Curated Bibliographies

• Three ways to create sacred moments at home this Advent

  November 25, 2020, by Traci Smith, MDiv '06
• Carols of Many Nations 2023 | Princeton Theological Seminary (YouTube)

  Recorded December 6, 2023 in the Seminary Chapel. The Carols of Many Nations 2023 service includes readings, choral anthems, and congregational carols led by the Princeton Seminary Choir and international students and staff of the Seminary.
• Carols of Many Nations 2022 | Princeton Theological Seminary (YouTube)

  Text for readings and songs in other languages can be found in the Carols of Many Nations program. Visit ptsem.edu/carolsprogram2022 to view the program.
• Carols of Many Nations 2021 | Princeton Theological Seminary (YouTube)

  Includes readings, choral anthems, and congregational carols led by the Princeton Seminary Choir and international students and staff of the Seminary. Text for readings and songs in other languages can be found in the Carols of Many Nations program. Visit ptsem.edu/carolsprogram to view the program.
• Carols of Many Nations 2020 | Princeton Theological Seminary (YouTube)

  The time-honored Christmas tradition features the Chapel Choir; Michael Gittens, accompanist; as well as alumni from various locations around the world reading special selections. Princeton Seminary PhD candidate Noah Buchholz offers a lesson in American Sign Language.
• Princeton Area Church Websites

• Advent : the once and future coming of Jesus Christ by Fleming Rutledge

  Call Number: BV40 .R88 2018

  ISBN: 9780802876195

  Publication Date: 2018-08-01
• Advent : the season of hope by Tish Harrison Warren

  Call Number: BV40 .H358 2023

  ISBN: 9781514000182

  Publication Date: 2023-08-29

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Advent for everyone: Matthew : a daily devotional by N. T. Wright

  Call Number: BV40 .W7534 2019

  ISBN: 9780664263416

  Publication Date: 2019-08-27
• Celebrating Abundance: devotions for Advent by Walter Brueggemann; compiled by Richard Floyd

  Call Number: BV40 .B757 2017

  ISBN: 9780664262273

  Publication Date: 2017-09-10
• Christmas : the season of life and light by Emily Hunter McGowin

  Call Number: BV45 .M39 2023

  ISBN: 9781514000403

  Publication Date: 2023-09-12

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Christmas: theological anticipations by Adam C. English

  Call Number: BV45 .E54 2016

  ISBN: 9781498239325

  Publication Date: 2016-10-14
• Christmas as Religion: rethinking Santa, the secular and the sacred by Christopher Deacy

  Call Number: BV45 .D42 2016 (Second Floor)

  ISBN: 9780198754565

  Publication Date: 2016-09-28

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Christmas illuminated : prestigious manuscripts from around the fifteenth century in the Bavarian State Library Collection by Karl-Georg Pfändtner ; English translation from German original, Stephen Trobisch, Jared N. Wolfe

  Call Number: ND3338 .P43 2018

  ISBN: 9783506732439

  Publication Date: 2018
• Christmas in the crosshairs : two thousand years of denouncing and defending the world's most celebrated holiday by Gerry Bowler

  Call Number: BV45 .B684 2017

  ISBN: 9780190499006

  Publication Date: 2016-10-13
• Christmas in the Four Gospel Homes by Cynthia M. Campbell

  Call Number: BT315.3 .C36 2019

  ISBN: 0664264999

  Publication Date: 2019-08-27
• Christmas sermons : displays of development in a theology of Christian faith and life (1790-1833) by Friedrich Schleiermacher; Terrence N. Tice (Editor); Edwina G. Lawler (Translator)

  Call Number: BV4257 .S35 2019

  ISBN: 1532667396

  Publication Date: 2019-09-11
• The Crib, the Cross, and the Crown: Reflections on the Stories of the First Christmas and Easter by Michael Hooton; Dianne Tidball (Foreword by)

  Call Number: BT203 .C75 2016

  ISBN: 9781498282956

  Publication Date: 2016-06-16
• Dreamers and stargazers : creative liturgies for incarnational worship resources: Advent to Candlemas by Chris Thorpe

