavery and freedom, based on the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture's permanent exhibition
• Sermons, speeches and letters on slavery and its war : from the passage of the Fugitive slave bill to the election of President Grant

  by Gilbert Haven, 694 pages
• The Souls of Black Folk, W. E. B. DuBois | Project Gutenberg

  ePub, Kindle, plain text
• The Souls of Black Folk by W. E. B. Du Bois (audio) | Project Gutenberg
• Talking About Race | National Museum of African American History and Culture

  This portal "provides digital tools, online exercises, video instructions, scholarly articles and more than 100 multi-media resources tailored for educators, parents and caregivers—and individuals committed to racial equality."
• Unpublished Black History | New York Times

  "Revealing moments in black history, with unpublished photos from The New York Times’s archives. We’ll add images daily in February." - NY Times
• W. E. B. Du Bois Papers, 1803-1999 (bulk 1877-1963)

  At Special Collections and University Archives, University of Massachusetts Amherst Libraries
• Women and the Anti-slavery Movement (1830s) | Building Knowledge, Breaking Barriers Source Set

  Features primary sources from the Presbyterian Historical Society collection along with secondary sources. In addition, contains contextual information on the topic, full citations, information about the author, and reading questions. BKBB is a growing partnership between the Presbyterian Historical Society and Community College of Philadelphia.

• Reigner Collection (Christian Education)

  The Reigner Collection (Christian Education) is located on the Second Floor of the library near the microform collection.
• Wright Library Building Directory

• Legends of Excellence Black History Collection [videorecording] by UMI Editorial

  Call Number: DVD E185 .L44 2007

  ISBN: 9781603520690

  Publication Date: 2007-11-15
• The Power of Stories: A Guide for Leading Multiracial and Multicultural Congregations by Jacquie J. Lewis

  Call Number: REIGNER BV652.1 .L483 2008

  ISBN: 9780687650699

  Publication Date: 2008-04-01
• African American History Month 2008 by Marjorie L. Kimbrough; Abingdon Press Staff (Contribution by)

  Call Number: REIGNER BV4811 .K456 2007

  ISBN: 9780687491964

  Publication Date: 2007-12-01
• Children of God Storybook Bible by Desmond Tutu

  Call Number: REIGNER JUVENILE BS551.3 .T88 2010

  ISBN: 9780310719120

  Publication Date: 2010-08-14
• The Beatitudes : from slavery to civil rights by Carole Boston Weatherford; Tim Ladwig (Illustrator)

  Call Number: REIGNER JUVENILE E185.61 .W356 2010

  ISBN: 9780802853523

  Publication Date: 2009-11-13
• Through My Eyes by Ruby Bridges

  Call Number: REIGNER JUVENILE F379.N59 N435 1999

  ISBN: 9780590189231

  Publication Date: 1999-09-01
• Reach High: The Delany Sisters by Amy Hill Hearth; Tim Ladwig (Illustrator)

  Call Number: REIGNER JUVENILE PZ5.H43 R4 2002

  ISBN: 0687030749

  Publication Date: 2003-01-01
• Addy Learns a Lesson: a school story by Connie Rose Porter; Dahl Taylor (Illustrator); Renee Graef (Illustrator); Jane S. Varda (Illustrator)

  Call Number: REIGNER JUVENILE PZ7 .P825Ad 1993

  ISBN: 1562470779

  Publication Date: 1993-09-01

• Baldwin, James
• Braxton, Brad
• Cone, James H.
• Cone, James H. (audio recordings)

  Recordings of some lectures by Dr. James H. Cone given at Princeton Theological Seminary
• Copeland, M. Shawn
• Douglas, Kelly Brown
• Evans, James H.
• Forbes, James A.
• Grant, Jacquelyn
• Hayes, Diana L.
• Hopkins, Dwight
• Johnson, Alonzo
• Johnson, James Weldon
• Jones, William Ronald
• King, Martin Luther, Jr.
• Lee, Jarena
• Murray, Pauli
• Oduyoye, Mercy Amba
• Pinn, Anthony
• Raboteau, Albert
• Roberts, J. Deotis
• Terrell, JoAnne Marie
• Thurman, Howard
• Townes, Emilie
• Turner, Henry McNeal
• Tutu, Desmond
• Weems, Renita
• West, Cornel
• Williams, Delores

• bell hooks (1952-2021)
• Diverse Voices: Collections, Series, Subject Headings | Curated Bibliographies

  Go beyond keywords
• Diverse Voices: Hashtags & Links | Curated Bibliographies
• Rev. Dr. Katie G. Cannon (1950-2018)

  Remembering celebrated founder of the Center for Womanist Leadership at Union Presbyterian Seminary in Richmond, VA, and the first Black woman ordained a minister of word and sacrament in the Presbyterian Church
• Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. - Curated bibliography

  Selected titles and recordings related to Martin Luther King, Jr., his life and work
• Black Theology and Leadership Institute (BTLI) | Princeton Theological Seminary

  Annual weeklong intensive continuing education event for clergy and laity that includes training, worship, and fellowship. All interested leaders are urged to apply, including those who may not have formal theological training. BTLI is limited to 50 fellows. Applications open January 1, 2025 and close April 15, 2025. The Annual Black Theology and Leadership Institute (BTLI) is sponsored by the Betsey Stockton Center for Black Church Studies at Princeton Theological Seminary.
• Sankofa Moments: Celebration of African American Presbyterian Heritage (YouTube)

  Anchored by Rev. Dr. Alonzo Johnson, this gathering of worship, song, and sankofa, the Philadelphia Chapter of the National Black Presbyterian Caucus and the Presbytery of Philadelphia was held February 14, 2021. In addition to Rev. Dr. Johnson, we also heard from Rev. Dr. Janel Dixon and Rev. Ethelyn Taylor, co-chairs of the Philadelphia Chapter of the National Black Presbyterian Caucus, and our Executive Presbyter, Rev. Ruth Faith Santana-Grace.