What: A gathering of religious leadership that will consider Mujerista Theology and practices through the leadership of Latina women in the church, the academy, and the community. When: October 25th-26th, 2023 Where: 745 Commonwealth Ave. Boston, MA 02215 Who: Rev. Dr. Lis Valle and Rev. Alicia Velez Stewart; sponsored by The Raices Latinas Program at the Boston University School of Theology and The Hispanic Theological Initiative (HTI)
The records of the Iglesia Presbiteriana-Reformada en Cuba (IPRC) and predecessor Presbyterian churches and missions in Cuba, including a complete run of Heraldo Cristiano, the church’s newsletter, 1919 – 2010, which provides a framework for the history of the church. Also includes the periodicals Juprecu and Su Voz, early mission records, originally maintained in English and then in Spanish as the congregations took over management of their churches and schools from the mission workers. These include session minutes and membership / baptism / marriage / death records, as well as minutes of men’s, women’s, and youth groups, including their mission work in their communities.
Contains publications of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries that deal with local devotions and syncretist rituals, religious iconography and poetry, and the pastoral campaigns of the various churches and sects in Latin America. Reproduced from a wide range of libraries throughout Mexico, Venezuela, Brazil, Argentina and Chile. Languages: primarily Spanish but also Portuguese. Some Latin, English, French, and Italian
La Colección Latinoamericana / The Latin America Collection contains materials from Princeton Theological Seminary’s deep collection of Latin American books and periodicals, digitized through the generous financial support of the Henry Luce Foundation.
"The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Hispanic Americans who have positively influenced and enriched our nation and society."
"AIPRAL representa un espacio de comunión, encuentro, solidaridad y reflexión conjunta de la familia presbiteriana y reformada de América Latina. Como Alianza de Iglesias, busca ser reflejo de la diversidad de tradiciones y contextos de las comunidades de fe que la constituyen, así como del espíritu ecuménico y misional que las reúne. Con esta vocación, la Alianza fue desarrollando diferentes líneas de trabajo a lo largo del tiempo, respondiendo a las necesidades de las diferentes épocas."
"Centro is a research institute that is dedicated to the study and interpretation of the Puerto Rican experience in the United States and that produces and disseminates relevant interdisciplinary research."
Mujerista Symposium - Spring 2022; March 31, 2022. Dr. Cecilia Titizano is Bolivian of Aymara descent. She holds a PhD in philosophical theology from the Graduate Theological Union (GTU) in Berkeley, California. For many years, Titizano has worked in the area of international development, among Quechua and Aymara communities. She is part-time faculty in the Theology and Religious Studies Department at the University of San Francisco, where she teaches Indigenous Cosmologies and Theologies and Ethics in the Indigenous Spiritual Traditions. Titizano serves in Memoria Indígena as an advisory board member and is part of the Comunidad de Sabias y Teólogas Indígenas del Abya Yala (COSTIAY). Hosted by the Princeton Theological Seminary Office of Multicultural Relations and En Conjunto
Mujerista Symposium - Spring 2022; March 31, 2022. Rt. Rev. Dr. Carol J. Gallagher is the regional canon for the Central Region of the Diocese of Massachusetts comprising the 56 congregations, as well as other church-related institutions, in the Boston Harbor, Alewife, Charles River, and Neponset River deaneries. Gallagher has been the assistant bishop in the Diocese of Montana since 2014, developing relationships with Native leaders and congregations there, educating and training clergy and lay leaders in issues of race, gender, and inclusion, and leading the Task Force on Native Issues. She has also been serving during that time as the bishop missioner to the Bishops' Native Collaborative, working with the Episcopal Church Executive Committee to do assessments and respond to needs, and to provide materials and trainings for lay leadership and clergy. She brings a passion for training and formation for all the baptized and for using her skills in culture, leadership development, pastoral care, and faith and relationship to empower others. Hosted by the Princeton Theological Seminary Office of Multicultural Relations and En Conjunto
A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
"HTI Open Plaza is an online platform within the Hispanic Theological Initiative that amplifies the voices of diverse thinkers and scholars in the public square. HTI Open Plaza’s conversational and interdisciplinary space engages issues of religion, history, and social justice affecting Latinx communities..."
The Lorca Latinx Poetry Prize for an emerging poet is presented in collaboration with Letras Latinas, the literary initiative at University of Notre Dame's Institute for Latino Studies; EcoTheo Collective; the Fundación and Centro Federico García Lorca; the Unamuno Author Series; and the Red Door Series, among other partners.
Other contributors include: Fernando F. Segovia (Foreword by); Efraín Agosto; Mariano Avila; Alejandro F. Botta; Renata Furst; Awilda González; Aída Besançon Spencer; Corinna Y. Guerrero; Jacqueline M. Hidalgo; Eric D. Barreto; Ediberto López-Rodríguez; Francisco Lozada Jr.; Roberto Mata; Néstor Oscar Míguez; Rubén Muñoz-Larrondo; Alvin Padilla; Luis R. Rivera; Rudolph D. González; Gilberto A. Ruiz; Elsa Tamez; Nancy Elizabeth Bedford; and Manuel Villalobos Mendoza
Covers the "history of religiosity in Latin America ca. 1830-1970". Includes selections from the library of the Centro Intercultural de Documentación (now part of the Biblioteca Cosío Villegas at the Colegio de México) and other Latin American materials.
Includes periodicals grouped by Official ecclesiastical bulletins; Doctrinal, devotional and apologetic serials; Social action and reform; and Sample issues.
Also includes monographs grouped by CIDOC publications; Pastoral letters; Synods, councils and diocesan statutes; Congresses; Church discipline, administration, politics and associations; Church history; History of religious orders and mission territories; Sanctuaries, devotionals and novenas; Social action and reform; Directories, surveys and statistics; Bibliographies. 3,898 titles.
Search the finding aids (REF BR600 .C5 1966 Guide) to determine the titles you want to review and then find the microfiche by their CIDOC numbers (filed sequentially) in the microfiche cabinets on the 2nd floor of the library.