  Call Number: BV30 .T56 2017

  ISBN: 9781848259713

  Publication Date: 2017-08-31
• The eternal king arrives : journeying through Advent with our humble & mighty Savior by Christianity Today International

  Call Number: BV40 .C475 2023

  ISBN: 9781614072539

  Publication Date: 2023-09-01
• Frieden auf Erden? : Weihnachten als Provokation by Eberhard Schockenhoff

  Call Number: BV45 .S356 2020

  ISBN: 9783451385469

  Publication Date: 2020
• Heaven and earth : advent and incarnation by William H. Willimon

  Call Number: BV40 .W5115 2023

  ISBN: 1791029035

  Publication Date: 2023-09-19
• Holy disruption : discovering Advent in the Gospel of Mark by Tracy S. Daub

  Call Number: BS2585.52 .D373 2022

  ISBN: 9780664267384

  Publication Date: 2022-09-06
• A Jolly Folly?: the propriety of the Christian endorsement of Christmas by Allan J. Macdonald

  Call Number: BV45 .M33 2017

  ISBN: 9781532617911

  Publication Date: 2017-08-02
• Liturgische Advent : eine liturgiehistorische und heortologische Untersuchung der Ursprünge und Anfänge einer Vorbereitungszeit auf das Geburtsfest Christi, Der by Florian Wegscheider

  Call Number: BV40 .W44 2021

  ISBN: 9783791732572

  Publication Date: 2021
• A long-ago birth in a right-now world : reflections about the Christmas story in our age and lives by Michael B. Brown

  Call Number: BT315.3 .B765 2022

  ISBN: 9781666742336

  Publication Date: 2022-09-02

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Martin Luther's Christmas Book by Martin Luther; edited by Roland H. Bainton

  Call Number: BV4257 .L88 2017

  ISBN: 9780806635774

  Publication Date: 2017

  An earlier printing can be found on the 2nd Floor, BV4257 .L88 1997
• Mary's voice : Advent reflections to contemplate the coming of Christ by Amy Orr-Ewing

  Call Number: BV40 .O67 2023

  ISBN: 9781546004523

  Publication Date: 2023-10-24
• Names for the Messiah: an Advent study by Walter Brueggemann

  Call Number: BS1515.6.M44 B78 2016 (Third Floor)

  ISBN: 9780664262570

  Publication Date: 2016-08-19

  A second copy is shelved with the Reigner collection: REIGNER BS1515.6.M44 B78 2016
• O come Emmanuel : an advent study by Alex Thompson

  Call Number: BV40 .T56 2022

  ISBN: 9781666731651

  Publication Date: 2022-01-27
• The Origin of the Feast of the Nativity in the Patristic Perspective by Józef Naumowicz

  Call Number: BV45 .N38 2024

  ISBN: 9783631672617

  Publication Date: 2024-03-29

  Series: European studies in theology, philosophy and history of religions ; v. 33. Bartosz Adamczewski (Series editor)
• The Oxford Handbook of Christmas (e-book) by Timothy Larsen (Editor)

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9780198831464

  Publication Date: 2020-11-21

  Also available in print at GT4985 ,O94 2020
• Reflections of Immanuel by Scott Lencke

  Call Number: BV40 .L45 2020

  ISBN: 9781532618338

  Publication Date: 2020-09-30
• Rise up, Shepherd! : Advent reflections on the spirituals by Luke A. Powery

  Call Number: BV40 .P69 2017

  ISBN: 9780664260323

  Publication Date: 2017-09-09

  Alumni collection
• Songs for the Waiting: devotions inspired by the hymns of Advent by Magrey R. deVega

  Call Number: ML3186 .D35 2016 (Lower Level)

  ISBN: 9780664262525

  Publication Date: 2016-09-13

  A second copy is shelved in the Reigner collection REIGNER ML3186 .D35 2016
• Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht : 200 Jahre ewiges Lied by Andre Uzulis

