LibGuides: Curated Bibliographies: LGBTQ+ Pride Month (June)

LGBTQ+ Pride Month Display

Book cover: Mapping new terrain in queer religious scholarship : essays in honor of John Eastburn Boswell

Book cover: After Method : Queer Grace, Conceptual Design, and the Possibility of Theology

Book cover: Trans and Genderqueer Subjects in Medieval Hagiography

Book cover: Lee Edelman and the queer study of religion

Book cover: Byzantine Intersectionality: Sexuality, Gender, and Race in the Middle Ages

Book cover: Queer ministers' voices from the Global South : "a burning fire in my bones"

Book cover: Queer holiness : the gift of LGBTQI people to the church

Book cover: Modern Kinship: a Queer guide to Christian marriage

Book cover: Hidden histories : faith and Black lesbian leadership

Book cover: The Queer Bible Commentary, Second Edition

Book cover: What does it mean to be welcoming?: navigating LGBT questions in your church

Book cover: Queer in Translation: Sexual Politics under Neoliberal Islam

Book cover: Sexualisierte Gewalt in kirchlichen Kontexten : neue interdisziplinäre Perspektiven = Sexual violence in the context of the Church : new interdisciplinary perspectives

Book cover: Intersecting Religion and Sexuality: Sociological Perspectives

Book cover: The gospel of inclusion : a Christian case for LGBT+ inclusion in the church, Revised Edition

Book cover: Made, Known, Loved: Developing LGBTQ-Inclusive Youth Ministry

Book cover: The indecent theologies of Marcella Althaus-Reid: voices from Asia and Latin America

Book cover: The Oxford handbook of New Testament, gender, and sexuality

In this guide - LGBTQ+ Pride Month

Events & Links
Selected Titles

Links and Events - LGBTQ+ Pride Month

Events & News

Pride on the Plaza, a Princeton Community Celebration
7-10pm, Friday, June 6, 2025
Princeton Pride 2025
11am-6pm, Saturday, June 14, 2025
Being LGBTQ+ in NJ: A History of a Community & GAAMC, June 23, 2021 | Mercer County Public Library (YouTube)
Members of GAAMC (Gay Activist Alliance in Morris County) did this presentation of the LGBTQ+ community in New Jersey for Mercer Count Library System patrons on June 23, 2021.
JQT Heritage Month 2023 - Exhibit Launch of the BC Jewish Queer & Trans Oral History Project (YouTube)
On May 28, 2023, JQT Vancouver released the Exhibit Launch of the BC Jewish Queer & Trans Oral History Project as part of JQT Heritage Month 2023. This is a recording of the launch event, held at the Jewish Community Centre of Greater Vancouver.
Majority of presbyteries have approved Amendment 24-C
May 13, 2025 - The Covenant Network of Presbyterians reported Tuesday that a majority of presbyteries have now approved Amendment 24-C, which works to ensure that commitment to inclusion and diversity will play a more substantial role in decision-making about ordination and installation of ministers, elders and deacons.

Links

Resources | The Word Made Queer
Website created by students at Princeton Theological Seminary based on a Queer Hermeneutics course. "We hope that all of this will be a gift to you, just like this class was a gift to us."
@ptsem_gsas
Instagram for Gender & Sexuality Association (formerly known as BGLASS) for Seminarians at Princeton Theological Seminary
Ashes to Rainbows: A Queer Lenten Devotional | Unbound and More Light Presbyterians
Features an array of voices and perspectives, thought-provoking theologies, and a new way to think about the time in which we call Lent.
Center for Theology, Women and Gender | Princeton Theological Seminary
The Center for Theology, Women, and Gender (CTWG) was established to address issues related to the intersections of race, class, gender identity, and sexuality in church and society. The idea for the Center grew out of the Seminary’s longstanding commitment to redress inequalities at the Seminary, in the church, and in the world.
Christianity (Topic) | Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections.
Covenant Network of Presbyterians celebrates 25 years of justice work
June 1, 2022
Exploring Black LGBTQ Studies in the Schomburg Center's Archive | New York Public Library
The History of Pride: How Activists Fought to Create LGBTQ+ Pride
by Meg Metcalf, Women's, Gender, & LGBTQ+ Studies Librarian, Researcher and Reference Services Division, Library of Congress
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Pride Month | Library of Congress
LGBTQ Religious Archives Network
The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Religious Archives Network (LGBTQ-RAN) coordinates and supports the identification, collection and preservation of personal papers and organizational records from lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender religious movements. It is a resource center that enables the preservation of history and makes historical information easily accessible through a web site. Initiated in 2001 as a project of the Chicago Theological Seminary, it is now an independent, charitable organization.
LGBTQ+ folks teach us a lot about kinship
Rev. Mihee Kim-Kort, June 15, 2021 article in Faith & Leadership, the online magazine of Leadership Education at Duke Divinity. Rev. Kim-Kort is an alumna of Princeton Seminary.

