Curated Bibliographies

May 29, 2024, hybrid conference, registration required, hosted by the Asian American Christian History Institute, Center for Asian American Christianity (Princeton Theological Seminary), and Epic Movement

Intergenerational Wholeness for Asian Americans: Integrative Approaches to Christian Spiritual and Mental Health Formation. Speakers include: Jessica ChenFeng, Jeney Park-Hearn, Sharon Wada and David C. Chao; recorded January 12–13, 2024

Multiple Belongings in Transpacific Christianities: Christian Faith and Asian Migration to the US, hosted by The Center for Asian American Christianity in partnership with the Overseas Ministries Study Center, April 28-29, 2023

As an historian who also studies Asian American Christianity, William Yoo makes connections between the histories of anti-Black racism and anti-Asian hate within and beyond the Presbyterian Church; recorded April 17, 2023

The Center for Asian American Christianity forms Christian leaders who serve Jesus Christ in ministries marked by faith, integrity, scholarship, competence, compassion, and joy.

Also available in print PER BR1 .T62, January 2023 v.79 no.4

Created by Princeton Seminary alumna Mihee Kim-Kort and Monica Heilman, Indiana University, 2021.

Lecturer: Rev. Dr. Janette Ok, "The Fiery Ordeal among You” (1 Pet 4:12): How the Impact of Anti-Asian Hate Speech and Hate Incidents Sheds Light on the Nature of Suffering in 1 Peter, recorded March 28, 2023;

Video recordings from the January 24, 2022 conference, hosted by the Center for Asian American Christianity at Princeton Theological Seminary. Dr. Russell Jeung, Plenary Lecture: "Stop AAPI Hate and Racial Trauma;" Rev. Dr. Jin Lee, Workshop: "Mental Health And Spirituality: Know The Difference And Help Accordingly;" Rev. Dr. Eunbee Ham, Workshop: "Growing Together: Cultivating Healthy Communities Through Conflict Resolution;" Dr. Joel Jin, Workshop: "Pastoring a Congregation of Whole People, Not Perfect People;" Dr. Samuel Kim, Workshop: "Active Listening Skills for Congregational Change"

Audio recordings from the January 24, 2022 conference, hosted by the Center for Asian American Christianity at Princeton Theological Seminary. Dr. Russell Jeung, Plenary Lecture: "Stop AAPI Hate and Racial Trauma;" Rev. Dr. Jin Lee, Workshop: "Mental Health And Spirituality: Know The Difference And Help Accordingly;" Rev. Dr. Eunbee Ham, Workshop: "Growing Together: Cultivating Healthy Communities Through Conflict Resolution;" Dr. Joel Jin, Workshop: "Pastoring a Congregation of Whole People, Not Perfect People;" Dr. Samuel Kim, Workshop: "Active Listening Skills for Congregational Change"

Speakers: Dr. Geomon George, Associate Dean and Core Faculty Member, City Seminary of New York; Dr. Jonathan Tran, Associate Professor of Religion and George W. Baines Chair of Religion, Baylor University; Dr. Easten Law, Ph. D from Georgetown University researching lived theology, public life, and religious pluralism in contemporary China, Princeton Theological Seminary; Dr. Melissa Borja, Assistant Professor of American Culture and core faculty member in the Asian/Pacific Islander American Studies Program, University of Michigan; Gillian Chu, PhD Candidate in the Centre for the Study of Religion and Politics at St. Mary's College at the University of St. Andrews; Dr. Jane Hong, Associate Professor of History, Occidental College; Dr. Jerry Park, Associate Professor of Sociology and Affiliate Fellow of Baylor Institute for Studies of Religion, Baylor University; Dr. David Chao, Director, Asian American Program, Princeton Theological Seminary

Recorded webinar by Rev. Eung Do Lee

Dr. Russell Jeung, "An Asian American Exilic Call to Politics"
Dr. Hyepin Im, "Faith and Community Empowerment"

Dr. Hyepin Im, "Faith and Community Empowerment"
Dr. Russell Jeung, "An Asian American Exilic Call to Politics"

May is Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month. The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Asian and Pacific Islanders who have enriched America’s history and are instrumental in its future success.

The Asian American Christian Collaborative (AACC) is committed to amplifying the voices, issues, and histories of Asian Americans, both within the church and society at large. Though we recognize that the term “Asian American” (Asian Pacific Islander Desi American) is diverse and we cannot speak on behalf of every individual, our aim is to cultivate awareness of and celebrate the Asian American community, while being as inclusive as possible towards the various cultural narratives we hold.

Told through intimate and personal lives, the series casts a new lens on U.S. history and the ongoing role that Asian Americans have played in shaping the nation’s story. is a production of WETA Washington, DC and the Center for Asian American Media (CAAM) for PBS, in association with the Independent Television Service (ITVS), Flash Cuts and Tajima-Peña Productions. The series executive producers are Jeff Bieber for WETA; Stephen Gong and Donald Young for CAAM; Sally Jo Fifer for ITVS; and Jean Tsien. The series producer is Renee Tajima-Peña. The producer for Flash Cuts is Eurie Chung. The episode producers are S. Leo Chiang, Geeta Gandbhir and Grace Lee. The consulting producer is Mark Jonathan Harris.

Public lectures from the Princeton Theological Seminary Media Archive, Theological Commons

Login required. Chao, David C. 2019. "Barth on Creation." In The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Karl Barth, edited by George Hunsinger and Keith L. Johnson, 113-124. Chichester, UK: John Wiley & Sons, Ltd. Dr. David C. Chao is director of the newly expanded Asian American Program at Princeton Theological Seminary.