  Call Number: ML410.G94 U9 2018

  ISBN: 9783897107892

  Publication Date: 2018
• A Surprising God : Advent devotions for an uncertain time by Thomas G. Long; Donyelle C. McCray

  Call Number: BV40 .L664 2021

  ISBN: 9780664267230

  Publication Date: 2021-08-24
• A time for wonder : the days of Advent through the eyes of worship by Conor Sweetman (editor)

  Call Number: BV40 .T554 2024

  Publication Date: 2024
• Unto us a child is born : Isaiah, Advent, and our Jewish neighbors by Tyler D. Mayfield; Walter Brueggemann (Foreword by)

  Call Number: BS1515.52 .M38 2020

  ISBN: 9780802873989

  Publication Date: 2020-06-09
• A weary world : reflections for a blue Christmas by Kathy Escobar

  Call Number: BV4599.C44 E73 2020

  ISBN: 9780664266936

  Publication Date: 2020-09-22
• Weihnachten : Biographie eines Festes by Karl-Heinz Göttert

  Call Number: BV45 .G668 2020

  ISBN: 9783150113066

  Publication Date: 2020
• Weihnachten : von der globalisierten Postmoderne in die Antike - (un)gewohnte Zugänge by Markus Pohlmeyer / Bernd Schmelz (Hg.)

  Call Number: GT4985 .W45 2017

  ISBN: 9783868157253

  Publication Date: 2017
• Weihnachtsbräuche und Weihnachtskunst im schwäbischen Raum : 500 Jahre Festkultur by herausgegeben von Bernhard Rüth im Auftrag des Landkreises Rottweil, der Stadt Sulz am Neckar und des Bürger- und Kulturvereins Schloss Glatt

  Call Number: GT4987.49 .W525 2017

  ISBN: 9783959761031

  Publication Date: 2017

  mit Beiträgen von Winfried Hecht, Peter Riolini, Bernhard Rüth, Ingeborg Rüth, Ulrich Scheller

• Wright Library Building Directory

• Advent and Christmas with the Church Fathers by Marco Pappalardo

  Call Number: BX2170.A4 P3613 2010

  ISBN: 9781601371157

  Publication Date: 2010-11-01
• Ancient English Christmas carols MCCCC to MDCC by Edith Rickert [collected and arranged by]

  Call Number: PN665 .N48 v.10

  Publication Date: 1914, 1910
• A Book of Advent and Christmas Prayers by William G. Storey

  Call Number: BV40 .S76 2013

  ISBN: 9780829439014

  Publication Date: 2013-09-01
• Borning cry by John Ylvisaker

  Call Number: M2117 .Y54 2000

  Publication Date: 2000-2002

  Music score
• C Is for Christmas: the history, personalities, and meaning of Christ's birth : an A to Z guide by David W. Wiersbe; Warren W. Wiersbe

  Call Number: BT315.3 .W54 2012

  ISBN: 9780801014895

  Publication Date: 2012-10-01
• Carols of the ages : our heritage in the Christmas carol by Edna Rait Hutton

  Call Number: ML2880 .H88 1943

  Publication Date: 1943
• Celebrating Advent : Year C by Michel De Verteuil

  Call Number: BV45 .D47 2000

  ISBN: 1856073092

  Publication Date: 2000-12-31
• Child of the Light: walking through Advent & Christmas by Beth A. Richardson

  Call Number: BV40 .R526 2005

  ISBN: 0835898164

  Publication Date: 2005-08-01
• The Christmas Carol Reader by William E. Studwell; B. Lee Cooper; Frank Hoffmann

  Call Number: ML2880 .S78 1995

  ISBN: 1560249749

  Publication Date: 1995-10-30
• Christmas carols : a reference guide by William E. Studwell

  Call Number: ML102.C3 S9 1985

  ISBN: 0824088999

  Publication Date: 1984-11-01

  Another copy is available in the Reference Collection: REF BV530.A1 S88 1985
• Christmas carols : old English carols for Christmas and other festivals by L. Edna Walter [selected and edited by] ; harmonised by Lucy E. Broadwood ; illustrated by J. H. Hartley