LGBTQ+ Rights
[Login required] This collection, part of HeinOnline's Social Justice Suite, contains materials relating to the gay rights movement in America from 1950 until present day, including an interactive timeline, subject-coded court cases, scholarly articles, books, pamphlets, and reports.

LGBTQIA+ and the Presbyterian Church (YouTube playlist)
From the Presbyterian Historical Society
LGBTQIA+ History Collection | Presbyterian Historical Society
LGBTQIA+ history across the theological spectrum, including Presbyterian national agency records, personal papers, photographs, and oral histories collected as part of the LGBTQIA+ Collecting Initiative.
LGBTQIA+ Key Protections and Rights | Mercer County NJ
LGBTQIA+ Periodical and Ephemera Collection | Princeton University
Contains periodicals, magazines, ephemera and monographs. The collection is international in scope, largely concentrated from the 1950's to the early 2000's. New materials are added to the collection on an ongoing basis.
More Light Presbyterians
Working toward the full participation of LGBTQIA+ people in the life, ministry and witness of the Presbyterian Church (USA) – and in society
PHS Live: LGBTQIA+ Inclusion in the PC(USA) (YouTube)
On June 23, 2022, the Presbyterian Historical Society welcomed Rev. Ashley DeTar Birt, Rev. Shanea D. Leonard, Rev. Bertram Johnson, Rev. Dr. Derrick McQueen, and Rev. Dr. Eric Thomas for a roundtable discussion about LGBTQIA+ inclusion in the Presbyterian church.
Pride Month Special Collecting | Presbyterian Historical Society
June 25, 2021
Princeton [University] Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer/Questioning, Intersex, Asexual (LGBTQIA) Oral History Project, 2017-2023
"During the summer, undergraduate and graduate [Princeton University] students interview lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, and asexual (LGBTQIA) alumni and current and former LGBTQIA staff and faculty to learn about their lives, particularly their experiences being LGBTQIA (out and not out) at Princeton, and their perceptions of the climate for LGBTQIA people at Princeton at different points in time. Student interviewers participate in extensive oral history methods training as a requirement for participating in the project and are paid research assistants."
Resisting Homophobic Theologies with Karl Barth (of All People)
Essay by Rev. Micah Cronin (Class of 2020)
SAGE Journals Free-to-Read: Gender equity and justice
This collection explores themes of gender oppression and inequity and examines the unjust systems that stifle equality.
SAGE Journals Free-to-Read: LGBTQIA+ Research
This collection of research, videos, and books takes a look at Queer Theory, Gender Identity, Queer Justice, Hegemonic Heterosexuality, Sexual Orientation, and more.
St. Everyday (Part I): Queer Icons | HTI Open Plaza
Dr. Xochitl Alvizo profiles artist Gabriel García Román, creator of the QTPOC portrait series
St. Everyday (Part II): Mais Viva! | HTI Open Plaza
Dr. Xochitl Alvizo and students ‘heart’ Gabriel García Román’s visit to their Queer Theory class
What my LGBTQ Siblings Taught Me About Christian Theology
June 14, 2022 Sojourners article by Amar Peterman

Selected Titles for LGBTQ+ Pride Month

Ask the Reference Librarian

Research Database

LGBTQ+ Rights
Login required. This collection, part of HeinOnline's Social Justice Suite, contains materials relating to the gay rights movement in America from 1950 until present day, including an interactive timeline, subject-coded court cases, scholarly articles, books, pamphlets, and reports.

Journals

Differences (Bloomington, Ind.) (e-journal)
ISSN: 1040-7391
GLQ (e-journal)
ISSN: 1064-2684
TSQ : Transgender studies quarterly (e-journal)
ISSN: 2328-9252
Unbound : an interactive journal of Christian social justice (e-journal)
"[Unbound] examines, expresses, and encourages commitments social justice as inspired by the prophetic gospel of Jesus Christ. As both a journal and a forum for conversation, action and community building, Unbound is at once the inheritor of the print journal Church & Society (98 years running) and the innovator of an interactive approach to supporting social ministry."