Public lectures from the Princeton Theological Seminary Media Archive, Theological Commons

This lecture was recorded on April 28, 2023, as part of the 2023 Asian American Theology Conference “Multiple Belongings in Transpacific Christianities: Christian Faith and Asian Migration to the US.”

This paper, based on the five codes, introduces five of the preacher’s image or self-identity that has developed in the Korean American church; a. the Fellow Pilgrim (The Wilderness Pilgrimage Code), b. the Missional Evangelist (The Diasporic Mission Code), c. the Familial Shepherd (The Confucian Egalitarian Code), d. Informed Guide and Christian Shaman (The Buddhist Shamanistic Code), and e. the Charismatic Midwife and Avant-garde Protestor (The Pentecostal Liberation Code). Copyright © 2012 Sunggu Yang. Presented here with permission of Sunggu Yang and the Academy of Homiletics.

May 13-14, 2022; registration required
A hybrid conference organized by The Betsey Stockton Center for Black Church Studies and The Center for Asian American Christianity

Speaker: Dr. Russell Jeung, professor and chair of Asian American studies at San Francisco State University, February 27, 2020

Speaker: Dr. Russell Jeung, professor and chair of Asian American studies at San Francisco State University, February 27, 2020

2021 Asian American Theology Conference, April 23-24 (Online) centers the experiences of Asian American Christian communities, using historical, sociological, and ethnographic tools to examine how Asian American Christians creatively engage race, justice, and politics from a transpacific perspective.

Dr. Samuel H. Moffett and Eileen F. Moffett donated to Special Collections an important and substantial body of personal papers, photographs, books, and periodicals on Korea and Christianity in Korea.

A worship service at Myung Sung Presbyterian Church, Seoul, South Korea, on June 7, 2017. Dr. James F. Kay, preaching. Dr. Timothy Son, translating. St. Olaf Choir, performing.

"In “One Yellow Sermon,” Gerald C. Liu explores what constitutes Asian American preaching by examining a sermon he recently preached at his maternal grandmother’s funeral..." Copyright © 2016 Gerald C. Liu. Presented in the Theological Commons with permission of Gerald C. Liu and the Academy of Homiletics.

1985; Princeton Theological Seminary Media Archive.
"Princeton Theological Seminary has been a leading voice in Asian American theology and ministry through the work of Professor Emeritus Sang Hyun Lee, the Asian American Program, and the establishment of the Kyung-Chik Han Chair of Asian American Theology." https://www.ptsem.edu/academics/center-for-asian-american-christianity

PANAAWTM contributes to Asian and North American Asian women's theology, mentor female leaders of faith communities, and engage in social transformation for justice.

Lee, an alumna of Princeton Seminary, is Presbyterian Women's first Korean moderator. Also available via Strange, Gail. "PRESBYTERIAN WOMEN MODERATOR SHARES PLAN FOR ORGANIZATION." Presbyterian Outlook, Jan 21, 2019, 7-8, https://search.proquest.com/magazines/presbyterian-women-moderator-shares-plan/docview/2176206490/se-2?accountid=13316.

On January 19, 2023, the Center for Asian American Christianity at Princeton Theological Seminary hosted an online conference. Plenary sessions featured presentations with mental health experts Dr. Jessica ChenFeng and Jess Cho Kim.

Lecture by Rita Nakashima Brock, recorded February 18, 1991 at the Mackay Campus Center Auditorium

"The AAPI Collection features more than 230 public radio and television programs from 1965 to 2019 that highlight Asian American and Pacific Islander cultures in the United States. The collection includes interviews with Asian American artists and writers, such as Maya Lin, Aimee Lee, Jhumpa Lahiri, Amy Tan, Frank Chin, and Nai-Ni Chen. Also included are readings at the Harvard Book Store with other Asian American authors, such as Chang-Rae Lee, Gish Jen, David Chang, Nami Mun and Amy Chua...."

Articles, lectures, sermons and more; includes "Installation of Sang Hyun Lee and Katharine Doob Sakenfeld" (1987), "Toward an Asian-American Theology" (1984), Pilgrimage and Home in the Wilderness of Marginality: Symbols and Context in Asian American Theology" (1995), and "Claiming Our Liminal Spaces" (2006) among many others

Video interviews released in May 2020. Watch via YouTube. Featured speakers: Max Leung, founder of SF Peace Collective; Abigaile De Mesa, Patient Care Coordinator; Russell Jeung, one of the founders of the Stop AAPI Hate center; Genevieve Villamora, co-owner of Bad Saint, a James Beard Award-winning Filipino restaurant in Washington, D.C.

April 8, 2022 - Dr. Jonathan Tran's public lecture continues themes from his book, Asian Americans and the Spirit of Racial Capitalism (Oxford University Press, 2022). Dr. Tran develops an account of “yellow” politics and Christianity that begins with particular sites of racial capitalist oppression and domination and pushes toward liberative coalitional politics. He also discusses recent cases of anti-AAPI violence and their historical antecedents, liberation theology’s attention to local and transnational sources of oppressive domination, and how “yellow Christianity” offers a way forward.

Speaker: Dr. Jonathan Tran, associate professor of philosophical theology and George W. Baines Chair of Religion, Baylor University

Pacific and Asian American Center for Theology and Strategies; ISSN 0892-6220; Winter 1979 - Autumn 1997; ceased