  Call Number: BV530 .W347 1922

  Publication Date: 1922
• Christmas carols, ancient and modern by John Camden Hotten, 1832-1873 [author]. Joshua Sylvestre [edited with notes by]

  Call Number: PN6110 .C5H83

  Publication Date: 1902
• Come Thou Long-Expected Jesus: Advent and Christmas with Charles Wesley by Paul Wesley Chilcote

  Call Number: BV40 .C465 2007

  ISBN: 9780819222503

  Publication Date: 2007-09-01
• Expecting the Unexpected: an Advent devotional guide by Blair Gilmer Meeks

  Call Number: BV40 .M44 2006

  ISBN: 9780835810043

  Publication Date: 2006-07-01
• The Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols by William P. Edwards (Editor)

  Call Number: M2065 .F47 2004

  ISBN: 0789312018

  Publication Date: 2004-11-13
• The Gospel of Christmas : reflections for Advent by Patty Kirk

  Call Number: BV40 .K565 2012

  ISBN: 9780830837854

  Publication Date: 2012-09-03
• Incarnation: daily poems for Advent by Skya Abbate

  Call Number: PR1191 .A34 2013

  ISBN: 9781625642202

  Publication Date: 2013-08-21
• Joy to the world! : the stories behind your favorite Christmas carols by Kenneth W. Osbeck

  Call Number: BV530 .O82 1999

  ISBN: 0825434319

  Publication Date: 1999-09-29
• More Stories Behind the Best-Loved Songs of Christmas by Ace Collins

  Call Number: ML1400 .C6 2006

  ISBN: 9780310263142

  Publication Date: 2006-09-25
• The Oxford book of carols by Percy Dearmer, R. Vaughan Williams, Martin Shaw

  Call Number: BV530 .O93 1944

  Publication Date: 1944
• Pocket Prayers for Advent and Christmas by Jan McFarlane (Compiled by)

  Call Number: BV40 .M44 2009

  ISBN: 9780715141960

  Publication Date: 2009-10-13
• Publishing glad tidings : essays on Christmas music by William E. Studwell; Dorothy E. Jones

  Call Number: ML2880 .S8 1998

  ISBN: 0789003988

  Publication Date: 1998-03-23
• Sent - Devotions for the Season: delivering the gift of hope at Christmas by Jorge Acevedo; Lanecia A. Rouse; Rachel Billups; Jacob Armstong; Justin LaRosa

  Call Number: BV40 .A24 2015

  ISBN: 9781501801174

  Publication Date: 2015-09-15
• Silent night, holy night: the story of a lovely Christmas song by Frederick Herman Jaenicken

  Call Number: BV317.S55 J33 1933

  Publication Date: 1933
• Stories of Christmas carols

  Call Number: BV530 .E487 1958

  Publication Date: 1958
• The Ultimate Christmas Music Companion Fact Book by Dale Nobbman

  Call Number: ML1400 .N63 2008

  ISBN: 9781574242287

  Publication Date: 2007-12-01
• Watch for the Light: readings for Advent and Christmas

  Call Number: BV40 .W38 2004

  ISBN: 1570755418

  Publication Date: 2004-09-01

  Another copy is available in the Reigner Collection: REIGNER BV40 .W38 2004
• Watching and Waiting: a guide to the celebration of Advent by Kenneth W. Stevenson

  Call Number: BV40 .S84 2007

  ISBN: 9781853118340

  Publication Date: 2007-09-29

• Reigner Collection (Christian Education)
• Wright Library Building Directory

• The 25 days of Christmas : a family devotional to help you celebrate Jesus by James Merritt; Skinner (Editor)

  Call Number: REIGNER BV45 .M443 2018

  ISBN: 9780736973106

  Publication Date: 2018-10-02
• 52 Little Lessons from a Christmas Carol by Bob Welch

  Call Number: REIGNER PR4592.R4 .W45 2015

  ISBN: 9781400206742

  Publication Date: 2015-09-15

• 2009 Sunday School Christmas Program

  Languages: Syriac, English
  Collection: Beth Mardutho: The Syriac Institute
  Theological Commons (digital library)

• The Advent: the gift of New Hope by Christopher L. Webber

  Call Number: REIGNER BV40 .W37 2018

  ISBN: 1501870858

  Publication Date: 2018-09-18

  There is another copy of this book available at BV40 .W37 2018.
• Advent in Narnia: reflections for the season by Heidi Haverkamp

  Call Number: REIGNER PR6023.E926 L4337 2015

  ISBN: 9780664261269

  Publication Date: 2015-09-14

  Also available as an e-book: Search Summon
• Awaiting the Already: an Advent journey through the gospels by Magrey deVega

  Call Number: REIGNER BV40 .D475 2015

  ISBN: 9781501800894

  Publication Date: 2015-09-15
• Blue Christmas : devotions of light in a season of darkness by Todd Outcalt

  Call Number: REIGNER BV45 .O98 2018

  ISBN: 9780835817875

  Publication Date: 2018-09-01
• Celebrating Advent: family devotions and activities for the Christmas season by Ann Hibbard

  Call Number: REIGNER BV40 .H53 2011

  ISBN: 9780800720643

  Publication Date: 2011-10-01
• The Christmas Shoppe : an advent experience for children by Daphna Lee Flegal; Marcia Stoner

  Call Number: REIGNER BV40 .F54 2012

  ISBN: 9781426742958

  Publication Date: 2012-08-01
• Devotions for Christmas : a celebration to bring you joy and peace by Zondervan

  Call Number: REIGNER BV45 .D48 2016

  ISBN: 9780310356080

  Publication Date: 2016-10-11
• Embodied Light: Advent reflections on the Incarnation by Melissa Tidwell

  Call Number: REIGNER BV40 .T525 2013

  ISBN: 9780835812146

  Publication Date: 2013-09-01
• A Eucharistic Christmas: Advent meditations on the presence of Christ by Father Leo Patalinghug (Foreword by)

  Call Number: REIGNER BV40 .E825 2014

  ISBN: 9781616368081

  Publication Date: 2014-01-01
• Finding Bethlehem in the Midst of Bedlam: an advent study for children by James W. Moore; Brittany Sky

  Call Number: REIGNER BV40 .S59 2015

  ISBN: 9781501805035

  Publication Date: 2015-09-15
• God Is in the Small Stuff Family Advent Devotional: invite God into the details of your christmas preparation by Bruce Bickel; Stan Jantz

  Call Number: REIGNER BV40 .B535 2015

  ISBN: 9781630589608

  Publication Date: 2015-09-01
• God Is with Us: an advent study based on the revised common lectionary by Robin C. Wilson

  Call Number: REIGNER BV40.G63 W55 2016

  ISBN: 9781501820526

  Publication Date: 2016-09-20

  Advent 2016
• Goodness and Light: readings for Advent and Christmas by Michael Leach (Editor); Jim Keane (Editor); Doris Goodnough (Editor)

  Call Number: REIGNER BV40 .G638 2015

  ISBN: 9781626981232

  Publication Date: 2015-06-01
• Jesus Calling for Christmas by Sarah Young

  Call Number: REIGNER BV45 .Y67 2018

  ISBN: 9781400309184

  Publication Date: 2018-09-25
• Manger by Lee Bennett Hopkins [poems selected by] ; illustrations by Helen Cann

  Call Number: REIGNER JUVENILE PS595.C47 M36 2014

  ISBN: 9780802854193

  Publication Date: 2014-09-01
• Manger King: meditations on Christmas and the gospel of hope by John Greco

  Call Number: REIGNER BT315.3 .G74 2015

  ISBN: 9781627073554

  Publication Date: 2015-08-01
• The Most Wonderful Time of the Year: a countdown to Christmas by Ace Collins

  Call Number: REIGNER BV45 .C5893 2016

  ISBN: 9781501822605

  Publication Date: 2016-10-04
• The Music of Christmas : and the stories behind the songs by Eamonn McCrystal; stories by Ace Collins

  Call Number: REIGNER ML2880 .M37 2014

  ISBN: 752423760275

  Publication Date: 2014
• O'er All the Weary World: stories for Advent and Christmas by Sarah M. Foulger

  Call Number: REIGNER BV40 .F686 2015

  ISBN: 9781498217774

  Publication Date: 2015-05-15
• On this holy night : the heart of Christmas by Max Lucado, Jack Hayford, David Jeremiah, John Maxwell, Bill Hybels, Rick Warren

  Call Number: REIGNER BT315.2 .H357 2013

  ISBN: 9781400323456

  Publication Date: 2013-10-15

  There is another copy of this book available on the 3rd floor: BT315.2 .H357 2013
• Preparing My Heart for Advent (New, Revised Edition) by Ann Marie Stewart

  Call Number: REIGNER BV40 .S74 2018

  ISBN: 9781617155253

  Publication Date: 2018-08-01

• Series: Christmas Carol Services

  Collection: Benson Collection of Hymnals and Hymnology
  Theological Commons (digital library)

• Travel the Highways of Advent: an Advent study for adults by Stan Purdum

  Call Number: REIGNER BV40 .P87 2014

  ISBN: 9781426785979

  Publication Date: 2014-09-16
• When God Calls the Heart at Christmas : heartfelt devotions from hope valley by Brian Bird; Michelle Cox

  Call Number: REIGNER BV45 .B57 2018

  ISBN: 9781424557288

  Publication Date: 2018-09-04
• Whose Baby?: therapy for the Christmas season in twelve parts by Ben Pugh

  Call Number: REIGNER BV45 .P84 2014

  ISBN: 9781498206068

  Publication Date: 2014-12-10
• Why This Jubilee?: Advent reflections on songs of the season by James C. Howell

  Call Number: REIGNER BV40 .H697 2015

  ISBN: 9780835814959

  Publication Date: 2015-07-01
• The Wonder of Christmas Devotions for the Season: once you believe, anything is possible by Lori Jones; Ed Robb; Rob Renfroe

  Call Number: REIGNER BV45 .H643 2015

  ISBN: 9781501823275

  Publication Date: 2016-09-20

  DVD and leader guide shelved as REIGNER BV45 .H642 2015

• Christmas for a dollar

  DVD PN1995.9.C5113 C495 2013
• Christmas grace

  DVD PN1997.2 .C47 2013
• Coptic Egypt : 2000 years of Christianity

  DVD DT72.C7 C653 2013
• God came near: insights on the season of Advent

  DVD BV40 .G64 2014
• The greatest gift: unwrapping the full love story of Christmas

  DVD BV40 .V67 2014
• In the footsteps of St. Peter

  DVD BR166 .I584 2014
• India unveiled : Stevie's treck through Kerala

  DVD BV3265.3 .I54 2013
• Journey to Christmas

  DVD BV45 .J68 2011
• Mary of Nazareth

  DVD PN1997 .M285 2014
• My name is Paul

  DVD BS2506.5 .M8 2013
• Savior

  DVD PN6120.C5 S28 2014

• Christmas classics : stories for the whole family

  CD PN6071.C6 C475 2015
• Christmas hope, The

  CDM M1629.3.C5 N49 2006
• Christmas offering

  CDM M1629.3.C5 I582 2005
• Christmas sessions, The

  CDM M1629.3.C5 M47 2005
• Christmastime

  CDM M1629.3.C5 S652 1998
• Glory in the highest

  CDM M1629.3.C5 T665 2009
• Gullah Kinfolk Christmas, A

  CDM M1629.3.C5 G85 2002
• Majesty & wonder

  CDM M1629.3.C5 K45 1999
• Peace on earth

  CDM M1629.3.C5 P43 2008